"So, how have you coped?"

Couldn't help but laugh out loud at that. Sounds similar to my own family who are mad Essendon supporters. My Grandpa who is 80 years of age and uncle wanted to strangle him through the T.V. You can hear them screaming from the other room with the door closed. Oh man.

My Grandpa swears and curses at the fact Matthew Knights is their coach now. He's absoloutely disgusted. Have you tried mentioning Knights to your Family yet? God it's a laugh - anytime i need it, i just mention Knights and get a lifetime of kicks out of it. :p

Fantastic post and read btw.

Thanks to people who gave positive feedback. But its a great time to be a Carlton supporter imo, and the original post gave me a lot to think about. The fact that we're all still here despite 6 straight poor years indicates that plenty of other people have managed to enjoy football despite our team not winning, and I think its a bit sad that some can't understand that.

As for the Knights situation, the family were overseas when he was appointed, so their initial shock reaction was a bit dissipated by the time they got back. Be interesting to see how they react next year, especially if Essendon struggle though. Sheedy was such a protected species there (even more than Lloyd or Hird), its interesting that they've turned already on a coach who hasn't coached a game yet...

What a great thread!

I cope very well in public to friends, colleagues, family etc because there's no way in hell I'll let them know that it has been very frustrating. And every Monday morning at work I'd be saying - 'yeah we lost by 80 points but did see Carrazzo kicked 2 goals, it's great to see him get into it'.
Yes I got jibed but I'll ALWAYS stick up for the boys. And I tip Carlton every week...A few years ago I got fed up, tipped against us for the first time ever and we beat the Crows over there - never again.

Inside I get mad, frustrated, angry, sad after most games - you know those games where we're close at 3/4 time and get pumped?...but I always see positives and I always know it's going to get better.
It's harder to keep a positive face if you don't feel it inside :thumbsu:

The last 6 years have been the best thing that ever happened to me as a football supporter. Prior to Carlton's downfall, I was like some (rather annoying) supporters on this board still are - totally one-eyed, thought the club could do no wrong, and eternally optimistic. More importantly, I only really watched football when Carlton were playing, drastically over-rated our own players and didn't really understand the game. I knew Carlton won, but I never cared why, or how, and saw no purpose in watching other matches simply for the pleasure of it.

Then Carlton screwed over its fans and members by engaging in arguably the worst and most arrogant mis-management of a sporting club exhibited anywhere in the world, ever (although Leeds United and the New York Knicks might have a case to put forward). Somehow managed to get 20% over the (hard) salary cap and finish last in the same year, with an ageing list and few prospects for the future. It shattered my world-view. Carlton had always been the good guys who could do no wrong. Now, my club, the club I grew up loving was in serious trouble. The last 6 years have had a huge effect on how I see football:

- I no longer put blind faith in the administration of the club. Every move HAS to be questioned (privately, and publicly on Bigfooty and elsewhere). Otherwise, we run the risk of the same mismanagement happening again.
- As a result, I now watch the game more closely, on and off the field. Its no longer satisfactory to just know we won (or lost, as the case may be). To hold the club to account, I have to know why or why not. How are we going to win this week? What coaching moves were made? How are are draft picks travelling? All questions Carlton fans never asked before, that are suddenly relevant.
- With a broader understanding of the game, I've learnt to appreciate good football for what it is, even when Carlton aren't playing. The last 3 finals series have probably helped with this, featuring a broad variety of styles of play and close results. Being able to appreciate the pure spectacle of the contest, watch sport as entertainment instead of taking it too seriously and too personally, has been fantastic.
- Stemming from this, I've learnt to see the humourous side of things. Sport in general, and football in particular, is inherently absurd. Its crazy that we invest so much time, energy and passion on a meaningless athletic contest, yet strangely addictive and comforting. But if you take it too seriously, you can't cope. Watching Carlton play the last 6 years has refined a keen sense of the absurb. How else could you justify investing all that energy in barracking for Barnaby French, David Teague, Brendan Fevola, Ryan Houlihan etc. Lets face it, we've been a rabble.

