cobba

Suspended
ManU, Melb Victory, Storm
Does anyone think that simmo could play colbys role next season? They are about the same height and simmo has courage like colby and takes a good mark. This would also able us to play a few more younger players in the middle like haro, trots, and wells a bit more

thoughts?

cobba said:
Does anyone think that simmo could play colbys role next season? They are about the same height and simmo has courage like colby and takes a good mark. This would also able us to play a few more younger players in the middle like haro, trots, and wells a bit more

thoughts?

Yeah, Simmo should play one part of Colby's role. That is not being captain !

cobba said:

thoughts?

I agree that Simmo has courage and takes a good mark but I reckon he is and plays shorter than Colby. I have sometimes thought that he may end his career on the HB flank but for now leave him in and around the action. He has his critics (even he would agree he is not a great kick I suspect) but he is still one of our best ball winners.

Colby's role may disappear next year (except for special occasions) if our new recruits can strengthen our defence.

Nevbuster said:

I reckon you would have complained that North didn't push for Paul kelly to be thrown into the Carey-Longmire $50,000 deal.

There sure are some negative ********s around here.

On the topic, Simmo doesn't strike me as being the same size as Colby - but Colby seemed to grow much bigger overnight (as compared to his Geelong days).

He can definitely read the play. He is a fantastic overhead mark. Not a bad suggestion on the back flank.

however I think we are underestimating his value in the midfield. Sure, he had a quiet year by his standards, but he shut down a lot of player while getting a little less of the footy. Simmo is still a gun and an awesome leader.

Colbert 192cm
Simmo 186cm

Is this for real?

Simmo will be part of our midfield next year, and as for captain :rolleyes:

Bar Archer, no one else is suited to being captain.

Nevbuster said:
Oh it's been a long day... humour me, who should be captain then, oh wise one?

year of the roo said:
Oh it's been a long day... humour me, who should be captain then, oh wise one?
Shannon Watt.

Firrito24 said:
Simmo > Boomer as Captain.

Simmo is inspirational. I love a captain that leads his team and leads by example, not outside players who collect cheapish possies.....not meaning to down play Boomer, he is a dead set gun, but not right for captain.

The Zebra said:
I reckon you would have complained that North didn't push for Paul kelly to be thrown into the Carey-Longmire $50,000 deal.

There sure are some negative ********s around here.

On the topic, Simmo doesn't strike me as being the same size as Colby - but Colby seemed to grow much bigger overnight (as compared to his Geelong days).

He can definitely read the play. He is a fantastic overhead mark. Not a bad suggestion on the back flank.

however I think we are underestimating his value in the midfield. Sure, he had a quiet year by his standards, but he shut down a lot of player while getting a little less of the footy. Simmo is still a gun and an awesome leader.
And he still finished 4th in the B & F.....

Mr Reliable said:
And he still finished 4th in the B & F.....

Exactly.

Every coach in the league would love him, but I am sure the Nevbuster knows best.

The Zebra said:
Every coach in the league would love him, but I am sure the Nevbuster knows best.
For Pete's sake, it's getting so that anyone with an opinion that differs from our own is getting shot down these days. I take exception to the personal bagging, the accompanying sarcasm and the inevitable chants of "you're being negative". Just waiting to be called "precious" now! :rolleyes:

I'd rather Harvey as captain over Simpson and for me, Simpson's poor disposal (and the poor example it sets) is one important reason along with the fact that I don't think he does anything individually which practically or psychologically 'turns a game'. Does a captain have to have this attribute? Some would say no, but I believe it's important. The criteria and the assessment of their importance are, clearly, a personal view and at the end of the day, Dean's view is the one that matters most here.

I'm not denying Simpson's courage, his ball-winning ability and even his capacity to read the play. I do, however, believe that he is past his prime and that while he's around, he would serve the club best as part of the leadership group, not necessarily as captain. Captains are guaranteed a game and I wonder if that may not be a liability for us from 2006 onwards. I think Harvey would 'grow into the role' the way most captains do.

I'm sure we can all find reasons and evidence to support different views on this. Can we do away with the personal attacks?

