SEQAFL Division 1 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

I know Noosa advertised last year, had applicants, but were they really going to sack a coach that had just delivered back to back flags? I think not. Same this year i reckon, they have advertised but IMO have no intention of replacing Fletcher. I think its just an ego boost to say weve had this bloke and this bloke apply. Shit effort IMO. As Smy said plenty of work goes into putting together an application for a job and some of these are from interstate who have family and no doubt would have been a big decision for them to put their hand up and have a go, only to find out same bloke reappointed. If you advertise IMO you want change, regardless if the incumbent wants the job and re-applys. If your happy with the bloke you've got dont waste peoples time.

SHIT EFFORT

SHIT EFFORT
sHIT EFFORT IS A BIT HARSH Switching Play.Last year and in previous years it was apparently part of our constitution to advertise where a senior coach was not in his contract given the option of a second year.As an ex-president of the club I remember announcing that brett maloney would again be our senior coach for 2007 on presentation night and came under some scrutiny as i did not follow the bi laws or constitution of the club.Commonsence to me with regard to appointing coaches should not be within the constituition and only recently we have found that it is not.I was a c`tee member last year who firmly believed Fletch(after back to back flags and the total support of the playing group) should retain his position and voted accordingly.It is not an ego boost situation for noosa to advertise for season 2013.i am still on the c`tee (one of eight) and my opinion in these strugging financial and especially trade poor times on the coast that noosa should seek a playing coach.I am only one of eight though who will make this recommendation but i can inform everyone on this forum that our advertisement is `lets just see whos out there ` time waister.

I meant `NO` time waister.Applications close this friday.Great to see youngster Riley buntain win noosas` best and fairest last night ahead of tommy Mckinntrick and Angel Duke.Well done Angel on receiving life membership,been a true champion at our club.

Bit of a freudian slip thre mate... :) Well rectified! I'm sure you would agree that if it is indeed the case that the club must advertise (don't worry, Maroochydore did too a few years back and reappointed the same guy - I'm sure it happens a bit around Oz)) then surely commonsense says that a clause should be inserted that the incumbent should be offered first right of refusal if the club so chooses. If he doesn't take it up with the conditions offered then the job is advertised. If there are any doubts about the incumbent then let him know you aren't 100% satisfied with his role and that you will advertise and welcome to apply (but it would surprise if the same bloke got it). A 2 time premiership coach though probably doesn't have those doubts against his name??
Thats a dumb thing to have in any club constitution IMO and with your influence there get it changed!!:D
Angel 3rd B&F - like a good wine!!

Out of interest mate how does a playing coach reduce total financial commitments or do you mean that you are filling 2 spots with one body so 2 jobs don't have to be found??

Perhaps those who wish to comment on the Club policy regarding appointment or advertising for coaches should withhold comments until they investigate Club policy.

This is not to say we all can't have an opinion on the merits of reappointments versus advertising for coaches.

In Noosa's case Noosaboy is close to the mark. If a current coach is out of contract at the end of a season, then there should be a process that involves interviewing the current coach prior to season end to broach both parties intentions for the future.

Again this can be debated, when it may impact on the coaches performance towards the end of the season.

But we are all big boys surely and any conversation could be in broad terms. Once again, in Noosa's case, I believe the coach had a one year contract and under the circumstances it would be a fickle person to not suggest that Fletcher didn't do very well considering disruptions to the playing group this year.

By the way is anyone aware of Fletch's intentions for 2013??

Just bc it is club policy doesn't make it right does it?? Maybe the policy needs to change which is what i was suggesting....
My arguement is that you should not advertise the position and then reappoint the same bloke just bc club policy says this is what we can do. Its not fair on a whole raft of people and I reckon that in due course would be detrimental to the footy club as when they are legitimately looking around some good contenders may not bother.
Why put a bloke under the pump unnecessarily just bc "club policy" dictates this.
Don't care about the Noosa situation per se - I know it goes on at many clubs around Australia.

Still interested to know what the thinking is that a player/coach could be better financially for the footy club too. Its been a while since a captain/coach won a premiership in this comp from memory although i know Noosa had some pretty good ppl off field too.

Just bc it is club policy doesn't make it right does it?? Maybe the policy needs to change which is what i was suggesting....
My arguement is that you should not advertise the position and then reappoint the same bloke just bc club policy says this is what we can do. Its not fair on a whole raft of people and I reckon that in due course would be detrimental to the footy club as when they are legitimately looking around some good contenders may not bother.
Why put a bloke under the pump unnecessarily just bc "club policy" dictates this.
Don't care about the Noosa situation per se - I know it goes on at many clubs around Australia.

