SEQAFL Division 1 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

Think it will be an extremely entertaining final! Palmy big underdogs ( even I can't deny it), but with what happened in 08, last year, and two weeks ago, I am hoping the boys can lift and get the magpie hoodoo of their backs. Will be ripping contest and with palmy experience hopefully they will get the job done ! From what I hear the venue is a ripper for a gf. All set for a massive day, come on palmy let's get it back!

Also good luck to surfers and sandgate in the Reggie's ! Surfers by a couple.
Yeah good luck to palmy I hope they win, but maybe the odds are against them.

Think it will be an extremely entertaining final! Palmy big underdogs ( even I can't deny it), but with what happened in 08, last year, and two weeks ago, I am hoping the boys can lift and get the magpie hoodoo of their backs. Will be ripping contest and with palmy experience hopefully they will get the job done ! From what I hear the venue is a ripper for a gf. All set for a massive day, come on palmy let's get it back!

Also good luck to surfers and sandgate in the Reggie's ! Surfers by a couple.

And to of course Maroochy in the 18's playing v Sandgate. First time we have had 18's play on GF day I think and it is a great thing to see. Reckon the Sandgate ppl will be happy to have a couple of teams playing on GF day and will add to the crowd for the young fellas which will be good for them.

Totally agree with how great it is to have the 18's start the day. Will be a big day for Sandgate, the 18's been great all year and the Reserves going for 3 flags in a row. Would think they would start underdogs against Surfers who beat them in first final a few weeks ago. But after coming from 3 goals down with 5 minutes to play last week, the boys are a good chance. Should be a huge day at Sunlinc oval, weather perfect and big crowd.

The lead up to this weeks GF between great rivals PBC v West Magpies has been amazing a couple of stories on the website about past encounters plus a full preview of TOMORROWS GF will ensure a great crowd attends what will be an epic encounter....... oh... thats what i would be writing if M.King was still incharge,good job again NEW AFLQ admin and management, amazing stratedgy of silence!!

Seriously will be a great match, just hope both teams keep their hands to themselves and we see another epic of fast hard but fair football like we did in 2008

Great win by the Western Magpies today!.... The league really needs to look at PBC and what they bring to this league.. In 30 years of football i have never seen so much thuggery and abuse from a team.. The 3 red cards were just the tip of the iceberg in this game and if the umpires actually had control of it there would have been several more yellow or red cards during the day.. Once again PBC showed there true colors!

Whats your crowd estimate

What happened mate - got there early to watch the 18's (well done Maroochy!!) and left at half time of the main game as it seemed all over - Magpies miles too good and clean with the ball. Must have been some action in the last half bc PBC didn't fire a shot in the first!

Agree Deelightful - a very impressive display of footy. From what i was told all bar 3 blokes had played senior footy this year which is a great feather in the cap of the senior coaching team. Played a great brand of footy and were hard at it. From afar it certainly looks like the Demons have their shit together, trying to build from the bottom up and very competitive in both grades this year. Its not a difficult formula really but takes courage and leadership to implement bc it doesn't bring immediate success. When it does though it often brings sustained success. Look at the premiers this year - many of those guys have played 10 years at the Magpies.

West Magpies Votes - GF
3 - Perry - Bolt
2 - Brendenhood
1 - Cresswell

again PBC gave away a GF, and berhaved like prison inmates, i feel for Drake,JD and co that are grat blokes and good footballers but are associated with such a rable of a club. players number (1) and supporters threatning kids and women wow!! i am sick of paying tax that contributes to their dole payments......

Not sure they gave a GF away Speedy - Magpies to my mind were easily a better side. Much faster, more skilful, too many good footballers, defence was super vs PBC's old reputations. Noticed Micky Conlan at the game; he might have something to say about the conduct of PBC if it was pretty ordinary both on and off the field. More often than not a sides behaviour reflects the coaching personality. I imagine Surfers might benefit short term anyway... Their supporters seemed vocal but good spirited with it all (spose you can be when the game is never in doubt!). Good crowd, a good day hosted by Grange I thought. Should be there every year IMO.

i was a bit underwhelmed by the venue tbh.

the ground wasn't up to grand final condition if you ask me, and although they had set the venue up really well, the lack of parking, combined with $10 entry left me with a sour taste in my mouth. Also crowd wasn't anywhere near as big as last years at Maroochydore, and was heaps less then the last one they had there.

In saying that, huge congrats go out to WG for a well organised day that seemed to go off without a hitch.

Any fallout from the GF re PBC actions in the last qrt? Surely the league must be getting sick and tired of this, 2 years in a row, just this time at the games end rather than the games start!

West Magpies Votes - GF
3 - Perry - Bolt
2 - Brendenhood
1 - Cresswell

again PBC gave away a GF, and berhaved like prison inmates, i feel for Drake,JD and co that are grat blokes and good footballers but are associated with such a rable of a club. players number (1) and supporters threatning kids and women wow!! i am sick of paying tax that contributes to their dole payments......