On the thread topic, I don't think Simmo can take Colbert's role, but a move back somewhere could be good in due course.

if simmo is going to hand over captaincy after next year the best player it should go to is either boomer harvey or shagga grant but if i had to choose i'd have to say shannon grant

Kimbo said:
For Pete's sake, it's getting so that anyone with an opinion that differs from our own is getting shot down these days. I take exception to the personal bagging, the accompanying sarcasm and the inevitable chants of "you're being negative". Just waiting to be called "precious" now! :rolleyes:

I'd rather Harvey as captain over Simpson and for me, Simpson's poor disposal (and the poor example it sets) is one important reason along with the fact that I don't think he does anything individually which practically or psychologically 'turns a game'. Does a captain have to have this attribute? Some would say no, but I believe it's important. The criteria and the assessment of their importance are, clearly, a personal view and at the end of the day, Dean's view is the one that matters most here.

I'm not denying Simpson's courage, his ball-winning ability and even his capacity to read the play. I do, however, believe that he is past his prime and that while he's around, he would serve the club best as part of the leadership group, not necessarily as captain. Captains are guaranteed a game and I wonder if that may not be a liability for us from 2006 onwards. I think Harvey would 'grow into the role' the way most captains do.

I'm sure we can all find reasons and evidence to support different views on this. Can we do away with the personal attacks?

On the thread topic, I don't think Simmo can take Colbert's role, but a move back somewhere could be good in due course.

Feel free to have a difference of opinion. But it is my opinion that your reasoning for forming the opinion that you have lacks substance and any sort of football knowledge whatsoever. Perhaps you being in WA has something to do with it, as there is more to being a captain than simply what he does with a football, so being so far from Arden Street you might be missing something.

Very precious, Kimbo :D

year of the roo said:
Feel free to have a difference of opinion. But it is my opinion that your reasoning for forming the opinion that you have lacks substance and any sort of football knowledge whatsoever. Perhaps you being in WA has something to do with it, as there is more to being a captain than simply what he does with a football, so being so far from Arden Street you might be missing something.

Happy to be corrected by someone so steeped in mental prowess, thanks yotr! BTW, your mum wears army boots! :p Next?!

year of the roo said:

Be careful yotr!

I think scottywiper,benno, etc and myself might not be happy with comments like "you living in WA might have something to do with not having any football knowledge" might come back to haunt you.
You never know one day we might meet you.:eek:
It might be a WA thing but i would like Boomer to be our next captain too.

spurs said:
Be careful yotr!

I think scottywiper,benno, etc and myself might not be happy with comments like "you living in WA might have something to do with not having any football knowledge" might come back to haunt you.
You never know one day we might meet you.:eek:
It might be a WA thing but i would like Boomer to be our next captain too.
Next captain.....but not next year.

F/D said:
Next captain.....but not next year.
Simmo should go back to being a tagger, and let the blokes who have better disposal to be the ball winners. I think Boomer should be captain, because at times Simmo's decision making and disposal is at times very questionable. On a few ocassions in 2005 he was running down the wing free, once he took two bounces (one too many) and got caught, the other he had Petrie 30m from his man and stuffed the kick which ended up in a goal for the opposition. He knows he has poor disposal and openly admits it, even to the point of texting Thommo when he was traded with "I look forward to kicking helicopter punts to you". Myself and other friends yell handball whenever he gets the ball. Yes he is a leader, but not the right choice as Captain.

I would have Boomer as the captain from 2006-2008, with say Firitto or Daniel Harris taking over.

Vertical Stripes said:
Simmo should go back to being a tagger, and let the blokes who have better disposal to be the ball winners. I think Boomer should be captain, because at times Simmo's decision making and disposal is at times very questionable. On a few ocassions in 2005 he was running down the wing free, once he took two bounces (one too many) and got caught, the other he had Petrie 30m from his man and stuffed the kick which ended up in a goal for the opposition. He knows he has poor disposal and openly admits it, even to the point of texting Thommo when he was traded with "I look forward to kicking helicopter punts to you". Myself and other friends yell handball whenever he gets the ball. Yes he is a leader, but not the right choice as Captain.

I would have Boomer as the captain from 2006-2008, with say Firitto or Daniel Harris taking over.
I disagree.

Simmo does courageous stuff tp lift the team.

Bruised ribs agaisnt Crows and also he ran 40 metres and dived and spoiled the ball from the Eagles dude and from there we came back...the crowd roared....

I doubt Harvey would do that.

Kimbo said:

You are being precious.
Nevbuster's comment wasn't a "i would prefer Harvey of Simpson becuase...", it was a smart-arse line that implied Simpson was no good. Nothing wrong with returning serve on that.

This "let everyone have their opinion and respect it" crap it just that. Crap.

Some opinions deserve no respect.
This is an internet chat board, not the UN. Personal attacks are actually just attacks on usernames. Nothing to cry over.

