len_jet

Not wishing to dampen a solid last week in the clubs progress back up the ladder, just want to convene what I have heard and to portray some suspicions that I have...

Thornton resigning for three years, Russell resigning for two along with blackwell and wiggins... Pagan loses his right hand man, Ratten joins the club and Silgvani a much stronger chance to join now with his former team mate down there...

Is anyone else sensing the push for pagan to leave... I mean wasnt there talk that Thornton didnt want to be there, amoung other things, because of Pagan and then to resign for three years instead of say one, someone may have assured him that Pagan might not be there soon. It seems to me that the wheels are in motion and come the end of the year Pagan might just not be there...

I'm by no means trying to sledge the progress the club has made over the last week, it has been fantastic but remember that hard work was done my malouf and grant williams, pagan's name hasn't been raised at all...

Thoughts?

Hmmm, i dont know. The club has assured him 2 havnt they. I wanted him gone then, but the club was at a bad time and instead of saying one said two. The past week has been the clubs best in a while and everything has been in our favour. But i think unless we can considerably improve pagan gone in 2

Personally I can't see Pagan lasting till the end of 07 unless we have an exceptional season next year (8 wins+)

The two scenarios are that the Brown ticket gets into power. And will either sack Pagan immediately or give him about half the season to get results and then sack him. It seems illogical to sack a coach halfway thru pre-season but frankly with the hiring of Ratten, Brown now has a perfect candidate for the job.

The other scenario is that Smorgon remains in power and potentially issues a similiar ultimatium to Pagan. I reckon he'd last out the year with Smorgon in charge and then be sacked to make way for a new coach unless he has a very good year.

IMO though, the re-signings of Thornton and Russell have little to do with PAgan. I think Russell contemplated leaving to go back home and Thornton's situation was due to poor contract negotiations from the board. And I couldn't see Blackwell or Wiggins leaving regardless.

Pagan must stay. Hill get you up ther. Dont worry! It takes time, because your board changed the team into a bloody dumpster. Youll get better. I assure you.

Yeah, it all doesn't sound too good for Denis. Everything seem sto be falling into place for Pagan's departure in the next year or so. It seems likely but very doubtful that Pagan will hit the road come late December/early January if a Fraser Brown challenge to the board is successful. He has said he will help pay out at least half of Pagan's remaining contract.

Thornton signs on for 3, while Blackwell, Russell and Wiggins all sign on for 2. Then Gavin Crosisca and Brett Ratten are signed on as new assistant coaches for 2007. Will be interesting to see what happens.

bluesfan said:
Yeah, it all doesn't sound too good for Denis. Everything seem sto be falling into place for Pagan's departure in the next year or so. It seems likely but very doubtful that Pagan will hit the road come late December/early January if a Fraser Brown challenge to the board is successful. He has said he will help pay out at least half of Pagan's remaining contract.

Thornton signs on for 3, while Blackwell, Russell and Wiggins all sign on for 2. Then Gavin Crosisca and Brett Ratten are signed on as new assistant coaches for 2007. Will be interesting to see what happens.

Forgot about crosisca! That adds fuel to my doubts about Pagan....

Pagan is staying. Cant beleive the stuff that goes on around here, people just cant help themselves. The ONLY reason that there has been a question over Pagan is because people cant understand the damage done by previous administrations and the afl. Singling out people for blame is pathetic. It has beena rough road and we certainly saw the ugly underside of both administration and supporters. Things got a bit hard and people just showed how weak they were.

I dont think we need any more of this, let it go. We have been over this a million times. Pagan had his first opportunity to pick up players last year, and again this coming draft. So lets see how he performs with some actual talent in the team rather than the collective buch of amatuers we had been struggling with. After he has been given a chance then maybe you have a point. But until then lets leave "eating our own" to the tigers and saints.

Nothing like a bit more rumour-mongering to try and destabilise the club after a good few weeks of solidarity. Considering how many players at Carlton allegedly dislike Pagan, it would seem strange that not one Carlton player has walked. So many out of contract with the opportunity to vote with their feet and they just keep re-signing with the club. The appointment of Crosisca & Rats as assistant coaches certainly points towards Pagan seeing out the final 2 years of his contract and then one of them succeeding him as coach.

