Setanta

• Thread starter Thread starter NQTIGER

firstly no chance in hell I want Setanta in our side.

That being said, a lot of you are unfairly maligning him.

He NEVER EVER assaulted and kicked a fellow footballer.

He has however beat up and kicked a Cloke, and I'm yet to meet a Cloke who didn't deserve a kick in the quoit. Personally I think when he is finished playing this action alone should guarantee him a lap around the MCG on GF day.

Exactly, kicking a Cloke is a form of community service, much like soup kitchens, donating to charity and so forth. As for Setanta, you must be joking ! We all sook about the duds on our list but people keep suggesting we replace with even bigger duds from other clubs. Shocking, shocking footballer. Next !!!

AGREE with this!

update- Setanta could be going to the Bombers!

I would rather keep mcguane than have setanta. He will be 29 going into next season - he is only going to get worse from now and he is already pretty woeful.

And whoever said that thing about o'reilly being a drawcard because they are mates, well he has gone home now - so much for your source :o

What about Bower for McGuane? Bower was pretty decent in 2009 and is only 23. McGuane is 24. They are roughly the same height, same weight and are both in need of a fresh start. Like for like.

Yes ..

Miller > Setanta

With all due respect to Miller its an inconvenience having to have him on the list till others step up , we dont need 2 of them

If this had legs i'd torch my membership

pretty much sums it up for me too. There have been a few wtfs that we can put down to inexperience from the brains trust, this WTF would just about do it for me.
What is all this BS about mentoring and all that shit. So we will be recruiting players to be baby sitters, or are we building a competitive list FFS? ;)

I would rather keep mcguane than have setanta. He will be 29 going into next season - he is only going to get worse from now and he is already pretty woeful.

And whoever said that thing about o'reilly being a drawcard because they are mates, well he has gone home now - so much for your source :o

What about Bower for McGuane? Bower was pretty decent in 2009 and is only 23. McGuane is 24. They are roughly the same height, same weight and are both in need of a fresh start. Like for like.

Yep, but it was in a mediocre team that saw what it needed to rise up the ladder and he wasnt one of them. We are aiming to improve, players who were good in a team that was mediocre, were instrumental in that mediocrity. We have had a bucket load of those types in the last 2 decades. ;)

I dont think setanta is a good move but i do rate him a more valueable player than gus browne maguane and miller .Has miller resigned?

Lots of Divergent views, that surprises me, everyone was up in arms last year about miller being recruited, turned out a good pick up, in twelve months time we will be saying the same about setanta.:cool:

How is he possibly going to fit into our best team NQT? Last year it was different because we wanted the 3 tall set up and Griffiths clearly wasn't ready. He will be ready in 2012 and we also have Astbury and Post as well. And Miller for emergencies. He adds nothing in terms of offield mentoring either. How do you expect him to slot in?

Mate im just telling people what i was told, im not making him a must get, read my opening post,

But IMO it would be a win win win......

Sheesh when someone posts something on here that has been mooted elsewhere it is taken as the posters opinion.

If that was the case then we may as well not post here anymore and go elsewhere.

What a ridiculous rumour.

Putting aside the fact he doesnt fill a need, recruiting him would go against everything the club has said in regards to drafting/trading. ie. age bracket and skill set.

Miller board >>>>>>>>>

Mate im just telling people what i was told, im not making him a must get, read my opening post,

But IMO it would be a win win win......

Sheesh when someone posts something on here that has been mooted elsewhere it is taken as the posters opinion.

If that was the case then we may as well not post here anymore and go elsewhere.
What are you on about? I know you were just reporting what you were told. But then you go on to say you think it will be a win for us and that in 12 months he will be considered a good pick up. So clearly it is your opinion that we should go for it... :confused:

My question still stands?

Miller board >>>>>>>>>

I had comtemplated adding something regarding Miller but didnt think anyone would be silly enough to use him as an example.

Miller filled a need, was brought in for his commitment to training, his footy brain and was only 27 with a future coaching role in mind.

PLease tell me you dont view Setanta in the same light as Miller, I know from past posts you are better than that.

Lots of Divergent views, that surprises me, everyone was up in arms last year about miller being recruited, turned out a good pick up, in twelve months time we will be saying the same about setanta.:cool:

ok NQ. Might give you a bit of a back up on O'helpless. Although I and many others have been laughing our rings off at the tanker's supporters and the tankers themselves not seeing the light that shines bright to us, there is one get out clause when it comes to O'helpless.
That one is and this is purely based on the validity of the rumour, but if it does come to fruition, tipping we are going to change his role from what it was.
i.e. the guy is athletic, can pretty much run all day, has a good leap, has a hunger, has mongrel, cant kick a goal to save his life, so what do you do with such a player? I would plonk at CHB and tell him to spoil spoil spoil...and when ball is in hand, give it to the next available who can kick it...
If they are entertaining any other ideas about him then we are ****ed..;)

Setanta is one of my favourite non-tiger players to watch. Too much passion and spirit to be a blue-nut.

Can he play much ruck? Rotating with Vickery perhaps?

I would swap him for Mcguane in an instant.

That all being said I dont reckon that this sort of trade is part of the plan and we should probably stick to the slow and steady build for the long term.

Setanta is one of my favourite non-tiger players to watch. Too much passion and spirit to be a blue-nut.

Can he play much ruck? Rotating with Vickery perhaps?

I would swap him for Mcguane in an instant.

That all being said I dont reckon that this sort of trade is part of the plan and we should probably stick to the slow and steady build for the long term.

No, he's worse than useless in the ruck. He's a forward only, can't see why you'd have any interest in him when you already have Miller for depth and a few young players developing that are probably ready for a few more games.

Thanks for your insight, what happened to your signature?