pauld

carlton
Seems that Medhurst of Freo may be available, any thoughts on getting him ?
Also, Beau McDonald is being mentioned.
We really need to look at our backline first, so the rumour of Mal Michael being available would be a good catch for us.
I believe that Whitnall, Campo, Fevola, Lappin and Houlihan should all go from our list.
Very harsh maybe, and would leave us short of experience. However, having had these players in the team the last two years along with the new kids have they really been worth their weight in gold ?
We should start fresh, as this side has proven over last two seasons that it is not capable of getting to the eight.
Bring in more promising kids, trade in a couple of young, yet experience players (Salopek, Bartel, Medhurst) and go from there.
We are desperate for tall and big bodies, so hopefully we will target those types. We can just not afford to go into 2006 with the same backline we had, way too short and underpowered to fend off the big forwards form the opposition teams.
If the Lappins, Whitnalls of the club feel they should keep being paid a Kings ransom for very little return in retrospect, let them go, bring in fresh blood and start again.
Surely with some wise trading and good picks from the kids draft we cant be worse than we have been in 2005........recruiters, get it spot on, and with our early draft picks we should finally be able to re-build the team and unearth a couple of stars to replace the underperforming Fevs and Whitnalls.
We can simply not afford to stuff up this draft, even if it is being mooted as the worse in some time. Bring in some talls, strong bodies, great attitudes and see where we can go in 2-3 years time..

I would certainly pursue Mal Michael.
Medhurst yeaaahhh/noooo well i'm 50/50 on that one depends at what cost.
Salopek yes.
Jimmy Bartel Yes.

I'm not sure about Mal Michael. Better to build a young backmen (like Kennedy) for an assault on the flag in a few years time as opposed to stop-gap measures with a player who won't be around next time Carlton is a serious threat to the flag.

The only young backmen that's attractive would be Polak, but his attitude is something we probably wouldn't want. You'd have to find out the reasons behind that.

I'd trade a lot to get Daniel Kerr.

Medhurst - no, not a priority as others are ahead of him on our wish list
Polak - maybe, attitude a worry but I think it may be a media beat up
Michael - yes, needs to be a priority
Salopek - yes, needs to be a priority
Bartel - yes, probably not likely to leave the Cats though
McDonald - maybe, would want our medicos to test him first
Kerr - yes, is elite and if a deal could be done we should chase him hard

Would love Kerr or Bartel but not likely. Salopek would be handy so to Michael and maybe McDonald. Polak I'm not sure about, would cost alot. Medhurst definitely no just because small froward pockets are not on top of our shopping list at the moment, would rather we chase genuine onballers and KPP/Ruckman.

Paddy Hicks said:

Would love Kerr or Bartel but not likely. Salopek would be handy so to Michael and maybe McDonald. Polak I'm not sure about, would cost alot. Medhurst definitely no just because small froward pockets are not on top of our shopping list at the moment, would rather we chase genuine onballers and KPP/Ruckman.

for the short tem Mal Michael might be a quick fix but fu.ck he is going to be asking for alot. How old is he? Is he realistically going to be around for much longer.

Paddy Hicks said:

Have to be realistic Paddy. We are not going to land huge names unless we trade Fev or Whitnall to them.
We could very well get Salopek cheaply or for nothing in the PSD. The problem with throwing money at blokes is that the Pies are there waiting as well and they have more cash and can use the Footy Show and endorsements to push there package to a player.
They are offering 500k to Bartel. Mick needs a big signing his contract finishes next year. Plenty of money and hungry for success.
I would take Medhurst for something small or in the PSD. Let other clubs fight over Polak, Hay, Grant, Bartel and so on.

I would just be happy to trade a few blokes for some very late picks if possible. Trade Whitnall. Keep all the draft picks and change about 8 players on the list who are dead wood.

mojo31 said:
Have to be realistic Paddy. We are not going to land huge names unless we trade Fev or Whitnall to them.
We could very well get Salopek cheaply or for nothing in the PSD. The problem with throwing money at blokes is that the Pies are there waiting as well and they have more cash and can use the Footy Show and endorsements to push there package to a player.
They are offering 500k to Bartel. Mick needs a big signing his contract finishes next year. Plenty of money and hungry for success.
I would take Medhurst for something small or in the PSD. Let other clubs fight over Polak, Hay, Grant, Bartel and so on.