Sorry to burst the bubble of the anti-Pagan forces, but his position is stronger now than it was a month ago. How about accepting that the club is finally starting to get its act together and is ready to start the climb back towards the upper regions of the AFL ladder. Get behind the club instead of white-anting it ( if you are reading this Fraser Brown, that means you too).

we have some very strange individuals posting on here. How can you possibly fathom that Pagan is going to be sacked when everything has gone so well over the last few weeks?

Smorgan, Kernahan and Pagan came out and said they have a plan and they will execute that plan. They have been executing the plan with great success. Based on that success, Pagan is going to be sacked?

chelsworthgale said:
Thornton resigning for three years, Russell resigning for two along with blackwell and wiggins... Pagan loses his right hand man, Ratten joins the club and Silgvani a much stronger chance to join now with his former team mate down there...

Mark my words, Ratts will be the next senior coach of the Carlton Football Club!

Not a snowflakes chance in hell Pagan will get another contract. I think the term is Dead Man Walking.

as0l0 said:
we have some very strange individuals posting on here. How can you possibly fathom that Pagan is going to be sacked when everything has gone so well over the last few weeks?

Two words. Fraser Brown.

IF he gets into power, I just cannot see how Pagan will survive considering how he has reportedly offered out to pay Pagan's contract and that he now has one of his mates as an assistant coach potentially being primed to take the senior role.

Badabing said:
Would love to see SOS give it a go.

I would say as the days go by, its becoming less likely that SOS will be at the Blues next year. With all the speculation earlier on he still remains unsigned and this would probably mean that he is looking into coaching elsewhere. Hope I'm wrong as I would love to see him at the club next year though.

deluxeman said:
Two words. Fraser Brown.

IF he gets into power, I just cannot see how Pagan will survive considering how he has reportedly offered out to pay Pagan's contract and that he now has one of his mates as an assistant coach potentially being primed to take the senior role.
Fraser Brown has no chance of getting into power. The positives that have come out of MC Labour Park over the last couple of days, on top of how the club conducted itself during trade week, demonstrates that the club, led by Smorgon is starting to grow in confidence and self belief.

Fraser Brown trumpeted bring the likes of Ratten, Bradley, Williams back to the club, on the proviso that Pagan was not around. Well, Ratten is back, whispers are that Bradley will follow. All required players have been retained. We go into the national draft with our 3 picks in the top 20 and we can still utilise pick 1 in the PSD on the best available uncontracted player. So what is Brown going to bring to the club other than instability? If he really wants to help the club, he should put the funds he was allegedly going to raise, towards paying off some debt instead of paying out Pagan's contract. That is what the club needs, not more reshuffling of the deckchairs.

I am no Pagan supporter, Ill be honest up front. The fact that walker came out and suggested that if he wasnt contracted that he would walk doesnt sit well with me. On top of that I do believe there is some truth behind the whole Thornton spat and in the end, before trade week, the club matched Hawthorn yet he still wanted to leave... the dollars and the years were there, there had to be another factor driving him to wanting to leave. In the end he stayed and im sure every carlton supporter couldnt be happier, christ I am!

The point I was trying to get across before wasnt a "hang pagan and replace him now", I am at ease with the fact that we will need to put up with him for at most the next two years. Hopefully they are productive years. More I was trying to point out the suspicious circumstance in which thornton back flips, russells back flips ratten and crosica are recruited, eshlaug is sacked I think we need to come to grips with the reality that the carlton we see wont be run by Pagan. To me this is the board stating firmly, "you dont want to be a man and walk, we'll limit your powers and influence". And I totally agree, there is no point in having players at the club who dont want to play for the coach, therefore my conclusion is that the players have been promised something, whether that be Pagan is day time coach ratten and crosica have a strong influence, or pagan will be gone at the end of 07 guarenteed, or end of 08 he will be shown the door and told never to return.

