Should We let Them catch Him?

There's been talk in the last couple of weeks, since Barry Hall retired, that Sydney could be chasing Fevola again. The idea of Fev in a Swans jumper actually makes me sick in the stomach, but when you sit down and think about it, it makes a bit of sense.If we could get their first round pick, AT LEAST, it would give us pick 6-8, as well as our own R1 pick, somewhere around 10-14. If we use at least one of these picks to grab a tall foward to develop for the future, and in the short term we could cover Fev quite well with O'hAilpin playing good football before his injury. With Warnock coming back from injury, and Hampson and Jacobs showing they can hold their own in the ruck, it can leave Kreuzer free to go up foward ,and with Bower, Austin or Hartlett playing CHB, could release Waite to go up foward. Add the smalls of Betts, Yarran, Garlett, Houlihan and Robinson, we will have a more balanced foward line.

I don't think we should actively seek Sydney out for a trade, Fev is more important than that, but if we are approached, we should at least look at what they are willing to give up for him. If there is at least a first round pick, I'm thinking we should.

Sydney has a habit of chasing big name full forwards that are getting past their prime. i don't think fevs will go there. i think lloyd would be more of a target or even jonathan brown from brissy. or for a smokey treadrea.

Are you serious?

Lloyd?
Brown?
Treadrea?

Will. Not. Happen.

More of a chance of Lockett coming out of retirment again.

Sydney wont chase Fevola. And if they do, what can they offer us for him? They need to keep all the gifted young kids and low draft picks they can get.

Our window for trading Fevola has passed. At best he has 3-4 years of good (and occasionally terrible) footy left in him. Cant see what any side would be prepared to offer (Bulldogs aside) that would be close to his value to us over the next 3-4 years.

Like him, Love him or Hate him, I reckon he'll retire at the Blues.

Are you serious?

Lloyd?
Brown?
Treadrea?

Will. Not. Happen.

More of a chance of Lockett coming out of retirment again.

Sydney wont chase Fevola. And if they do, what can they offer us for him? They need to keep all the gifted young kids and low draft picks they can get.

Our window for trading Fevola has passed. At best he has 3-4 years of good (and occasionally terrible) footy left in him. Cant see what any side would be prepared to offer (Bulldogs aside) that would be close to his value to us over the next 3-4 years.

Like him, Love him or Hate him, I reckon he'll retire at the Blues.

when lockett was first rumoured to go up to sydney. everyone said it wont happen but we all know what happened there. i reckon a high profile forward will be at sydney next year. who well thats anyones guess

Funny you start this thread because I keep hearing through a few guys that used to be associated with Carlton that Sydney are quietly chasing Fevola and are willing to offer ROK, their first round pick and possibly more for him...
Obviously Sydney can dare to dream but Fev's a blue for life.:thumbsu:

This in the week after Brendan has kicked his highest number of goals in a game ever.:confused:

Fev has stated he loves playing for Carlton and as such it's really up to him. Plus, his on again/off again relationship with his estranged wife Alex means he's anchored here in Melbourne (they have kid(s) together). Still, if he truly wanted to start a new life in Sydney with a Lara Bingle Mk II, the club would do well to respect his wishes than have a petulant full forward in decline who doesn't play for the jumper. This would also be the last year he has any trading currency (i.e. a first round draft pick.)

Why are we discussing this? Though Brendan may have shot his mouth off when his manager told him how much Sydney were allegedly offering him before his last contract, Fev loves Carlton and (for all his faults) Carlton loves Fev. My tip is he'll be a Blue for life.

While the big fella might have brain explosions every couple of weeks, but he bleeds blue and will be a one club player now.

He knows that our premiership window is starting to open and he wants to be there for it and possibly get a couple of premiership medals to go with his coleman(s).

There wouldnt be anything really for fev up in Sydney.

Sydney might chase him, but I can't see him leaving Carlton for the simple fact that he wants to play finals footy - something that Carlton has well and truly in their sights, and something that Sydney seem to be getting further and further away from.