I would just be happy to trade a few blokes for some very late picks if possible. Trade Whitnall. Keep all the draft picks and change about 8 players on the list who are dead wood.

Yes that's what I am saying. I would love Kerr, etc but it won't happen. Talking of trading Fevola is rubbish - he kicks our goals. He's worth another year at least. Whitnall trade yes. Lappin maybe and Camporeale maybe. Whitnall will get us draft picks. Get some kids in the draft, a decent PSD pick and maybe a trade for someone like Salopek if possible. I have said it all along, I would rather keep draft picks and not trade for all these "big name players". Hopefully promote Smith and Setanta, get Murphy and some other good kids and maybe a Michael or Salopek. Those guys alone are a huge improvement on our list than this year and last.

Paddy Hicks said:
Yes that's what I am saying. I would love Kerr, etc but it won't happen. Talking of trading Fevola is rubbish - he kicks our goals. He's worth another year at least. Whitnall trade yes. Lappin maybe and Camporeale maybe. Whitnall will get us draft picks. Get some kids in the draft, a decent PSD pick and maybe a trade for someone like Salopek if possible. I have said it all along, I would rather keep draft picks and not trade for all these "big name players". Hopefully promote Smith and Setanta, get Murphy and some other good kids and maybe a Michael or Salopek. Those guys alone are a huge improvement on our list than this year and last.

Lets wait and see how the finals go. If WC kick a low score and get beaten then they might make a huge play for Fev or Lance. If Adelaide get beaten and there forwards give them nothing they might make a play for Fev.
The Saints might win the flag and Gehrig, Harvey and a few others retire and make a play for Fev or even Lance.

mojo31 said:
Lets wait and see how the finals go. If WC kick a low score and get beaten then they might make a huge play for Fev or Lance. If Adelaide get beaten and there forwards give them nothing they might make a play for Fev.
The Saints might win the flag and Gehrig, Harvey and a few others retire and make a play for Fev or even Lance.

Thats all fine but that should not matter. From my point of view and I think in the CFC's best interest it would be to keep Fevola regardless. Trade Whitnall if possible, same for Lappin and Camporeale. The sole problems dont lie with those guys. It's our history of trades, drafting and salary cap. Thats where its all gone wrong, not with those 4 players. If they all stay, I'll still be a happy Carlton supporter.

My question to you mojo is are you prepared to trade both Lance and Fevola if the trade was big enough for the CFC? Lance yes, Fevola???

Paddy Hicks said:
Thats all fine but that should not matter. From my point of view and I think in the CFC's best interest it would be to keep Fevola regardless. Trade Whitnall if possible, same for Lappin and Camporeale. The sole problems dont lie with those guys. It's our history of trades, drafting and salary cap. Thats where its all gone wrong, not with those 4 players. If they all stay, I'll still be a happy Carlton supporter.

My question to you mojo is are you prepared to trade both Lance and Fevola if the trade was big enough for the CFC? Lance yes, Fevola???

I dont understand your point.

Supply and demand.

If WC or Adelaide come up short for the flag and see there forwards as the problem then they might be absolutely desperate to get someone.
Just like Geelong did for Ottens.
They gave up pick 16 and Maloney to get him.

I am not talking about trading Fev for market value. I am saying keep him for that. If a club like a WC or Adelaide are desperate for him then ask for above value for him. They pay it then strongly consider the trade.

market value for Fev is 2 picks in the first round.

Above market value for Fev from Adelaide or WC might be

Reilly + Hentscel + 1st round pick( 17/19)
Kerr + McConnell + 1st round pick (17/19)

Market value might be Kerr in straight swap or Reilly + 1st rounder.
I would not do it for that but would for one of those others.

For Lance I am prepared to swap him for market value. 1 first round pick + 1 decent youngish player.

Trading Fev should only be done for clubs who are desperate for him. The only clubs who might be in that situation in my opinion are WC, Adelaide and perhaps Freo. Fev will unlikely leave Victoria though.