One eyed carlton dont get me wrong just airing an opinion based on information gathered... just to clarify source would be an ex carlton board memeber/life member, compliations of reports from SEN, 3AW, herald sun and other big footy threads. Yes not the most reliable besides the 1st one but when you think about the theories their not far fetched at all.

audas said:
Pagan is staying. Cant beleive the stuff that goes on around here, people just cant help themselves. The ONLY reason that there has been a question over Pagan is because people cant understand the damage done by previous administrations and the afl. Singling out people for blame is pathetic. It has beena rough road and we certainly saw the ugly underside of both administration and supporters. Things got a bit hard and people just showed how weak they were.

I dont think we need any more of this, let it go. We have been over this a million times. Pagan had his first opportunity to pick up players last year, and again this coming draft. So lets see how he performs with some actual talent in the team rather than the collective buch of amatuers we had been struggling with. After he has been given a chance then maybe you have a point. But until then lets leave "eating our own" to the tigers and saints.

You don't really know much do you. We've been a disgrace for 4 years, a 15th and back to back spoons. We pay this bloke 600 grand a year to do what? No list is ever that bad. We won 10 games 2 years ago and our list is better now. He had enough this year to be able to at least do something and what did we get, 3 1/2 wins, worse than last year's embarrassment. So much for progress. I don't care if we're like the "tiges". We have good reason. Not going to sit back because "gee, we might be like Richmond" then watch things fall apart. If Fraser's group gets in this year some time, Pagan's gone.

Glad you're so easily pleased.

chelsworthgale said:
I am no Pagan supporter, Ill be honest up front. The fact that walker came out and suggested that if he wasnt contracted that he would walk doesnt sit well with me. On top of that I do believe there is some truth behind the whole Thornton spat and in the end, before trade week, the club matched Hawthorn yet he still wanted to leave... the dollars and the years were there, there had to be another factor driving him to wanting to leave. In the end he stayed and im sure every carlton supporter couldnt be happier, christ I am!

The point I was trying to get across before wasnt a "hang pagan and replace him now", I am at ease with the fact that we will need to put up with him for at most the next two years. Hopefully they are productive years. More I was trying to point out the suspicious circumstance in which thornton back flips, russells back flips ratten and crosica are recruited, eshlaug is sacked I think we need to come to grips with the reality that the carlton we see wont be run by Pagan. To me this is the board stating firmly, "you dont want to be a man and walk, we'll limit your powers and influence". And I totally agree, there is no point in having players at the club who dont want to play for the coach, therefore my conclusion is that the players have been promised something, whether that be Pagan is day time coach ratten and crosica have a strong influence, or pagan will be gone at the end of 07 guarenteed, or end of 08 he will be shown the door and told never to return.

One eyed carlton dont get me wrong just airing an opinion based on information gathered... just to clarify source would be an ex carlton board memeber/life member, compliations of reports from SEN, 3AW, herald sun and other big footy threads. Yes not the most reliable besides the 1st one but when you think about the theories their not far fetched at all.

When and Where did Walker make this statement? I for one havent heard it and read any bit of news I can on the Blues?

mediumsizered said:
Fraser Brown has no chance of getting into power. The positives that have come out of MC Labour Park over the last couple of days, on top of how the club conducted itself during trade week, demonstrates that the club, led by Smorgon is starting to grow in confidence and self belief.

Fraser Brown trumpeted bring the likes of Ratten, Bradley, Williams back to the club, on the proviso that Pagan was not around. Well, Ratten is back, whispers are that Bradley will follow. All required players have been retained. We go into the national draft with our 3 picks in the top 20 and we can still utilise pick 1 in the PSD on the best available uncontracted player. So what is Brown going to bring to the club other than instability? If he really wants to help the club, he should put the funds he was allegedly going to raise, towards paying off some debt instead of paying out Pagan's contract. That is what the club needs, not more reshuffling of the deckchairs.

Well, why do you think these people are back at the club, most of the assistants Pagan doesn't want. We know the Board doesn't want him and want to make things as untenable as possible. We knew that was happening when the Board flip-flopped at their meeting last month, re, the coaching situation.