Silly comment Terry

• Thread starter Thread starter tayls

i think what a lot of people are missing is the aspect of wallaces media conference was the reference to geelong picking at richmonds carcass...in a way he was saying that we are a GREAT club that has been down and out and we have a club that basically has no respect for us or the player in that fact....and we wont stand for it anymore......

he is using the age old adage of THEM AGAINST US MENTALITY, great to see terry on the front foot, expect to see much more of this during the year as he goes about trying to restore the fire in the belly for our more senior guys....ITS ALL ABOUT PRIDE in yourself and the club.....

interesting comment by brad ottens "club wont change much" im sure terry will be using this as a motivation as well because here we have a player that was paid well above what he should have and quite readily took the cash, not willing to repay the club in any shape or form.....at the same time by saying this comment also in my view having a dig at the players who are still there and these are the guys he played with for years again NO RESPECT for there decision to stay regardless of where the club sits.....

its time that we as a club STOOD up and shouted we are PROUD as tiger supporters and its time we reclaimed our place amongst the big boys.....
cant wait to hear the ROAR sunday as we give a good account of ourselves.....and trust me WE WILL....with a coach that is hungry for success and the heat of battle at last we are on the long road back......

EATEMALIVEIN05.......

tayls said:
Yes correct but what it does not lead to is more wins. If you insert "more wins" at the front of that statement instead of showman, then getting wins on the board will get all that for you. What would you rather wins or just more attention.

That is the culture at Richmond right there you are happy to generate the headlines for anything but winning games of football.

Why did you say nothing about winning games because at the end of the dya that is all that matters, if you take care of that the rest will follow.

the rest wont follow mate what is it 4 or 5 grandfinal losses, and still you guys have no culture apart from been labeled CHOKERS....

this is the cats MAJOR downfall and why you guys have failed in the big 1 because you are quite happy to just make it and think you have achieved something, when really its nothing to be proud of as all it instills into the football club is a CULTURE of second best will do.....lol

granted we have underachieved for over 20 years and most if not all tiger supporters will agree what we hate is it been thrown in our face from clubs that really havent achieved anything more.....and that feel they have a god given right to attack us for been LOYAL and PASSIONATE supporters....

so you guys continue CHOKING in the big 1's because it certainly wont be lost on our supporters if by chance we happen to snag 1 b4 you guys.....then expect to be ridiculed and cut off at the knees....
as the say what goes around comes around and its slowly coming around our way starting this year.....

Give him a handbag and some tissues and we can all enjoy a big Richmond win this weekend.

Everyone knows that Ottens belongs at Geelong. He is gutless, weak and overpaid.

How about St Kilda, or the Bulldogs, with 1 premiership each and more spoons than any other clubs. Forgot them too?

Steady on, we only have 3 spoons as opposed to St Kilda's 27.

tayls said:
I'll see you all back here on Monday and whoever has won will have the last laugh.
But tayls, you guys are expected to win, so the pressure is all on you. If you do win, what have you achieved, beaten last years wooden spooners as you so constantly have reminded us of in this thread, so nothing to brag about. If we win, advise you not to visit this board.

Why do you guys think Richmond is going to be a force anyway? Realistically, you've got 2 x 18 year olds, a hack ruckman and a new average coach and lost 3 experienced, talented players.

"I was there 1981-2004 when we were s**t"

I'll let you in in something, you're still s**t!

Swifty_446 said:
Why do you guys think Richmond is going to be a force anyway? Realistically, you've got 2 x 18 year olds, a hack ruckman and a new average coach and lost 3 experienced, talented players.

Sorry, didn't realise 'Footscray' were such a force... :o

Is there even a team called Footscray?

Captain_Brown_7 said:
Sorry, didn't realise 'Footscray' were such a force... :o

Is there even a team called Footscray?

Well, I can admit we're not all that great, but we're not printing t-shirts saying we're not ******** anymore when we haven't even played a match in the new season......

Typical Richmond though I suppose, I'd hate to think if you win this week....you'll be talking flags like every other year. "We're back, we're one of the big 4!"

tayls said:
I'll see you all back here on Monday and whoever has won will have the last laugh.

still doesnt change the fact geelong have choked when faced with chance of winning something substantial......its certainly a long time between drinks.....