As I have said previously, I really like the idea of Fevola at FF, Waite at CHF, and rotating Setanta/Kreuzer through as the third tall. Makes for a pretty dangerous and very athletic forward line.

when lockett was first rumoured to go up to sydney. everyone said it wont happen but we all know what happened there. i reckon a high profile forward will be at sydney next year. who well thats anyones guess

Big difference is Lloyd and Treadrea are both 32 next year. And both are well paid and both love their clubs. Both one club players. Both aren't going anywhere. To suggest otherwise it.... well wrong.

And if you think Brown is going to Sydney after signing a massive contract with the Lions last year, and clearly loves playing under Voss.

Will. Not. Happen.

Fev was a good chance for Sydney a while back. They'd be mad to consider it now however considering the state of their list. Pick up a 29 year old forward, for the expense of two good youg kids?

Madness.

this isn't the right draft to do it ... its expected to be very shallow this year

ok ... the first rounder "might" be ok ... the second rounder or anything after is a high chance not amounting to anything

funny how we are prepared to give up our key matchwinner (a guy every other team secretly would love and through jealousy try and find any excuse to try and get us to get rid of him) for a couple picks in a shallow draft ... when we gave up 2 good drafts in a super draft for a ruckman who is a speculative pick at best

slow news week? we should be concentrating on beating the swans!!!

I doubt we would get Okeefe and pick 7 for Fev.

Fev doesn't really have that long left and will be well into his twilight while we are competing for flags.

If we got pick 7 for Fev and took Butcher/Panos and Grifiths with our 2 first round picks, we could set ourselves up for a long time.

I doubt we would get Okeefe and pick 7 for Fev.

Fev doesn't really have that long left and will be well into his twilight while we are competing for flags.

If we got pick 7 for Fev and took Butcher/Panos and Grifiths with our 2 first round picks, we could set ourselves up for a long time.

With quite a few experts suggesting that our premiership window is just starting to open, I wouldn't think that the club would trade away our most important goalkicker, only to draft one that might take 2-3 years to come on and play some consistent footy at AFL level.

Fev won't be going anywhere.

With quite a few experts suggesting that our premiership window is just starting to open, I wouldn't think that the club would trade away our most important goalkicker, only to draft one that might take 2-3 years to come on and play some consistent footy at AFL level.

fev is our most important goalkicker because when he is having a good day we win but do you want to sit on gf day and watch fev give away 50m penalty, abuse teammates and just not give a sh!t. whats more important having a team that can win game or one player

....or maybe watch him kick 8, destroy the opposition, lift the entire team, win the game by himself and get a Norm Smith.......

Barry Hall's article from The Age website ........

Here's just part of it

http://www.theage.com.au/news/rfnews/get-fev/2009/07/16/1247337218463.html

Get Fev

I HAVE no idea what the Swans might be planning for next season in terms of recruitment, whether they are looking at chasing a big-name player or really want to focus purely on bringing more young kids in for the future. But throwing my 10 cents worth in, I would certainly be chasing hard to get someone like Brendan Fevola.

Would Fevola suit Sydney? I think Fev would fit anywhere. He's just a champion player, and I think he would also fit this market perfectly. Sydney likes someone a bit different to the standard footy player: a character with a big personality, who can also play a bit. Fev fits the criteria, there's no doubt, and if I was in Sydney's footy department I'd be doing whatever I could to see if there's any chance of doing that deal.

I know you would have to sacrifice a fair bit to get him, and this is the last uncompromised draft for a few years, and the club have said they want to focus on youth, but just maybe it would be worth it to bring someone like that in and remain a finals contender, especially considering all the talk about falling crowds and memberships, and with another team hitting the town very soon.

Fev will see out his career in the Navy Blue !!!!!!!!!

He isn't going anywhere so suck it up Paul Rooooooooooos

http://www.theage.com.au/news/rfnews/fevola-not-top-priority/2009/07/16/1247337218466.html

Fevola not top priority

SYDNEY has a forward line to rebuild and will have money to burn this trade period, but after signalling interest in Brendan Fevola once, the club says it has no intentions of doing so again.

"If Brendan Fevola was available for trade last year, would we have been interested, yeah, we would have been," Swans coach Paul Roos said yesterday.

But asked whether the club would go after Fevola again, Roos said: "As I sit here now, no, because he's signed up for three years.

