SEQAFL Division 1 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

Be amazing if Surfers snatch 3rd as i still dont think they can do any damage come September. Disgrace what has transpired with the Surfers/Springwood game, as i said in a previous post game should have been played on the scheduled date and this amateur scenairo caused by the league would not be happening. Someone at league headquarters should be very embarrassed!!
IMO Noosa in their current form will not beat, from what i beleive, a full strength Magpies unit, even if it is at the fortress. Since the loss of the skipper and Tromph, things seem to be on the slide and other sides eroding their once "invincible" tag. Magpies are probably the best TEAM in the comp, however man for man i think PBC have a better list.
I wouldnt dismiss Grange going close to beating PBC this week. With whats at stake and the possibility of Creswell resting some key players and the return of the Brittains and Trewhella, there could be a minor upset.
For mine, Maggies to play PBC in the big one with the team with the highest score at the end to win!!
As far as the medal, well we all know umpires see it very differently, but agree Drake is a star and someone like his team mate Gus Munroe could go allright. Steve Brittain a gun and on his day unstoppable in this comp, Cubby Isles will poll well, Heffernan Roper with his sleave will attract votes. Luke faulkner would attract some 3 votes know that they won a few.
Where to from here for Cooly and Burleigh? Really dificult years for both and have obviously been stung hard by lack of work in the area. Sandgate would have to have met or exceeded internal expectations with the year they had after their onfield losses. Mayne have added depth to the comp with some strong performances, especially early and one thinks their very best 22 is pretty handy. Springwood on the back of sacking their coach and some handy mid season signings showed some promise, but proof will be whether they can improve again next year. Maroochydore seem to have a bright future on the back of their young blokes and a good coach in place. They will however want to add a couple of class players if they are to progress to a finals side.
All in all a pretty good year of PHC. One of the best things to happen was the addittion of the Under 18's to play on the same day. Makes a full day of footy and designates resources to 1 day instead of 2! If the league could now schedule one home then one away into the fixture and have a full rd bye for the Rep game then they will be heading in the right direction.

Talk of an even nember of teams next year. Whether that means one goes out or one comes in yet to be seen. Cooly would be the one you would think with their number problems, but they are a proud club who I hope stay. A new club to make it 12 teams would be good, Cooparoo or Uni maybe?

I hope Cooly stays too, hope a quality team from Div 2 gets promoted. Really proud of Mayne's efforts this year, 8 wins and a possible 9 after this week best win/loss ratio in a long time. Huge effort by all involved well done and hope it continues in 2013 and beyond.
It was great to see the 15 year old Everton junior making his senior debut for Mayne this year good onya champ!

Talk of an even nember of teams next year. Whether that means one goes out or one comes in yet to be seen. Cooly would be the one you would think with their number problems, but they are a proud club who I hope stay. A new club to make it 12 teams would be good, Cooparoo or Uni maybe?
would love to see cooparoo come in!
would be like a real qafl! traditional clubs Mayne,West Magpies,Grange,Sandgate and the other clubs is a real qld footy league with great real rivals unlike the NEAFL which is only there to give afl lists a run and get elite young hopefuls into the afl (which is a good thing). the NEAFL hasnt got the integrity of the PHC, but is a vital vehicle of afl in qld.

I dont think palmy will rest any players. There maybe one or two changes but wouldnt have thought they would flirt with form this time of year.

Points for Surfers from forfeit have gone through. They will play finals. Unlucky Sandgate and Mayne, the league sends their best.

Round18 tips

Burleigh v Mayne
Maroochydore v Springwood
Coolangatta v Surfers
W/Grange v PBC
Noosa v W/Magpies

Round 18 Tips

Burleigh v Mayne
Maroochydore v Springwood
Coolangatta v Surfers
W/Grange v PBC
Noosa v W/Magpies (even though i think W/Magpies will win)

No point going for the tie on the leaderboard!!

Well Cooly did awarded that 2 points for that cancelled game against Maroochy, my apologies to whoever mentioned it. Now Burleigh has been handed the spoon due to that, if i was a Bombers fan I would be filthy and rightfully so. What a disgrace, by the league!

