Magpies 34
PBC
Marrochy
Springwood
Surfers
Cooly

First 2 weeks Mayne's injury list is stinging a lot. Jake MacGill broken leg, Nick Aldridge Hammy and now Caleb Brown with a knee injury some rotten luck. Smy hope karma bites ya on the butt for changing your tip and Mayne win :p

Magpies v Noosa (75 pts)
PBC v Grange
Sandgate v Maroochydore
Springwood v Burleigh
Surfers v Mayne
Coolangatta v UQ

And is it correct that Surfers 18s have forfeited too! At home! There is a lot of trouble with this age group on the GC it seems - no Burleigh side, Cooly and now Surfers giving up games and we aren't even up to Rd 3!

Surely smy1305, this will hurt those clubs in the future, can't buy players to build a growing culture. I guess there are so many clubs and so many things to do for boys under 18 on the Goldie

Big problems ahead if this trend continues.

I hope that the sides that are struggling have not sacrificed results at the expense of youth development.

Is there any Div 1 U18 comp this year, considering the number of teams withdrawing?

Very gratifying to look at Noosa yesterday and see the number of emerging young talent. It is full credit to the commitment of the junior structure to encourage the development of the above average kids through upper grades. It is so easy to scout for recruits, but in the long run, surely every club will reach the stage where they either run out of money, or - as in Noosa and M'dore's cases - work dries up.

It has taken time but Noosa appears to have taken the path that is evident at M'dore. Young adults need competition and challenges and the sooner the better. I for one am really excited at the prospect of Noosa v M'dore in weeks to come.

Can anyone tell me if Magpies were near full strength? If they were they have a long way to go to repeat last years result. Back line for Maggies were the difference and an AFL past player. As expected Noosa turned the ball over regularily through inexperience. However their endeavour and commitment could not be questioned. Some pain ahead, but also some really exciting improvement as well.

I hope that the sides that are struggling have not sacrificed results at the expense of youth development.

Is there any Div 1 U18 comp this year, considering the number of teams withdrawing?

Very gratifying to look at Noosa yesterday and see the number of emerging young talent. It is full credit to the commitment of the junior structure to encourage the development of the above average kids through upper grades. It is so easy to scout for recruits, but in the long run, surely every club will reach the stage where they either run out of money, or - as in Noosa and M'dore's cases - work dries up.

It has taken time but Noosa appears to have taken the path that is evident at M'dore. Young adults need competition and challenges and the sooner the better. I for one am really excited at the prospect of Noosa v M'dore in weeks to come.

Can anyone tell me if Magpies were near full strength? If they were they have a long way to go to repeat last years result. Back line for Maggies were the difference and an AFL past player. As expected Noosa turned the ball over regularily through inexperience. However their endeavour and commitment could not be questioned. Some pain ahead, but also some really exciting improvement as well.

Magpies were far from full strength.. Had at least 7-8 senior players out easily! On the plus side it gives an opportunity to younger players at the club to get a taste of senior footy and keep pushing the established players to earn their spots.

Yeah there is Argus but a diluted version you might say!! In actual fact no real difference to the NEAFL 18s - Southport is the only GC team of any strength, both Broadbeach and labrador struggle for numbers i've been told. There is only 7 teams in that comp with strength among 5 of them. In the AP 18s there is strength among 5 clubs as well in reality, maybe 6. Its a tough call for administrators as to what is the right and wrong way to go about it. IMO the best way to retain / attract good numbers is to offer a solid footy environment and good coaching. Parents in the main are stoked to have their boys playing sport at this age bc I think everyone realises that it is important for boys to maintain some structure in their life for as long as possible but they want to know it is a great environment, that isn't win at all costs, but is about the development of their kid from a sporting but also personal point of view.

BTW - both Surfers and Cooly haven't necessarily withdrawn but forfeited matches - Burleigh is the only side to officially withdraw.

FWIW on the 18s front - think the league has done the right thing bringing the games back to saturday mornings - how any administration thought it was a good idea to play games with 17/18 year old kids on the goldie on a sunday is beyond me!!

Robina have picked up a number of the boys from Burleigh 18's - literally the thursday before the first game - has been great for the div 4 team that has been established and there is some promising talent there - hopefully over the next month more of them will get an opportunity in the reserves / seniors. Opportunities are there for the boys who want to train 2 times a week and play some good footy, but the div 4 team gives those who want to train once and have a kick with mates on a friday night that opportunity as well.

Things have changed a lot since i was 17/18 granted, but i think giving kids an opportunity to continue to play in an environment not as full on as AP is a good way to keep them in the game - would suggest the average age of the carrara div 3 team is also testament to this.

Yeah agree BOC - heard Douge talking about how they had found the Sunday arvo was the preferred option but personally think that Sat morn, get it out of the way, can step out Sat night without fear, can back up for a part of the 2s match if required and can be aprt of the whole senior experience on Saturday if they desire is great. The major issue is lack of competitive games in both NEAFL and AP I think - if you combined these 2 comps then it would be a ripper comp for all the boys, specifically at U17 age.

I think the reason they were playing on sundays (and still should imo) is so they don't clash with school sport and kids aren't forced to choose.

I know when I was 17 i played club cricket on Sundays, school cricket on Saturdays.

Same went for footy, except I played Rugby for my school on Saturday and Aussie Rules on Sunday for a club.

Thommo - agree there is pros and cons but think the scales are in favour of Saturdays imo. The main reason Sundays were chosen is for umpire availability.

Yeah agree BOC - heard Douge talking about how they had found the Sunday arvo was the preferred option but personally think that Sat morn, get it out of the way, can step out Sat night without fear, can back up for a part of the 2s match if required and can be aprt of the whole senior experience on Saturday if they desire is great. The major issue is lack of competitive games in both NEAFL and AP I think - if you combined these 2 comps then it would be a ripper comp for all the boys, specifically at U17 age.

Comments from posts surrounding U18's playing on Sat are on the money as far as I am concerned. Nothing has changed since Adam was a boy. Early Sat U18 game, reserves and seniors with the kids around the senior group.

SMY, you mention culture, Club environment and good coaching. Wouldn't ever Club wish they had that. They must be the core ingredients for any successful development and participation of youth within a Club.

I guess at the end of the day, the League can try all they want, but if the Club culture is not up to scratch we will be talking about this problem for ever more.

Throw into this volunteers making up most of the Management of Clubs, the year to year continuity is most times lost at some Clubs, so that what was good one year may not be up to scratch the following year.

Finally finances of Clubs now dictate how development is viewed. If some of the financial emphasis is not on nurturing youth devopment, but on senior success then it can be easy for the scales to be put out of balance.

The League is surely faced with the dilemma. Perhaps U18s will be year to year proposition with all Clubs.

Round 4 tips
Maroochy
Springwood
PBC
Magpies
UQ
W/Grange

Overall Leader board after round two.

Tipper Tips Margin
Dezario 9 145
stuyd 9 165
Lovesthefp 8 160
Tiger G 8 163
BigfootyQLD 8 171
Pinky951 7 145
paddlepop33 7 152
Smy1305 6 160
shiny_on_top 5 166
2010premier 4 228[/quote

Pinky,
Not being rude but can you do the update of the tipping ladder after round 3.
many thanks.