While Roos and Sydney's football manager Andrew Ireland didn't ever meet Fevola when he was considering his playing options last year — the coach also categorically denied yesterday that the Carlton spearhead met the Swans' leadership group — Ireland last year told Fevola's management, Velocity Sports, that the Swans were interested in recruiting him. Twelve months later, Sydney faces life without two champion spearheads, Michael O'Loughlin, who will retire at season's end, and Barry Hall, a mid-season departure.

No No No

Why would we trade one of, if not THE most exciting player in the AFL. Fev brings the crowd in and most of the time he puts on a good show.

Unless he says he wants to leave the Blues, this is a terrible idea.

The Gold Coast can trade their picks cant they?
Next year we'll allow Fev to be their marquee player and we'll clean up in the mean time.

Thats fair enough and Fev is a star that could rip open a couple of finals matches. However, with Fev our window slightly closed after 3 years, if we drafted 2 KKP in the top 10 and one or both turn out to be good, in 3 years you could unhindge our window as it would be forever open.

Imagine 2014 when judd is still a star at 30 and all our no1s are tearing apart the comp as 25 year olds and we have 1/2 star big forwards.

It might seem crazy to get rid of our 2/3 best player...but he is 29 next year and has 3 years of eliteness left, if we scored a star youngster with pick 7 we could get 10/11 years of elitness.

That being said I would still prefer to keep Fev

I think there's a reasonable chance Fev can be effective well into his 30s, playing closer and closer to goal as he gets older. Players of his build (he's 100 kegs!) and style (powerful sprinter on the lead) can continue to be successful if they keep their body in good shape, ala Alastair Lynch, Tony Lockett, etc.

What we'll need to do is, of course, find a forward structure in front of Fev that works, but I think Fev can challenge for the Coleman for another 3 years, and still put up 60+ for a few years after that.

I think the time to trade Fev was a few years ago, and I was for it then (rightly or wrongly). Now, you gotta dance with the one who brung ya.

Thats fair enough and Fev is a star that could rip open a couple of finals matches. However, with Fev our window slightly closed after 3 years, if we drafted 2 KKP in the top 10 and one or both turn out to be good, in 3 years you could unhindge our window as it would be forever open.

Imagine 2014 when judd is still a star at 30 and all our no1s are tearing apart the comp as 25 year olds and we have 1/2 star big forwards.

It might seem crazy to get rid of our 2/3 best player...but he is 29 next year and has 3 years of eliteness left, if we scored a star youngster with pick 7 we could get 10/11 years of elitness.

That being said I would still prefer to keep Fev

You make a good point.

I also question how many years of "eliteness" we will get form Fev.

Have a look at the FF's who have gone onto to be very good in their early 30's.
Locket, Dunstall, Lloyd.....etc.

They have been consistently elite throughout the large part of their careers. I would say Fev had a gradual build. Has had a very good last 2 years, but did he peak last year? Clearly he doesn't find it easy to do the things that we all want him to do consistently. Even his "bread and butter" has been hard for him at times this year.

His form has dropped this year. Who is to say he didn't peak last year and he will drop away a little? He doesn't have the consistency of effort and game that these other "guns" had. Injuries are on his side, as he hasn't had many and that should prolong his career, but how good will he be?

His currency is at its maximum now, but if he drops next year a little then a form line indicates a downward trajectory and his stocks plummit.

I'm torn because I want him to stay.....but playing his best footy consistently. If we get pick 5ish and our pick 10ish......plus another good player.......ROK or Veszpremi..........geez it's a tempting carrot.:eek:

They can chase him all they like.

As far as we are concerned, Fevola is contracted to the Carlton Football Club.

Fevola would cost an arm and a leg for any club to take him off our hands.

More than they would be willing to offer, anyway.

Sydney have picked the worst time in the history of the AFL to bottom out.

The last thing they can afford to do is sell their future for a 29 year old key position forward, regardless of how good he is.

They need to embrace the draft like any normal club and stop going down the patch of recruiting seasoned veterans.

If we were to trade Fevola it would have been a few years back.

We won't gain anything from trading him just as we look to be pushing our way into finals for an extended period of time.

And Paul Roos should be sacked if he recruits Fevola.

He needs to swallow his pride and come to the realization that Sydney are done for the time being as a genuine finals contender.