tayls

Oct 4, 2004
Ablett Town
It was great to see Terry Wallace hype up the game for the weekend, but boy did he make himself look stupid.

How can he have a go at Brad Ottens for leaving for money when that is exactly the same way the tigers got Nathan Brown. Richmond "picked on the carcas" of the Bulldogs just as he says Geelong did to Richmond.

Also you must remember the play you made for Dean Solomon, same thing, people in glass houses should not throw stones.

Richmond have recieved more publicity than any other team over the pre season, not bad for WOODEN SPOONERS.

All Terry Wallace has done is make him and the Richmond Football Club look stupid and hypocritical.

Nice try Terry but remember Richmond are the bigest under acheivers in the competition and the only way to change that is to win games of football not sook at losing a player. Who can blame him for leaving Richmond they were a rabble at the end of last season just as they always are.

See you Sunday and you will see why we wanted Brad and he will make Wallace and the Richmond Football Club look even sillier than they already do.

tayls said:
How can he have a go at Brad Ottens for leaving for money when that is exactly the same way the tigers got Nathan Brown. Richmond "picked on the carcas" of the Bulldogs just as he says Geelong did to Richmond.

Is it worth me going over the key difference between the Ottens situation and Brown? I don't think I can be bothered, if you haven't got it by now you never will.

Good on Wallace I say, he's making a stand for the club, that sort of attitude that we won't be walked over will filter down to the players.

At least Nathan Brown was worth his weight in gold when we picked him up, and has proven a wise investment.

Wonder if Geelong will ever be able to say the same.

tayls said:
It was great to see Terry Wallace hype up the game for the weekend, but boy did he make himself look stupid.

Also you must remember the play you made for Dean Solomon, same thing, people in glass houses should not throw stones.

Richmond have recieved more publicity than any other team over the pre season, not bad for WOODEN SPOONERS.

All Terry Wallace has done is make him and the Richmond Football Club look stupid and hypocritical.

Nice try Terry but remember Richmond are the bigest under acheivers in the competition and the only way to change that is to win games of football not sook at losing a player. Who can blame him for leaving Richmond they were a rabble at the end of last season just as they always are.

See you Sunday and you will see why we wanted Brad and he will make Wallace and the Richmond Football Club look even sillier than they already do.

Judging by your preseason form and that of your boom recruit who was towelled up by an untried kid at essendon, we have little to worry about. Geelong grossly overachieved last year and you've lost your best goalkicker.

Please fill me in on how it was different, as if Brown didn't go for money and a change of scenery.

Agreed Brown has been worth it, time will tell if Ottens is.

Who cares about pre season form, i hope Richmond dont coz they were nothing special either.
The real stuff this weekend is all that counts, we will see.

tayls said:

Nice try Terry but remember Richmond are the bigest under acheivers in the competition

Keep in mind that no Richmond supporter threw any stones. Some bloke who wasn't even at our club when we recriuted Brown made that comment. From his perspective, he is right. HE did not pick over the Bulldogs Carcase, and what's more, Brown is less mercenary because he was happy to go to another struggling club, unlike Ottens who chases pretty lights.

As for being the biggest underachievers, do you actually follow footy?

How many premierships have Geelong got? ooops, forgot you don't have as many as us did you?

How about St Kilda, or the Bulldogs, with 1 premiership each and more spoons than any other clubs. Forgot them too?

Mind you, nothing wrong with a bit of one-eyed supporting. See you at the G!

Ghost of Punt Road said:
Keep in mind that no Richmond supporter threw any stones. Some bloke who wasn't even at our club when we recriuted Brown made that comment. From his perspective, he is right. HE did not pick over the Bulldogs Carcase, and what's more, Brown is less mercenary because he was happy to go to another struggling club, unlike Ottens who chases pretty lights.

As for being the biggest underachievers, do you actually follow footy?

How many premierships have Geelong got? ooops, forgot you don't have as many as us did you?

How about St Kilda, or the Bulldogs, with 1 premiership each and more spoons than any other clubs. Forgot them too?

Mind you, nothing wrong with a bit of one-eyed supporting. See you at the G!

