greg62

Port Adelaide
Where have all the decent TV commentators gone?

The ones on all stations seem to be promoting their own agendas. Commeti appears to be steering to a stand-up comedy career and Dermie is set upon a future coaching career disecting every play.

Eddie and the majority of others seem to lack anything to say and fill up the time with mindless stats (we all know the only stat that matters is the final scoreboard).

Bring back Lou Richards. At least he called the game as he saw it and called with modest humor (who can remember the famous Tassie comments). It seems only the few on ABC radio are worth listening to. This is ok if the game is live (which now appears is a rarity) and you can turn the volume down on the TV.

Do you agree?

Originally posted by greg62
Where have all the decent TV commentators gone?

The ones on all stations seem to be promoting their own agendas. Commeti appears to be steering to a stand-up comedy career and Dermie is set upon a future coaching career disecting every play.

Eddie and the majority of others seem to lack anything to say and fill up the time with mindless stats (we all know the only stat that matters is the final scoreboard).

Bring back Lou Richards. At least he called the game as he saw it and called with modest humor (who can remember the famous Tassie comments). It seems only the few on ABC radio are worth listening to. This is ok if the game is live (which now appears is a rarity) and you can turn the volume down on the TV.

Do you agree?

You have to learn to live with it or else lodge a personal complaint with channel 9 & see if they listen to you:o

Lou Richards was unique but he has had his day. Anyway, he couldn't see the game to call it these days. I wonder if old Lou was actually any less biased than Eddie is. A work mate of mine who emigrated from NZ in the 80's hated Collingwood because of Lou Richards. The more things change the more they stay the same.

If I could sum what I think the general consensus on BF is, it seems Commetti is great, Lane is ok and no other commentator deserves a gig. What exactly do people want from a commentator? I find them all ok and much of a muchness.

The best bet is to go to the games and watch for yourself and make your own judgements. Of course not everyone can do that but with so many games on TV and so many people seeing so much of their footy via TV it seems that the heard mentality prevails. All the media think and say the same thing and the public follow. All of a sudden a new player is the best new plyer for 40 years and then all of a sudden he is crap because after 5 games he finds the going tough. Then it's the new media darling's turn.

IMO the commentary has one real problem and that is there is too much of it. You have 3 to 4 people in the box and all have to have a say on something whether there is anything to say or not. Apart from that, I couldn't care less who is commentating. I'd prefer to watch live at the game with no commentary anyway. A bit more of a minimalist approach would suit me fine.

I agree MarkT.

I still don't have a clue why they need so many commentators for the one game. There are usually 4 in the box and another couple on the boundary, plus a token doctor and usually an injured player from on or both of the teams...

It's bloody crazy.

I wish they'd just have a couple of blokes call the game, relay the stats that matter and shut up about everything else.

I don't mind most of Channel 9s commentators but Channel 10s are really giving me the Shyts this year... especially when Port are always given Chris McDermott, Mark Aiston and that other little dweeb (name escapes me at the moment, but he looks similar to Mark Aiston).

But like all commentators it is finding the right balance between the group, too much of any one commentator can be... well too much.

SKC

Footy commentatots are the only people in the world who can't say lucky, instead they say fortuitous.
Also the Daicos "in the end" disease is spreading across all commentators on 10 and is now spreading across channels to 9.

Ah "Fortuitous in the end"

They're all pretty crap - 'speshly when it's King Ed when Collingwood plays! I always have the radio on and the sound off the TV if I'm watching a live game - the only way to get a half-decent call.
I am a Dennis Commetti fan though :D

I only like Commetti when my side isn't playing and i don't care about the result. He annoys me no end when my team is playing. He just doesn't seem to take it seriously - not that i don't like humour - but others with some humour like Rex, Huddo and Lane actually seem to care about the result. That whole 'doyan' tag that Ed gives him is way too much, he was just a WA game commentator on 7.

Lane and Hudson are excellent. Eddie is ok. Quartermain, Whately, Christian, Russell etc are jack scheissenhausen.

Those last 4 sound, and Ed to a lesser degree, seem so fake with their excitment, and never know when to get excited and when not to.

We took Bruce for granted.

I hate Brian Taylor and Eddie McGuire when they commentate their teams. It is a conflict of interest that needs to be stopped.

Dermott and Jason need to go and do special comments for games that Hawthorn aren't playing in.

Dermott is a fool. He makes comments that he thinks are insightful but are either wrong or so obvious that everyone just cringes. Plus he says in 100 words what a better commentator could say in ten.

I'm surprised no-one has mentioned him yet, maybe because he is on Foxtel not 9 or 10.

I think Clinton Grybas is excellent...... a very talented commentator.