Tipping final standing

Tiger G 71
herestoyou 70
2010premier 69
Deelightful 68
Stuyd1 67
bornwinner 63
Magpieboy 57

And the winner is....:eek:;) seriously thank you to everyone who participated and especially to those who stuck it out

No one cares about the finals? Some tough games think Palmy will beat Noosa but won't be surprised if Noosa come up. Just think Noosa game against the Maggies might have taken a bit out of them. Think Grange will upset Surfers!

Pbc v noosa : like most games will be won in the midfield, Pbc get on top in there, palmy forward line will trouble noosa with height! Noosa win the mid and I think they have the best forward line in the comp. With out Trompf in the mid not sure who noosa will use against lohrey I'Anson and emblem? Think the o ballers are pretty evenly matched, the hards brothers are good as any in comp, isles mcittrick panoho won the chocolates last time they meet! Brewster the key for noosa, will kick a winning score on his own. Palmy by 5 goals

Surfers v grange: Midfield very evenly matched, brittain v ryan the two best in the comp going head to head will be a ripper. Fulton up front was the difference last time, unless pardew can limit Fulton influence I can't see grange kicking the score to beat them. Grange will be dissapointed on last weeks result and have the wood held over them by surfers, may be enough ammo for them to hold on. Surfers seem to have found form at the right time of year and should be to strong at home! Surfers by 3 goals.

tw
Pbc v noosa : like most games will be won in the midfield, Pbc get on top in there, palmy forward line will trouble noosa with height! Noosa win the mid and I think they have the best forward line in the comp. With out Trompf in the mid not sure who noosa will use against lohrey I'Anson and emblem? Think the o ballers are pretty evenly matched, the hards brothers are good as any in comp, isles mcittrick panoho won the chocolates last time they meet! Brewster the key for noosa, will kick a winning score on his own. Palmy by 5 goals

Surfers v grange: Midfield very evenly matched, brittain v ryan the two best in the comp going head to head will be a ripper. Fulton up front was the difference last time, unless pardew can limit Fulton influence I can't see grange kicking the score to beat them. Grange will be dissapointed on last weeks result and have the wood held over them by surfers, may be enough ammo for them to hold on. Surfers seem to have found form at the right time of year and should be to strong at home! Surfers by 3 goals.

I agree, two great games of footy this weekend, both could go either way, Im tipping PBC and Surfers.

Noosa vs PBC definately decided in the middle. Amazing depth when you are leaving your second placed goal kicker out in Hewat. Looking at PBC bench compared to Noosa, the bottom 6 at Palmy are better, and these blokes are the ones that can make the 2 or 3 goal difference. Both have some top liners, but without Bova and Trompf, I reckon home side will win, and win well. I think Smart is best defender in the comp, and will do the job on Brewster. Home ground not necessarily a game decider with Noosa enjoying the smaller confines, more contests etc. Just think they lack the class of last year with the extra two missing (Matthews and Bruer) plus their spiritual leaders in Bovalino and Trompf.

Grange been hurt with injury all year, havent had a consistent run at working into some form with their best players. Surfers arrive at finals time having played a game less this year compared to every other side, which will have to help, as some topline gorillas have had to do a heap of work to cover for injuries in games. Interesting that Grange have finished in same spot as last year, despite an obviously stronger list, probably the demostration on the improvement of the top sides across the board. Went out away from home against Sandgate last year in a close one, can they go one better and win their first final in ages? The best for both sides are terrific. Fulton is the key, Grange keep him to 2 or 3 and they are a chance, but will need S Brittain, D Brittain, Campbell and Pardew firing on all cylinders. I reckon this game will be closer than the other, and I reckon Surfers will win by under 10 points.

Magpies class above all year, week off in both grades and will be tough at home for winner of first game. I reckon Noosa will play Surfers next week, Surfers have won up there this year and that game will be another cracker. Noosa out in straight sets....? Never doubt the champs, but lot harder this year for them! Good luck all!!