Swifty_446 said:

Actually, it's more the fact we have a 17 year old, eight 18 year olds and seven 19 year olds, a good base of talented young kids that are going to take this club forward.

I know you're only having a go at us because you are very afraid that Richmond are starting to get their act together, but don't worry, you are far from alone out there.

Swifty_446 said:
Well, I can admit we're not all that great, but we're not printing t-shirts saying we're not ******** anymore when we haven't even played a match in the new season......

Typical Richmond though I suppose, I'd hate to think if you win this week....you'll be talking flags like every other year. "We're back, we're one of the big 4!"

I might have some money on us for the flag this year. I reckon now we've got Browny AND Plough, we're good things.

Swifty_446 said:

Oh yes, and the dogies are flag favourites, leave it out chump. So you've penciled 3 players, have you fogotten about the other 33 on the list. Apart from, where on here have Richmond fans mentioned the word force, if you want to read that, go visit the geelong site, delusion aplenty over there.

Now the three talented players you talk about - Mmmm - Ok - Otto, Fiona, and Zantuck I assume. Traded for pick 12 and 16, Traded for Simmonds, De-listed, so how did we loose again.

Swifty_446 said:

thanks for the reminder especially galling coming from a club that has achieved so little.....exactly what i was getting at in my other post....geez some people are silly or just plain dumb...u my friend fall into the later category.....

i dont think we as supporters are saying we will be a force this year or even next for that matter its opposition supporters like your goodself that puts it out there.... this is where it gets confusing either they are scared of the fact we might eventually become powerful again or perhaps just envy of our past success unlike your POWERFUL club.....

god help the opostion supporters if by chance we do achieve something in the next five years because once pandora's box is open its gonna be hard to shut it especially the tigerarmy......

EATEMALIVEIN05....

turtle27 said:
But tayls, you guys are expected to win, so the pressure is all on you. If you do win, what have you achieved, beaten last years wooden spooners as you so constantly have reminded us of in this thread, so nothing to brag about. If we win, advise you not to visit this board.
Fair point if you win i will put my tail between my legs a head off back down the highway and you wil not hear from me.

But there are plenty of your supporters here pumping up your chances, so yes we are expected to win but there are many Tiger fans who want to see a victory.

tayls said:
But there are plenty of your supporters here pumping up your chances, so yes we are expected to win but there are many Tiger fans who want to see a victory.
Off course we're pumping them up, they barrack fro Richmond, so what. If you try and tell me Geelong supporters wouldn't do the same, your nuts. It doesn't mean all of us expect the tigs to win, but we do expect a pretty good showing, and may surprise you, and a lot of other clubs this year.

And on top of that, all Richmond fans want to see a victory.

Swifty_446 said:

Were not $hit

We Were $hit

It's all about rebuilding, and the rebuilding has just started. Enjoy our time at the bottom while you can we will soon be rising fast then your sooking will be drowned out by the Tiger's Roar !!!

GO TIGES !!!

;)

tayls said:
Fair point if you win i will put my tail between my legs a head off back down the highway and you wil not hear from me.

flawed argument already as there is a difference between expecting and wanting to see a win.....

we arent expecting to win.....we want to see a victory as any supporter would as that is what supporting is all about....

wanting and expecting 2 different things in my book....its opposition supporters who are putting words in our mouths saying we are expecting to win when in actual fact we all want to win whether that happens is debatable....

tayls said:
Please fill me in on how it was different, as if Brown didn't go for money and a change of scenery.

Agreed Brown has been worth it, time will tell if Ottens is.

IMHO it is different because Brown never said publicly he wantd to stay at the Dogs. All he ever said was "I'll look at it at the end of the season"

Brad Ottens on the other hand said this on the 28th August '04 on TripleM and it was re-printed in the HUN on August 29th

Refer link: http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,10600017%5E19771,00.html

"It's my main priority. Staying my whole career at one club is pretty important to me and I'd love to stay a Tiger."
"Hopefully, we can get it all sorted out as soon as possible," Ottens said.

27 days later through his management group he said this:

as it appeared on From Foxsports.com.au:

"Ottens said Richmond had asked him to take a "substantial" pay cut and although he acknowledged his recent form was below his best, was not prepared to accept the proposed offer.