I'd agree we shouldn't trade him for the sake of it. I'd say the same on Lance, but I think it's a given one is gone in this draft. If any Melbourne club joins that Fev race, I'd say it's Hawthorn.

If we give Fevola another year, and we get early picks next year, then they're probably worth more. The danger is, he doesn't kick 50 next year and he has more problems then his value drops. alternatively if the problems dry up and he has a really good year then we might as well keep him beyond next year.

Let's hope West Coast score three goals for the match on Saturday and they go insane and become willing to offer Kerr in a Whitnall deal with bells and whistles thrown in by Carlton (Cory McGrath for example.)

Paddy Hicks said:

Finally a supporter from another club being honest about Jimmy Bartlel,

WELL DONE :thumbsu:

Go for Saddington IMO....the forgotten man of the Swans' defence, a tall young (i think!) defender who we can get for real cheap.....get him

mojo31 said:
I dont understand your point.

Supply and demand.

If WC or Adelaide come up short for the flag and see there forwards as the problem then they might be absolutely desperate to get someone.
Just like Geelong did for Ottens.
They gave up pick 16 and Maloney to get him.

I am not talking about trading Fev for market value. I am saying keep him for that. If a club like a WC or Adelaide are desperate for him then ask for above value for him. They pay it then strongly consider the trade.

market value for Fev is 2 picks in the first round.

Above market value for Fev from Adelaide or WC might be

Reilly + Hentscel + 1st round pick( 17/19)
Kerr + McConnell + 1st round pick (17/19)

Market value might be Kerr in straight swap or Reilly + 1st rounder.
I would not do it for that but would for one of those others.

For Lance I am prepared to swap him for market value. 1 first round pick + 1 decent youngish player.

My point.......again...............don't trade Fevola!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I don't care what other clubs want for him, I wouldn't trade a guy like him who can kick 60 goals in the past 3 seasons in the worst side. In a half-decent side he is likely to kick close to 80+ goals in a season. Get it now?

I don't care if other clubs throw draft picks and players at the Blues, I'd rather keep Fevola, a guy who CAN kick heaps and heaps of goals rather than trade him for a MAYBE player! That is my point.

Paddy Hicks said:
My point.......again...............don't trade Fevola!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I don't care what other clubs want for him, I wouldn't trade a guy like him who can kick 60 goals in the past 3 seasons in the worst side. In a half-decent side he is likely to kick close to 80+ goals in a season. Get it now?

I don't care if other clubs throw draft picks and players at the Blues, I'd rather keep Fevola, a guy who CAN kick heaps and heaps of goals rather than trade him for a MAYBE player! That is my point.

Yep makes sense. Not logical at all though.

I would trade Fevola for Chris Judd, Jonathan Brown, Matthew Pavlich etc.

Would you?

I would trade every single player on the list if it improved the Carlton football club. Perhaps Jarred Waite would be the hardest to let go.

I support the club not Brendan Fevola.

Players come and go but the club still remains.

Paddy Hicks said:

I am sorry to break it to you but Fevola is a MAYBE player you talk about. He is no champion. He has huge question marks on him. Daniel Kerr has no such question marks on him. You really need to think about things a little more.

Hoping that Fevola will kick 80 is just that hope. Until he does it stop talking about it. He went backwards this year.

mojo31 said:
I am sorry to break it to you but Fevola is a MAYBE player you talk about. He is no champion. He has huge question marks on him. Daniel Kerr has no such question marks on him. You really need to think about things a little more.

Hoping that Fevola will kick 80 is just that hope. Until he does it stop talking about it. He went backwards this year.

What's your problem with Fevola mate? All I said is I wouldn't trade Fevola for draft picks because we need someone to kick our goals, surely you can even understand that!

Can Fevola kick 80 goals in a season? He's certainly more likely to in the next 1-2 years than draft picks ONLY becuase I believe at this stage Carlton can ill afford to offload someone that kicks most of our goals.

What are we talking about Kerr for? You have gone way off track and need to think about what the hell you are talking about as I sure don't. The whole Club went backwards this year, be realistic for once!

mojo31 said:
Yep makes sense. Not logical at all though.