I agree we have under achieved never said we haven't.
So what if Wallace wasn't at the club when they recruited Brown he knew what happened so it is the club as a whole that is the issue. Doesnt matter when Wallace arrived.
As for chasing lights, better to chase success than money. I bet if Brisbane offered Brown as much money as the tiges did he would have gone there.
See you at the G, will be a great game........as long as we win.

tayls said:
Please fill me in on how it was different, as if Brown didn't go for money and a change of scenery.

Brad Ottens twice told Terry Wallace that he wanted to stay at Richmond. Then contract negotiations were entered into, the money offered was not enough for him, and he chose to leave. Nathan Brown did not do the same.

If Brad had been open and honest from the start with Wallace, this would be a complete non-issue, but I'm sure every coach out there would be disspointed if a player did the same to them.

tayls said:
Agreed but be careful Terry if you create hype you need to live up to it.

All he's hyped up this week is the Brad Ottens issue, which means he doesn't have to live up to anything... If anything it's Ottens who has to live up to something this weekend..

I call it Jedi Mind tricks... and we all know that Sheedy is Master Yoda...

Colonel Matrix said:
All he's hyped up this week is the Brad Ottens issue, which means he doesn't have to live up to anything... If anything it's Ottens who has to live up to something this weekend..

I call it Jedi Mind tricks... and we all know that Sheedy is Master Yoda...
We will know what we are getting with Ottens a lot better after this weekend, it will be the perfect test for him.

Wallace is a great media player, there is nothing wrong with pumping up the game, adding some spice (even if its not there) and genrally promoting the Tigers. He is a showman, and will be great in generating media for the Club. Media leads to exposure, exposure leads to more eyeballs, more eyeballs potentially lleads to more supporters, which leads to more members, which leads to the darkside - Luke, I am your father!

Go Terry pump em up!

You are all nieve if you believe Wallace really thinks this!

Captain Blood said:
Wallace is a great media player, there is nothing wrong with pumping up the game, adding some spice (even if its not there) and genrally promoting the Tigers. He is a showman, and will be great in generating media for the Club. Media leads to exposure, exposure leads to more eyeballs, more eyeballs potentially lleads to more supporters, which leads to more members, which leads to the darkside - Luke, I am your father!

Go Terry pump em up!

You are all nieve if you believe Wallace really thinks this!
Yes correct but what it does not lead to is more wins. If you insert "more wins" at the front of that statement instead of showman, then getting wins on the board will get all that for you. What would you rather wins or just more attention.

That is the culture at Richmond right there you are happy to generate the headlines for anything but winning games of football.

Why did you say nothing about winning games because at the end of the dya that is all that matters, if you take care of that the rest will follow.

This is a post by Tayls on the Geepong board..

Tayls said:
If you want to check out the Richmond section i have gone on there in defence of Ottens and Geelong and had a go at Wallace just to see what will happen. Not much from the Tiges supporters to be honest, they should realise Wallace was saying the wrong thing.
We'll show them on Sunday.

Seems he came here fishing and sounds a lil upset he didn't get any real bites.

Yep thought i would throw out the line to see if there were any bites. Just like Wallace did yesterday.

It's all fun isn't it.

Here fishy fishy.

tayls said:

Leigh Colbert ring a bell? Exactly the same as ottens. You raised him, set him up, invested heaps in him, paid him a truckload and then he left. Ottens is exactly the same idiot.

tayls said:
Yes correct but what it does not lead to is more wins. If you insert "more wins" at the front of that statement instead of showman, then getting wins on the board will get all that for you. What would you rather wins or just more attention.

That is the culture at Richmond right there you are happy to generate the headlines for anything but winning games of football.

Why did you say nothing about winning games because at the end of the dya that is all that matters, if you take care of that the rest will follow.

We want wins, we want more members, we want premierships, like all Clubs.
Geelong fans should be careful when talking about Culture. A lot of Geelong fans on this site would not have been alive when Geelong won their last Premiership.

well done terry, hes left no doubt in my mind that the players of the RFC will stand up and have a red hot go for the club and jumper win/lose/draw, and as a supporter thats all u can ask.. We have nothing to lose, everyone knows were **********e, so go out and have a crack!

tayls said:
Exactly....... and your point is ?

Why do you think Sam Newman pretended to skull a bottle of Jim Beam ?

Because we would all be talking about it .

Oh the feeble minded

Silly comment Terry