Review Snoops Player Review - Nth vs Collingwood

Sidebottom is not as damaging as earlier in the season and his passes to team mates are doing them no favours. I was surprised how many disposals he got tonight because he seemed ineffectual. He is not the only player whose form has fallen away, but he is important to the quality of our forward entries. No doubt the club does a thorough analysis of forward entries including players most responsible for errant short passes that fly overhead or bounce out front of the recipient. Sidebottom is not kicking goals as well as missing targets despite racking up big numbers. The absence of Swan and the poor form of Pendlebury highlights Sidebottom's game and it's not looking so classy at this stage of the season.

Sidebottom's too cute, undercooked disposal has annoyed me for a long while. He needs to start penetrating and not just chip. I would be disappointed if Rob Harvey hasn't been going over it with him.

Agree he needs more Pentration just continuing little Chips wit heaps of Eyes

It isn't just now, I have been saying this for a while. People who have been saying Sidebottom has elite disposal need their heads read. He has very good disposal on his left for a non-preferred foot, and average disposal on his right, and always has. He is far from elite by foot.

People who were thinking AA and 'leadership group' are kidding themselves, and I look forward to dragging up the thread when it doesn't happen (I can't remember who said it though, maybe Mattys)

He's a very good kick left and right foot IMO. Lately I have noticed his passes have been dropping short. Obviously it's better for them to be dropping short then going over the head. I don't think sidebum will ever have that penetrating kick that beams has. Just not that type of player.

Correct me if I'm wrong beams was struggling with the distance to kick a goal from a set shot 50m out first year he was drafted? Then that pre season where he said he was doing a lot of 1on1 work with Buckley, he had about a 60-65m kick outta no where when the season started. I suppose if anyone is going to know how to add penetration to your kicking it would be Buckley.

People who were thinking AA and 'leadership group' are kidding themselves, and I look forward to dragging up the thread when it doesn't happen (I can't remember who said it though, maybe Mattys)

You should be disappointed that it hasn't panned out that way rather than revelling in it.

Harry was useless on Thomas and then got moved off him....
I think that was more of a bad match up from the coach.

Toovey was missed.

Yeah, you are absolutely right. It is the major drawback with being correct when telling people they overrate some of our players.

He was in AA form early in the season, in the last few weeks he has not been. It's just a shame you are pleased that he didn't play that well for the full season.

To say I am pleased is absolutely ridiculous to be honest. I am pleased that my assessment turned out to be correct, but would absolutely prefer it if I was wrong, and Sidebottom could prove me wrong.

I would also like it if blokes like Tom Young could prove me wrong as well and possibly win a Brownlow or two.

No point re-hashing what others have already said about our defence and lack of ability to combat a side that spreads well and uses the ball well by foot.

I will say this though - last night has confirmed once and for all that we will not win a flag this year with Cloke and Dawes as our set up forward. So bucks has to decide if he just sticks to his plan and hopes they suddenly re-gain form or try something new. Ordinarily we probably wouldn't have another option, but this year we do - I reckon get Krak back now. Half fit and with little match practice, he still provides an x factor that can change a game. Dawes does not. Before we start excusing the big forwards because of delivery, how about you go back and watch the game to see how many times they simply ran over the ball. Sure we kicked it to them badly, but any chance of bending over to pick the ball up or keep it in front of you?

At least sidebottom is finding the footy. He chases and tackles, he was good last night.

Our forward line is just not functioning full stop, poor delivery I'll cop as an excuse but we do not look like scoring most times. Once the opposition works us out we are f&&ked. It's bomb it long and hope Cloke or Dawes actually mark it and our defensive forwards make sure their in defensive positions.

When was the last time we had blokes breaking lines and having shots on the run. I know the buck stops with the coach, but seriously, Matty lappin you are taking the absolute p$ss.

North looked like scoring every time, even when it was just a long quick ball mongrel punt out of defense.

The big worry for me is halting a teams momentum. Allowing north to kick 9 or 10 unanswered goals was just pathetic. Lock it down, go man on man, fight, scrap for everything - we just roll over and cop it at times.

Piss poor effort and clearly proves our bottom five players aren't good enough to get us to a flag

Jollys game was so terrible.. i seriouslly wasnt sure if he even went on the ground apart from the ruck frees he gave away.. oh i noticed them

Where have the jolly lovers gone? Another terribllleee performance from him. If his our only ruckmen next year, we are SO boned. Next year he will be worse than wood in most games. Still capable of playing a good game once every 1-2 months though...

We should have rested Jolly, it was a foolish decision to play him that will come back to bite us.
. Goldstien crucified him 18 to 4 disposals and 38 hit outs to ?? (does anyone know Jolly's tally?) We have serious concerns with our ruck situation i.e. personel. The next few weeks will certainly test Jolly .... and Dawes.

with swan back i would like to see sidebottom spend more time in the forward 50, he needs a rest but also we need someone who can read the ball off a pack and get a crumbing goal. bring krak in as well and play him as the sub.
rest elliott and sinclair better learn how to finish

This is so dumb I can't even begin to describe it. So if a players disposal is bad his running and tackling mean nothing? Such an uneducated idiotic statement, of course it means something. What good is a team with great disposal but nobody who runs and chases? Get a grip Dave honest to god.

I to some extent agree actually. Tackling is totally overrated. It's a skill that should always be considered secondary to stuff like kicking, marking and getting the ball - that's why it's called a 1%. When you start selecting guys because of their tackling pressure and not because of their primary skills you start running into trouble. Right now we have three problems. Our kicking to our forwards is atrocious, our forwards are horribly out of form as a result, and we are carrying 5-6 players every week who are either underdone (see Tarrant, Didak and soon to be Johnson & Krak) or are to young to compete physically for 4 quarters (Seedmans, Elliot and Mooney this week).

If Buckley wants to play this open style of football then we have to take more risks then just bombing 50 metres into Cloke and Dawes - they're rarely getting a 1v1 this way and when they do they drop it anyway (+ we have no crumbers atm). If you look at the way Geelong move it, they don't bomb but move it through the middle to leading players with 20m-45m kicks. They always look to Hawkins on the lead - can anyone remember the last time we tried to kick it to CLokey or Dawes on the lead. If Cloke were playing for Geelong this year he would have kicked 50 goals already.

We really need to make some pretty drastic changes with the way we are attacking. I think it's probably to late at this stage so think our best bet would be to revert to playing the way we have the last few years under Malthouse. This current way is not working, but we have enough quality and a side that knows the previous gameplan to still make at least a deepish run in September at the least.

I also wanted to point out that whilst Sinclaire's finishing in front of goal on sat was poor at least he getting the ball in good positions which noone else is doing. It also took him a few games to sort out his kicking at the start of the year but just before he got injured his kicking was decent - maybe it will be the same this time.