Shane O'Bree's Wedding

• Thread starter Thread starter Shellz

Collingwood players must play AFL grand final replay, not fly to Bali

September 26, 2010
Collingwood midfielder Dale Thomas and a number of his teammates were booked to fly out next weekend for retired teammate Shane O'Bree's wedding in Bali.
Instead he will be playing in his second grand final before another 100,000 fans.
It's lucky Thomas had the foresight to book travel insurance.
Sharrod Wellingham was looking forward to attending Friday's Copeland Trophy, then looking forward to jumping on a plane to head home to Perth to see his family.
The Copeland is off for the time being. And his mum will have to wait at least an extra week before his trip home.
Even Collingwood president Eddie McGuire was hitting the phones to restructure his schedule for the coming week and a bit. He was meant to head to Europe for some business meetings, but they, too, have been postponed.

Full Story Here

What a logistical disaster!!!!!!

Peter Helliar (massive Pie fan) booked a trip to France this weekend. What other horror stories have you heard?

The horror story is that Peter Helliar has a job that pays him enough to be able to afford to go to France. Disgraceful

Well part of that story is incorrect..

There is no "must" involved in rescheduling anything :P Don't want to disrupt your precious plans instead of playing a GRAND FINAL for a premiership?? Don't :P

Pretty sure presti and such would welcome a few pies not changing their plans.

The players should want to desperately change plans, and not give an ounce of a crap or even comment on any other B.S meaningless stuff they'd have been doing.

Nick Maxwell bandwagon sucks, and its already been quashed LOL The change will never come (AFL confirms) and now the saints start favourites with most of australia because of the crying post-game and press conferance. Eddie tried to salvage the fallout of Maxwell's shameful attitude.

Pendlebury for captain 2011 :D

The change will never come (AFL confirms)

Nothing of the sort was said. Andy D said they won't make a knee jerk reaction the day after, said nothing about it been looked at in the off season. And FWIW, lots of people have said extra time should happen, not a replay, including Ross Lyon and most media people.

So... selfish people involved in the day feeling empty must mean we all disregard more than 150 years of history? lol

Nice logic. Please read all of the news feeds from the AFL today. The rule will not change because nick maxwell makes a cheap plea on TV for change to occur. AD said clearly this "unique" part of the game will be kept by the AFL ongoing. In everything ive read no official claim says it will even be reviewed? The only change came from amending the REPLAY having a drawn event - which seems like the AFL already had that as a contingency for the modern game, just unannounced.

A friend of mine forked out $1400 for a ticket.

Just put on his Facebook that he's prepared to give it his all for the Pies and spend a similar amount.

The passion!

I have my own horror story. I'm going to America on Wednesday. I'm so devastated as I go every week and I'm going to miss the biggest game of all.

Docker Alyssa - I think you will find the story is a media beat up.

The players obviously feel for Cheesy but they know what they have to do. Changing some flights around means nothing because they have another chance of bringing home number 15.

So... selfish people involved in the day feeling empty must mean we all disregard more than 150 years of history? lol

Yeah, cause changing the rules to allow extra time in the replay instead of playing another game in the case of a (another) draw isn't disregarding "history"? lol :rolleyes: The commission is meeting on Monday to change this rule.

The rule will not change because nick maxwell makes a cheap plea on TV for change to occur.

Heaven forbid a player a minute after the grand final says what's on his mind. Why not have a go at everyone else who wants extra time?

P.S. I like having the replay, but don't get why everyone is having a sook because Maxwell says he doesn't.

and now the saints start favourites with most of australia :D

Oh no! How will the team ever cope with this?

You must be knew to footy if you think almost all neutrals weren't already cheering on St Kilda

what logistical nightmare? I booked tix to fly over to Melb a few months back for a pub sesh with friends this coming weekend so it looks like im bailing that and going to the game if i get a ticket!
Havent been to a losing Pies game in 4 years and ive been to plenty :D

With that track record Pricetime, I wish I could grant you a ticket.
Here's hoping you snag one mate.

Think there's a lot of cheap insulting views here.

On Maxwell, he was interviewed about a second after the game, where Riewoldt was completely managed by the Saints.

Goddard said exactly the same thing, but got lauded for his 'leadership'.

Let's be clear. Maxwell and Malthouse and the team faced the public at the function rather than go home as the Saints did. They rallied the team for one more massive effort.

Mt Humphrey if we win, I will climb you some day in my life. Maybe not at sub -30 degree temperatures, but if that gives us a flag, I wish to kiss the top.