I wouldnt go as fair saying palmy are a rable of a club. They have a very long and proud history and it shouldnt be tarnished because of a couple of incidents from a couple of individuals over two years. Most of the team is held in high regard and play with a lot of spirit, heart and passion. The players who were red carded have finished their careers on a bad note, and being a palm beach man i was ashamed and embarrassed at what unfolded. In saying that im still proud of my club and cant wait for next season.

Well said i suppose Dezario but unfortunately team sports are just this warts and all. At the end of the day a prospective recruit (say a young fella, just finished 18s career, won't be drafted or even a gold coaster looking to move from NEAFL to PHC) who had come along to watch that game could only leave unimpressed from what i was told with the on field and off field stuff over the past 2 years GF's. You have too much competition on the GC to allow this sort of stuff to become common place IMO. Real shame, PBC were always considered fairly hard, played with a bit of an edge but never filthy or undisciplined. I reckon it is good that you were embarrassed bc if enough PBC people demand a change then it will have to occur in due course. Like you said there are some of the comps best players in that side.

Well I can't wait for next season already! What a exciting and great year, really interesting what next year brings.

My run down on this year for each club

W/Magpies great year as expected, well deserved Premiers will continue to be the team to beat.

PBC. Stood tall and fought hard to get where they did as runner up I think persistence will pay off

Noosa As per usual were hard to beat, just missing out on a 3 peat speaks volumes for a great club as they are.

Surfers: Great year did very well if they learn from some of their mistakes they will be right up their 2013.

W/Grange Did very well considering being battered by injuries, better luck in that department will be a force to reckon with.

Mayne Will be exciting next year, 9 wins just missing out on finals, build and learn from that they are a great chance of fighting it out in finals.

Sandgate Did well to get where they did, bit of a mixed year for them, think their young guns would gained valuable experience from this year. Good woork by the Hawks.

Maroochy and Springwood Well done to both teams, big improvers of the comp will be right up there next year and add more excitement to the comp.

Burleigh and Cooly both had a season to forget, i'm sure they'll be working hard off season to better their chances next year.

Reckon us as big improvers is a bit generous. 4 wins is I think 1 more than last year - and no one was Burleigh/Cooly levels of bad in 2011. Loooooooong way to go to even consistently compete with the top 5

I know its only 2 weeks after GF but always the rumours at this time provide the talking points. My mail is both the Hards boys from PBC heading back home to Mildura, Brad as coach. Both gun players and terrific blokes, Kwit you may be able to shed some light on this?

New coaches needed at Noosa, Maroochy and Sandgate, or do they advertise the postion every year for these clubs?

Sadly, yes its true. Fantastic players and very well respected at our club, will be sorely missed. May be a few more joining them on the exit? But like every club will get new recruits and top up with some good kids coming through. Is always tough losing quality hard mids but hopefully can snag a couple from somewhere! Fingers crossed. Any other departures from other clubs? Speculation is welcome! And for whats its worth given the lack of conversation on here, make it up!!!! Just keep the ball rolling.

New coaches needed at Noosa, Maroochy and Sandgate, or do they advertise the postion every year for these clubs?

Maroochy definitely do. Not sure about the others. Shit practise if clubs make it mandatory to advertise the position IMO. Many blokes put a lot of time and effort into preparing presentations for coaching gigs now and if the job isn't actually up for grabs but just a "see who is around" sort of philosphy then it reflects badly on the club. If you want to fish then go buy a boat I reckon. Would be ordinary if a club advertised and then reappointed the incumbent.

I know Noosa advertised last year, had applicants, but were they really going to sack a coach that had just delivered back to back flags? I think not. Same this year i reckon, they have advertised but IMO have no intention of replacing Fletcher. I think its just an ego boost to say weve had this bloke and this bloke apply. Shit effort IMO. As Smy said plenty of work goes into putting together an application for a job and some of these are from interstate who have family and no doubt would have been a big decision for them to put their hand up and have a go, only to find out same bloke reappointed. If you advertise IMO you want change, regardless if the incumbent wants the job and re-applys. If your happy with the bloke you've got dont waste peoples time.

Wouldnt make the coach who was there feel real happy either, knowing that despite doing a decent job, the club still thinks they may do better. Back the bloke you have or get rid of him and take the punt you will get a better option.

And in some cases this could be fair enough too Mega ie maybe it was just a ripper group of players or the cons of the incumbent outweigh the pros but I think in the end all people ask is that you are up front and honest with the process. Like you said, if I was an incumbent and the club advertised like fk i'd be reapplying. I know one club in metro Melbourne have lost a very good coach in the last couple of days for this reason alone.

Agree. If you are advertising for others, it means you think there is a better option out there, which by default means the guy you had is no longer the best option. Im sure it goes on all over the country.