Happy to have simmo as leader, but for a club that needs all the attention it can get in terms of membership and sponsors, perhaps its time for a player with a higher media profile to step up. Being from tassie Im not privvy to all that happens on and off the field, but shags and wellsy could be the guys to drum up the attention we need. They are the names on everyones lips when the club is mentioned. People without a set following to a side can be drawn to follow clubs with these sort of players (i.e, Buckley, Hird, Cousins).

The Zebra said:
You are being precious.
Nevbuster's comment wasn't a "i would prefer Harvey of Simpson becuase...", it was a smart-arse line that implied Simpson was no good. Nothing wrong with returning serve on that.

This "let everyone have their opinion and respect it" crap it just that. Crap.

Some opinions deserve no respect.
This is an internet chat board, not the UN. Personal attacks are actually just attacks on usernames. Nothing to cry over.
Two responses here. One, on this thread, in line with your own discursive preference, the other in a new thread.

Z: You are being precious.
K: You are being predictable.
Z: Nevbuster's comment wasn't a "i would prefer Harvey of Simpson because...", it was a smart-arse line that implied Simpson was no good.
K: Actually, it implied nothing. Nevbuster simply suggested he didn’t think Simpson should be captain, but you seemed to have inferred much more than that.
Z: Nothing wrong with returning serve on that.
K: Who’s to say what’s “right” or “wrong”, but the kneejerk reaction and personal attacks seem inappropriate to me.
Z: This "let everyone have their opinion and respect it" crap is just that. Crap.
K: Saying it’s crap doesn’t make it so, except in your own head. Any reasoning for this?
Z: Some opinions deserve no respect.
K: Keep posting like this and I’m inclined to believe you. But seriously, I can understand why we’d all consider some opinions lacking in credibility, but it’s my view that every person deserves respect. Even you!
Z: This is an internet chat board, not the UN.
K: Is this exaggeration meant to suggest we should have no guidelines or principles for how we behave? I suggest if we all acted as if this were true, the place would fall apart pretty soon. Not as a matter of moral “right/wrong”, just simply as a matter of practicality.
Z: Personal attacks are actually just attacks on usernames. Nothing to cry over.
K: Who’s crying? (And why am I even debating with a “username”?)

Simmo could play across half back but it wouldn't be in Colby's role. Colby played most of his footy at Center half back and then moved to a looser role only in the last year or so when his body slowed down . I couldn't immagine Simmo ever playing at CHB so I don't see how a comparison can be made. Colby was a fantastic mark across half back and regularly beat tall opponents. Simmo is also a fantastic mark for his height but i doubt he would beat Key position playes like Colby did.
The player i would have in Colby's role is Leigh Brown however he is also our best option for CHB so I guess we will wait and see.

Just on Captain I would stick with Simpson as he has excellent leadership qualities and is a highly consistant performer with great mental toughness. Harvey is a bit too hot and cold for me and sometimes he doesn't show the right body language. He also likes to be a bit of a show pony at times and of course has been in trouble at times over staging for free kicks. I love Boomer's running and all round ball skills but I've never thought of him as having great leadership skills.
In the future i can see someone like a Mick Firritto being captain but for now I think Simmo is doing the job well.

Also agree with Kimbo on respecting other posters opinions. Personal attacks are childish and pointless.

Angus1 said:
Simmo could play across half back but it wouldn't be in Colby's role. Colby played most of his footy at Center half back and then moved to a looser role only in the last year or so when his body slowed down . I couldn't immagine Simmo ever playing at CHB so I don't see how a comparison can be made. Colby was a fantastic mark across half back and regularly beat tall opponents. Simmo is also a fantastic mark for his height but i doubt he would beat Key position playes like Colby did.
The player i would have in Colby's role is Leigh Brown however he is also our best option for CHB so I guess we will wait and see.

Just on Captain I would stick with Simpson as he has excellent leadership qualities and is a highly consistant performer with great mental toughness. Harvey is a bit too hot and cold for me and sometimes he doesn't show the right body language. He also likes to be a bit of a show pony at times and of course has been in trouble at times over staging for free kicks. I love Boomer's running and all round ball skills but I've never thought of him as having great leadership skills.
In the future i can see someone like a Mick Firritto being captain but for now I think Simmo is doing the job well.

Also agree with Kimbo on respecting other posters opinions. Personal attacks are childish and pointless.
Good post.

I agree that Boomer's staging and acting doesnt look good but the thing going for him, is most of the time it pays off...

Firrito, Harris, Brown, Wells, Trotter are all players I see as leaders... Smith also has leadership skills, which he has shown at U/18 level....