Still interested to know what the thinking is that a player/coach could be better financially for the footy club too. Its been a while since a captain/coach won a premiership in this comp from memory although i know Noosa had some pretty good ppl off field too.

Sandgate have player/coach and nearly got there in 2010. Dont think Long is going around again, so there will be none in the comp unless Noosa found one. It can work, depends on the setup. But it is not the norm in the higher comps. Klemke just player/coached Queanbeyan to a NEAFL flag at 22, so depends on the individual.

For any Mayne Tigers on here, Mayne have their book launch titled "From Glory to Heartache" on Wednesday 24th October at the Breakfast Creek Hotel 5.00pm. $49.95 a copy, buy your own drinks and finger food supplied by the hotel.

bit grim the title are the current players the heartache? i reckon the tigers might go ok next year?
are uni coming in to the comp?

bit grim the title are the current players the heartache? i reckon the tigers might go ok next year?
are uni coming in to the comp?
No of course not, but reality is Mayne were a very successful club back in the day 15 premierships, competed in many grand finals and final series. Then went to losing their home ground getting belted alot, got kicked out of the comp. completely without justification, demoted to a lower division in which we are starting to get some success and on the road to recovery in many ways.

No way a dig at the players they are true champions as are all the coaching staff and everybody involved with the club in keeping this great club alive!

No of course not, but reality is Mayne were a very successful club back in the day 15 premierships, competed in many grand finals and final series. Then went to losing their home ground getting belted alot, got kicked out of the comp. completely without justification, demoted to a lower division in which we are starting to get some success and on the road to recovery in many ways.

No way a dig at the players they are true champions as are all the coaching staff and everybody involved with the club in keeping this great club alive!
Uni in comp, interesting, l know they have over 100 players registered and they have advertised for football scholarship to 2 players. the y dont have a club house, ground is not bad to play on. Not bad change rooms, small though!

Josh Drummond to coach Maroochydore. Anyone heard this around the traps. I have a good source whom says it is a possibility

As a player,always liked the idea of a non playing coach smy however I just think that say paying a non playing coach 8 grand who isn`t playing instead of a mature and experienced gun player 10 or 12 grand to captain coach is option that noosa should look at.In the end Fletch got the job again for another year.Wouldn`t be surprised to see rep` coach Brett Maloney take charge at maroochy in 2013.

Interesting analogy NBoy. Can't see a productive playing coach at this level without solid personal employment and a great team of support staff. Playing coach is too difficult from a leadership perspective if you cannot lead from example, but also control involvement in player moves and guidance during a game.

Money doesn't come in to it because you can pay as much or as little as you like for a playing coach - he still has to maintain control and self disipline over his players, support staff and fellow Football Club members and suppoters. Too big an ask if you ask me, when he has to play at a high level as well.

Player/coach thing of the past personally.

Brett Maloney would be a good pick up for M'dore. But he would stil have to overcome the problem of no real 'home' for the Roos. Also heard a figure of $20,000 - any truth in that?? If so how can they do it!!!!!

Interesting analogy NBoy. Can't see a productive playing coach at this level without solid personal employment and a great team of support staff. Playing coach is too difficult from a leadership perspective if you cannot lead from example, but also control involvement in player moves and guidance during a game.

Money doesn't come in to it because you can pay as much or as little as you like for a playing coach - he still has to maintain control and self disipline over his players, support staff and fellow Football Club members and suppoters. Too big an ask if you ask me, when he has to play at a high level as well.

Brett Maloney would be a good pick up for M'dore. But he would stil have to overcome the problem of no real 'home' for the Roos. Also heard a figure of $20,000 - any truth in that?? If so how can they do it!!!!!
What was Brett like up at Noosa with the senior side? Did he have success in his time there? I think he put an application in at Noosa as well. 20 grand no way I reckon 10 at most

Sandgate had a player/coach for last 4 years. Made finals 3 of the 4 including a GF and a prelim. Missed this year but lost a few players and had a young side. Grange have just appointed a player/coach. It is not unheard of and the situation depends on the individual and the support off field. Queanbeyan had a 22 year old player coach in NEAFL this year, they won the flag.

As for the leadership theory, how much more leadership do players need than a coach who is doing preseason with them, playing and leading by example on game day. Hard to complain about how hard training is when the guy calling the shots is right next to you.

How do you think that will go down in Noosa town? I imagine would be a few disappointed Tiger supporters to see a favourite son down the road? In saying that, those same people will be wrapped to see him get another opportunity at senior level, bloke would have died waiting at Noosa.