I would trade Fevola for Chris Judd, Jonathan Brown, Matthew Pavlich etc.

Would you?

I would trade every single player on the list if it improved the Carlton football club. Perhaps Jarred Waite would be the hardest to let go.

I support the club not Brendan Fevola.

Players come and go but the club still remains.

What the...? What the hell are you talking about Judd, Brown and Pavlich for? Yeah, I'm sure we can get them...!

Paddy Hicks said:
What's your problem with Fevola mate? All I said is I wouldn't trade Fevola for draft picks because we need someone to kick our goals, surely you can even understand that!

Can Fevola kick 80 goals in a season? He's certainly more likely to in the next 1-2 years than draft picks ONLY becuase I believe at this stage Carlton can ill afford to offload someone that kicks most of our goals.

What are we talking about Kerr for? You have gone way off track and need to think about what the hell you are talking about as I sure don't. The whole Club went backwards this year, be realistic for once!

Where did I say to trade Fevola for draft picks. Please find the post where I did.

You attacked me over my proposed deals to WC and Adelaide. I said I would strongly consider a trade for Fevola if the offer was very big.

Your problem is that you think he is untradable. I dont think he is.

Go back and read it.

mojo31 said:
Where did I say to trade Fevola for draft picks. Please find the post where I did.

You attacked me over my proposed deals to WC and Adelaide. I said I would strongly consider a trade for Fevola if the offer was very big.

Your problem is that you think he is untradable. I dont think he is.

Go back and read it.

GO AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm not attacking you, I'm voicing my opinion as you are. I say we need Fevola and I wouldn't trade him. You say otherwise. That's fine, there's nothing wrong with that. Your views are always good to read but I'm sick of you thinking you are always right. You have serious issues in being able to have a normal discussion with someone.

Paddy Hicks said:
GO AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm not attacking you, I'm voicing my opinion as you are. I say we need Fevola and I wouldn't trade him. You say otherwise. That's fine, there's nothing wrong with that. Your views are always good to read but I'm sick of you thinking you are always right. You have serious issues in being able to have a normal discussion with someone.

in case you failed to keep up with things the chance of Fevola being at the club next year are dwindling fast.

Lance is very close to signing. Fevola is losing supporters fast at Carlton and his B+F antics and general behavour this year are a huge concern.
The club signed him for a big deal and he has gone backwards with his attitude after agreeing to the deal.
Pagan has stongly said as much.

"Brendan and I dont share the same football philiosphies" said Denis.

What do you think that all means.

1 month ago it would be 75% Lance is leaving and 25% Fev is leaving.

Now the odds would be swapped.

For the right deal he is gone.

Forget the 'potential' or match winner tag. The club is basically saying they cannot handle him anymore. Rightly or wrongly that is there view.

In my opinion I would trade Lance well before Fev but I am trying to be realistic.

Which is something lost on you at this stage.

mojo31 said:
in case you failed to keep up with things the chance of Fevola being at the club next year are dwindling fast.

Lance is very close to signing. Fevola is losing supporters fast at Carlton and his B+F antics and general behavour this year are a huge concern.
The club signed him for a big deal and he has gone backwards with his attitude after agreeing to the deal.
Pagan has stongly said as much.

"Brendan and I dont share the same football philiosphies" said Denis.

What do you think that all means.

1 month ago it would be 75% Lance is leaving and 25% Fev is leaving.

Now the odds would be swapped.

For the right deal he is gone.

Forget the 'potential' or match winner tag. The club is basically saying they cannot handle him anymore. Rightly or wrongly that is there view.

In my opinion I would trade Lance well before Fev but I am trying to be realistic.

Which is something lost on you at this stage.

That's fine mate. It may happen as you say but I have been talking from my point of view. Everyone does it. I would prefer to keep Fevola and trade Whitnall and IMO I think that might even happen. I can't see them getting rid of Fevola but as you say he may just go. Is there a problem with me saying this mojo?

Your issue is that you THINK you are part of the CFC board, match committee, or something and that what ever you say is gospel. Well sorry mate that I don't always agree with you but you need to deal with people not always thinking you're right because it happens from time to time to all of us.