Originally posted by ****
I'm surprised no-one has mentioned him yet

Oops :eek: , that's probably because the thread is "Shocking Commentators"

I still think the worst commentators are on Fox Footy.

Jason Bennet- Can he say a players name without relaying how mnay stats they have had? Glorified stats man who knows little about the game

Matthew Campbell- Just plain shyte

Russell Greene- Someone teach the bloke to string some words into a sentence and that sentence make sense

Originally posted by goaldrush
I hate Brian Taylor and Eddie McGuire when they commentate their teams. It is a conflict of interest that needs to be stopped.
Just out of interest, which is BT's team?

Bruce used to always sound like he was having a pull during the game, and he seemed "over" exicted about everything.

Dermie seems to be pro-Hawthorn every time they are on T.V, someone sack the loser already.

Gary Lyon seems to be bored at non-Demons games, someone make him watch 100 hours of a soapie.

Eddie has problems sure, but atleast he's no pro-Collingwood, only when they start up on Collingwood.

Commetti too many smart little jokes, eventually he will end up like WWE's Jerry Lawler with his jokes tired and worn out.

Peter Daicos has a charisma by pass.

Anthony Hudson read above.

Steven Quartmain asks too many quesrtions, commentating is okay but I wouldn't rave about it

Robert Walls please shoot him.

Bring back Sandy Roberts :D lol

Originally posted by The Scarecrow
Bruce used to always sound like he was having a pull during the game, and he seemed "over" exicted about everything.

Dermie seems to be pro-Hawthorn every time they are on T.V, someone sack the loser already.

Gary Lyon seems to be bored at non-Demons games, someone make him watch 100 hours of a soapie.

Eddie has problems sure, but atleast he's no pro-Collingwood, only when they start up on Collingwood.

Commetti too many smart little jokes, eventually he will end up like WWE's Jerry Lawler with his jokes tired and worn out.

Peter Daicos has a charisma by pass.

Anthony Hudson read above.

Steven Quartmain asks too many quesrtions, commentating is okay but I wouldn't rave about it

Robert Walls please shoot him.

Bring back Sandy Roberts :D lol

On the ABC, Phil Cleary is a moron who thinks it's okay to decapitate a player as long as that player doesn't play for a traditional VFL team. Watch the 2002 finals, Paul Chapman in particular, if you don't believe me.

Drew Morfett is okay, but hardly ever gets a word in over the Bearded Burbler.

Seems to me that Daicos has been demoted to the seconds, he was commentating a VFL match last I heard him. About time too, he is the absolute worst.
It is so good to turn on Channel 10 and not be bombarded with "In the end", "Will go at goal, will go at goal- it is therrre".

Also, Stephen Silvagni is the worst special comments man to ever set foot in a commentary box. Honestly, a 6 year old kid could come up with the same "special comments" as SOS.

Example of SOS's "special comments"
"I reckon the midfielders have got to try and work a little bit harder to get the ball to the full forward more quickly. It is always an advantage to use the corridor when doing this, as it is the quickest way to the goals." :eek:

I reckon Clinton Grybas is fantastic, and I like the whole idea of the channel 9 commentary.
Ed, Dermie, Dennis, BT and Russell has a lot of class about it- it is original and a bit different. They may be annoying at times but give me these guys, ahead of any plain, stale and cliche commentary team, anyday.

For my money there's only two guys I would love to see doing the footy commentary, and they are the incomparable Roy Slaven & HG Nelson. I've heard them doing footy before and they were brilliant. There's nothing better than having a laugh whilst watching the footy.

Originally posted by Darealrath
...That whole 'doyan' tag that Ed gives him is way too much, he was just a WA game commentator on 7.

doyen - senior member of a group

As Commetti has far more experience calling footy games than anyone else in the Ch.9 box, the description is appropriate.

Bruce McAvaney was the best commentator.
Rex Hunt did a couple of TV games and I loved it. I didn't think his radio style calls would work on tv but they were great.
Anthony Hudson is a great commentator.
Dennis Cometti is one of my fav commentators.
Lou Richards was a great commentator in his time.. I loved listening to old games he called. Brings back memories.

Clinon Who??

Originally posted by ****
I'm surprised no-one has mentioned him yet, maybe because he is on Foxtel not 9 or 10.

I think Clinton Grybas is excellent...... a very talented commentator.

Clinton Who. That my response when I first heard him on 3AW football a few years back. But I have to agree he is the best commentator by far on radio and TV.

Cometti is great, some are decent (Lane) and others are terrible (Goassage, Eddie). But in saying that no commentator bothers me to the extent that I'd rather switch it to mute.