"The proposed reduction was above what he felt reasonable and indicated the club had lost faith in him," said a statement from his management Elite Sports Properties."

All Terry Wallace did yesterday was further confirm that Ottens had said would stay and then when the offer came in he said "I'm going". Brad's comments made it about the money.

Why did he say he wanted to stay if he had no intention of staying? That's the bit that's always irked me

WilliamPowell said:
IMHO it is different because Brown never said publicly he wantd to stay at the Dogs. All he ever said was "I'll look at it at the end of the season"

Brad Ottens on the other hand said this on the 28th August '04 on TripleM and it was re-printed in the HUN on August 29th

Refer link: http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,10600017%5E19771,00.html

"It's my main priority. Staying my whole career at one club is pretty important to me and I'd love to stay a Tiger."
"Hopefully, we can get it all sorted out as soon as possible," Ottens said.

27 days later through his management group he said this:

as it appeared on From Foxsports.com.au:

"Ottens said Richmond had asked him to take a "substantial" pay cut and although he acknowledged his recent form was below his best, was not prepared to accept the proposed offer.

"The proposed reduction was above what he felt reasonable and indicated the club had lost faith in him," said a statement from his management Elite Sports Properties."

All Terry Wallace did yesterday was further confirm that Ottens had said would stay and then when the offer came in he said "I'm going". Brad's comments made it about the money.

Why did he say he wanted to stay if he had no intention of staying? That's the bit that's always irked me

exactly why the about face....MONEY......it can do do silly things to people and make them do silly things.....but all in all he lied.......simple....

I hope Ottens has a good career at Geelong. I'll be happy if he has little input this Sunday, but in that case I'll just be amused rather than writing him off.
It'll probably take a couple of years before it's known whether his move is a good one for him.

When Ben Graham walked I think the realistic possibility of Geelong winning the 2005 premiership walked with him. Both Ottens and Graham in the forward line would have been very imposing, which brings me back to why I think how good the move is will take a couple of years.

To me, success is premierships. Obviously there are levels of success, like Geelong being such a good side and reaching multiple GF's in the '90's, but when it boils down to it they were ultimately unsuccessful.
If Geelong don't win a flag while Ottens plays there and Richmond do, and vice versa, then how good his move is will be known.

After his comments about how Richmond won't change I'm really hoping he can talk to Nathan Buckley after his career about how they both missed out on "success" because they moved clubs.

Look, this might've already been brought up in this thread.. frankly I couldn't be arssed reading each one.. however, when Terry was having a go at Brad for leaving and I paraphrase, due to 'being greedy and chasing the dollar,' I found that ironic.. Mr Wallace, what was your sole purpose of leaving the Dogs..before the end of the season!!?

Sydney had been having talks with your management, and yes, you were offered very handy dosh to leave and make your decision WHILE the home and away season was still in progress!! Hence, your credibility took an absolute battering.. However, Sydney stuffed up and had to pay you out a lump sum as the common folk in NSW revolted against this and were content to have P.Roos.

And what was you're excuse to leave the poor Doggies anyway?? I recall you saying you needed a change of scenery to bring about new spark in your coaching career.. Ottens here gave a very similar answer.. so as one and many have said.. those in glass houses...

R Man said:
Look, this might've already been brought up in this thread.. frankly I couldn't be arssed reading each one.. however, when Terry was having a go at Brad for leaving and I paraphrase, due to 'being greedy and chasing the dollar,' I found that ironic.. Mr Wallace, what was your sole purpose of leaving the Dogs..before the end of the season!!?
You should have bothered to read the thread. It would have saved you posting. :)

Wallace, and Brown for that matter, never said they wanted to stay. Ottens did, and what has irked people about that is it seems he obviously didn't mean it.

Also, your facts are a bit off with regards to Wallace. No argument he was in talks with Sydney whilst still coaching the Dogs, but he didn't have any sole purpose of leaving before the end of the season.
The news emerged before round 22 and the Dogs told him to leave.

geelong's answer to their dominant forward (or lack of) was recruiting a guy with back problems, who averaged 1.1goals a game.