SFL - 2018

This would have to be the quietest period on Big Footy as far as Sunraysia goes. Last year their were 17 posts in August so far this season 4.
Are we sick of the bull or are we getting to politically correct. i can think of a couple of juicy news items that we haven't had a crack at lately or are we too worried about offending people. or is that everyone knows who everyone else is?

You can tell its been quiet in the office today. Six minutes to knock off.

Thirty two posts on the CMFL.for august.
How about you put those two juicy news items on here :cool:

Righto people, time to discuss the McLeod Medal prospects, as well as the SFNL Team of the Year. Brad Eaton must be a Monty for the McLeod, with Jackson, Lando, Peake, Featherstone, Dawson also in the mix, can never forget Falvo either...
SFNL Team of the Year?
B: Alvey Jeffers Brougham
HB: Eaton Hughes Flack
C: Hodson Jackson Richardson
HF: S.Motlop Matthews Denaro
F: Peake Lando Boake
R: Featherstone Cavallo Falvo
Int: Burdett Oldham Condidorio Crossling

Righto people, time to discuss the McLeod Medal prospects, as well as the SFNL Team of the Year. Brad Eaton must be a Monty for the McLeod, with Jackson, Lando, Peake, Featherstone, Dawson also in the mix, can never forget Falvo either...
SFNL Team of the Year?

Ryan Harris? Josh Dawson?

Yeah, Harris for Cavallo maybe, Dawson I dunno, who do you drop or move?
Cavallo had a great year, mostly up against superior opposition as well.....Harris was fantastic in the first half of the season....
Come up with a side and post it...

SFNL Team of the Year?

B:Brougham Hughes Oldham
HB:Eaton Rigby N.Johns
C:R Harris Jackson Alvey
HF:S Motlop Matthews N Coglan
F:Peake Lando D Fox
R:Featherstone A Richardson Falvo
Int:T Moncur,J Cavallo,B Hodson,R Handreck

After watching the news on monday how did the irymple player not get reported or the league look into this clear elbow from way of the ball ill bet that the next game between irymple and robinvale will be a fiery one.

Would be a shame for Irymple if the Rolls Royce missed out on finals, however do the crime, do the time........Dunno if the Robinvale fella will come up.

howdy! all new to this but ive watched enough local footy to know what i like. figured id throw something into the mix.

B:A Arden,Hughes, N.Johns
HB:Eaton, Rigby, J Dawson
C:B Hodson, Jackson, Alvey
HF:S Motlop, Matthews, R Harris
F:Peake, T Moncur, Lando
Int:D Fox,J Cavallo,Jeffers, Condidorio

The games are always fiery and if you have been to any, theres always a few cheap shots. Cant see that incident any worse that the one earlier in the year when a young irymple player got punched from behind miles off the play.

Just saw the footage, don't want to condemn the guy 'coz i've always seen him as a fair gun, but this was pretty ordinary. AFL would give enough weeks to miss the rest of the year and start of the next........
If he gets away with it and wins the McLeod, expect a few players to walk out when its presented.......

Just saw the footage, don't want to condemn the guy 'coz i've always seen him as a fair gun, but this was pretty ordinary. AFL would give enough weeks to miss the rest of the year and start of the next........
If he gets away with it and wins the McLeod, expect a few players to walk out when its presented.......

Well you couldnt get a fairer player, I played in many games with him and watched many others and he has never done anything else like this before, maybe in a moment of madness he got caught up in the moment, he has been targeted all year and maybe the game against sth pushed him over the edge. If players walk out if he wins the mcleod again, they know nothing about football.

i dont follow either of the teams but i bet if it was robinvales onballer in jackson he would off been reported.
it looks like nothing will come of it so probaly best left alone will be there to watch the semi though....;)

I must admit that the incident that occured on the weekend doesn't look great. If the player involved does go on to win the medal, I say good luck to him, I have watched a bit of footy this year and he has be a stand out. Lets get off our high horses here, the only reason this issue is being raised is because it was caught on camera, there are possibly 3or 4 of these incidents happening every game, but because they aren't on camera nobody talks about them.
As for Jackson, he was the one involved in the incident earlier in the year at Irymple, and if I am not mistaken I am pretty sure that I saw him knee a Mildura player in the head after being tackled a couple of weeks ago, on the Monday night news. So please lets not put him in the hard done by catagory.

im not putting jackson into that catagory there is always alot that goes unanswered but how can the umpire award a free kick down field and not report him i see that the league has now reported that there will be an investigation well lets let the league do there thing. in other topics i believe that pete featherston will win the medal followed by mark alvey...
wenty for the flag and robinvale r/up best in finals C lando.....

howdy! all new to this but ive watched enough local footy to know what i like. figured id throw something into the mix.

B:A Arden,Hughes, N.Johns
HB:Eaton, Rigby, J Dawson
C:B Hodson, Jackson, Alvey
HF:S Motlop, Matthews, R Harris
F:Peake, T Moncur, Lando
Int:D Fox,J Cavallo,Jeffers, Condidorio

Hard to understand your 5 mildura in the first 18? Without even going close to finals.

These incidents are happening across the state, I believe caused by the poor standard of umpiring and leagues that are not strong enough to take stern action.

Rabbito
like i sais mate ive seen what i like. in those positions the mildura players i thought played more than well in there positions. just my take on it, we'll find out on mcloud night wont we. i noticed you havent put 1 up there yet. whose your team of the yr??

what are peoples take on the eaton incident? seeing as there is video footage should there be an investigation? is it cause that its finals its an issue? if that isnt the case, then there should be an investigation every weekend... should be an interesting stage and itll be interesting to see what happeneds after the result.

It's a shame that the increase in posts is a result of an ugly incident on the weekend. Regardless of what happens, its been a good year (not for Imps) as probably all other sides have improved. If not for Featherstone and a few of youngsters (Mee, Keating, Hogan and Darby), Imps year may have been a total waste. Still reckon Irymple with or without the Rolls Royce are the favorites.
I'd pay twice as much to see a Irymple v Robinvale final with the RR on Irymples half back flank.....

Rabbito
like i sais mate ive seen what i like. in those positions the mildura players i thought played more than well in there positions. just my take on it, we'll find out on mcloud night wont we. i noticed you havent put 1 up there yet. whose your team of the yr??

what are peoples take on the eaton incident? seeing as there is video footage should there be an investigation? is it cause that its finals its an issue? if that isnt the case, then there should be an investigation every weekend... should be an interesting stage and itll be interesting to see what happeneds after the result.

I'll work on a team for you, Alvey for the McLeod with one leg in the air!
(and coach of the year)

pretty hard to go past Alvey, his had a standout yr. Easily his best since his been back in the league.

Would have to agree, Alvey has had a teriffic year and was good again today, but unfortunately he may umpire a little to much while he is playing, which might count against him when the votes are handed out.

Can someone who saw the game today give me a rundown on the who, what, when and how of the game? Looks like the money South spent was all in vain.......

I hope they spend again so they dont go back to Balranald:D

If that's the result of spending big $$$ (south finished 6th in 2010, now 4th in 2011) there'd be some very disappointed people at South.
South were beaten by a fitter, hungrier and better coached side.