Fred Phillis

Glenelg
What's yr silliest/kitschiest Crows memorabilia?
Mine is a set of schooner glasses with horrible painted/printed pictures of players on them...given as a gift, of course!
one glass features chris mcdermott and shaun rehn (two players on the one glass), another tony mcguinness and tony modra.
the prints/paintings are horrific in terms of likeness to the players, barely recognisable - so bad they've got pride of place on the bar and will never be thrown out!
i rate them higher than a claude the crow flashing badge ;)

Fred Phillis said:
What's yr silliest/kitschiest Crows memorabilia?
Mine is a set of schooner glasses with horrible painted/printed pictures of players on them...given as a gift, of course!
one glass features chris mcdermott and shaun rehn (two players on the one glass), another tony mcguinness and tony modra.
the prints/paintings are horrific in terms of likeness to the players, barely recognisable - so bad they've got pride of place on the bar and will never be thrown out!
i rate them higher than a claude the crow flashing badge ;)

Know exactly where you are coming from Fred, i got a set as well given to me as a present. (u and i must have the only 2 sets sold !!). I can remember getting them, putting on this cheesy fake smile and saying "Thanks, i was looking at buying a set of those"

You can't tell me that no one has the bottle opener that sings the club song! :p

Crows Doorbell....:o

Kept all my season memberships/plastics and GF tickets since 1991.

A Rodney Maynard drink serving tray.....:rolleyes: :o

A lady who works with my Dad knitted our Dog a Jumper for winter in AFC colours. My wife makes him wear it while we're watching Away games on TV.

How embarrasment.....:D

Mad Dog said:
Crows Doorbell....:o

Kept all my season memberships/plastics and GF tickets since 1991.

A Rodney Maynard drink serving tray.....:rolleyes: :o

A lady who works with my Dad knitted our Dog a Jumper for winter in AFC colours. My wife makes him wear it while we're watching Away games on TV.

How embarrasment.....:D

HEHE...that wouldnt be so bad MD if it was rocket who was serving the drinks :thumbsu:

I think in the early days i may have even bought one of those Crows head bands ala Pat Cash style

CROW4ME said:
Know exactly where you are coming from Fred, i got a set as well given to me as a present. (u and i must have the only 2 sets sold !!). I can remember getting them, putting on this cheesy fake smile and saying "Thanks, i was looking at buying a set of those"

am glad i'm not the only one with them :D
am envious of the rodney maynard tray though :o

Crows Slippers

I have the bottle opener as well and two stubby holders that play the Club song.

Best has to be the Showdown Final Match Ball though from picking the winning margin. 83 points who would have thought it!!

Mad Dog said:
:D

I actually think it's a Pirate......:eek:

Probably not official merchandise - from memory I picked it up at a Sunday Market stall.....

....hence limited edition status......:D

rocket was always an attractive man and he's growing old gracefully :rolleyes:

We are the kings of crows kitchness in this household.:o Crows doorbell (which chews batteries like no tomorrow), crows bottle opener (that works in fits and starts), crows bar mat, Claude Crow gracing the bar, a "Crows Members and Players ONLY" sign, a "replica Crows guernsey" with #1 on it and a "happy fathers day daddy" message printed on the front, both signed WEG posters from 97/98, signed 98 grand final footy, oh and we kept the coca-cola drink bottles from 98 GF AND the plastic bib type things they handed out at the 97 and 98 GF. Crows car seat covers too! My son has all the Crow Baby memorabilia. AND I have a huge drawful of Crows newspaper clippings that my MIL has sent up over the years.

I got given a pianted ostrich egg with the crows logo and painted in our colours when I was young. Also have the big fat slippers :thumbsu: they are so cool (well warm), and just thinking up some other wacky things, a jester hat, and book ends (the things you use to stand up books). Much other merchandise, but all pretty standard...5/6 guernseys, t shirt, travelling shorts, socks, beanies, scarves, jacket, 3 flags, 2 footies, knitted rug, teddies, not to mention framed back to back premiership poster :thumbsu: etc

It doesn't really count, but when I was in high school I used to keep condoms in a crows wallet I had in my bedside drawer... then one day my mum needed to borrow some change whilst I was out...

maccas_no1 said:
I have a nut and it has a knitted beanie in crows colours and then says underneth 'I am and Adelaide nut':o :o

HAHAHA thats the funniest thing I have heard, and also one of the cutest.
As for my collection;

I have a pair of hand-knitted crows bedsocks,:cool: that are um too big but I wear them anyway. A hand knitted scarf, a hand-made wooden box that holds pencils, painted and logoed.....

hmmm posters and lots of pics, signed Farmers Union posters (after 97), mitre 10 posters etc.

The 97/98 t-shirts signed (what was mum thinking).....I use to wear them everywhere too!!!
But other than that its not too bad.

I do have 2 melbourne shot glasses (with handles) and a Micahel Voss locker(?)....dont know y, theyve been given to me I spose cos im a footy nut!
:)

Fred Phillis said:
hehee...that response brought not one of these fake :D but a real smile to my face

Haha would of thought you were asking for it with a comment like that........
especially when it was directly under MY post!:p:thumbsu:
:)

just the junky stuff here, Bottle opener, clothing, coffee mug, and pens, sunnys ETC.

But, I was at a fellas house at Hove a years ago (about 96) who had a blank white jumper that had signatures of every player that trained with the crows during their 1st preseason.
Possibly the best piece of crows memorabilia that will ever exist IMHO.

CROW4ME said:
I think in the early days i may have even bought one of those Crows head bands ala Pat Cash style
Yeah, I've got two of them. One from a few years ago and one from 1991.

My scarf and head band are the only things I have left from 91 that I'm aware of. I don't wear scarves to the footy anymore but when I went to Canada I did take it with me so there's a photo of me skiing with my 91 Crows scarf taken on NYE last year.

There might be other stuff packed away in boxes. I did have a jumper that my great grandma knitted for me (I was the only great grandchild bestowed with such an honour - all of her grandchildren got one of their respective favourite teams) with 13 on the back for Scott Lee. :D

I'd love to find that coz I doubt that would've been thrown out. I've seen pictures of me in it and the thing is tiny!