But there's two ways to look at a hopeless situation. If its hopeless and important (ie, being long-term unemployed, trapped in a war-zone etc), depression is likely. But a situation that is hopeless and also meaningless can become a farce, in which case it can transcend depression and become funny (and consequently entertaining). If you haven't enjoyed the farce that Carlton have been, you probably haven't enjoyed football for 6 years - in which case I seriously question why you still bother... I've had just as much enjoyment from watching Houlihan make stupid errors, French trip over his own feet, Fevola destruct mentally, and the immeasurable emotions generated by Adrian DeLuca, as I ever got from Williams crisply delivering the ball to Kernahan for a goal. Different reasons, different emotions, but it all combines to provide entertainment - and thats why we watch football, isn't it?

Now, I watch my girlfriend and her family, who are mad Essendon supporters and haven't had to experience what we have all been through (and Bulldogs, Fitzroy, St Kilda and Freo supporters practically live on), and I'm shocked. They live and die by what happens to their football team. They just take it all so seriously - people scream at each other, break things, basically go crazy just because of a loss. If I point out how ridiculous something related to Essendon is (ie, Lloyd's hilarious forced aggression, or almost anything Kepler Bradley related), its like blasphemy. They get no enjoyment from the sport when Essendon don't win - none whatsoever. They watch neutral games, but with no interest at all. Its crazy. Yet Essendon have been moderately successful, while Carlton (who have struggled) and football provide me with so much more.

So anyone who asks 'how have you coped' will never understand. Football is about entertainment, and you find that in a multitude of ways. By its very nature, theres always a winner and a loser, and for every premiership there is a wooden spoon. If you can only enjoy the good days, you're probably only experiencing half of what sport is about. And now, as we turn the corner, I'm enjoying it more than ever; when we rise to the top, I'm going to understand exactly why, have renewed faith in my club, yet still comprehend the underlying absurdity of it all. All up, I reckon I've coped pretty well!

Fantastic response and all so true. :thumbsu:

Thanks mate, and welcome aboard. Good to see new Carlton supporters on BF

Thanks for the welcome note HBF . been a supporter for nearly all of my 42 years , the wife , myself and 3 kids are supporters and members looking forward to rnd 1 . Have enjoyed perusing threads from yourself and the rest of the blues gang for 6 months . This thread by bee has turned out to be exceptional with plenty of quality posts such as the one by bftg . Interesting to note the different views of some supporters and how some put it into perspetive . Terrific reading , thanks guys .

Great addition to the thread btdg
This is not a criticism at all but one thing I would like to add is:
I agree that the conduct of the board was horrendous and we need to be vigilant that such things do not occur again.
One thing that disappoints me about many supporters is that they are quick to point the finger and complain when things are not good, but are happy to sit on the hands instead of pitching in.
What am I talking about..well when the club was sinking into financial trouble there were still many people who were unwilling to buy a membership.Yes financial difficulties can be a reason etc and our membership numbers did sore but you know where I am coming from.
Or those who have a go at the cheer squad and banners but are not willing to get involved and give them a hand.
They may be little minor things but I think people should try to be as active in the club as they can, even if they do not live in Melbourne. Does not mean to challenge Pratt for example but to get more involved in the club is rewarding for both parties.

Football is a passion, a blind passion, a great passion an aussie institution. My family sit around the table and talk up the blues (or slag them off) with about as much one eyed vigour as a Cyclops tugging. No regrets, no hesitations, no worries.

The idea of maintaining some sort of decorum, perspective, or reason is about as boring as its gets, might as well moderate a book club...seriously its football. Its all about the passion for your club.

For those that aren't accustomed to sporting dramas, mismanagement etc then that does not mean they are not there, from the rebel tour, body line, Montreal, Black Panthers, South Melbourne, Fitzroy, University ...the list is endless, rather it simply means you are ignorant. You do not know your history, that can be fixed. trust me the list of sporting mismanagement and controversies which are greater than the "Blues" saga would reach the moon and back.

As far as there being more important things in life, I have spent my life making myself aware of the issues of society down to the most minute detail, the most complex philosophies with breadth, width, scope and patience from Palestine to Nitrogen run off, from Blackwater to Bromide Fluorocarbons , from Foucault to Pilger to Baudrillard to Virilio and carry the weight of societies issues firmly within my everyday psyche. It is BECAUSE I know how precarious, precious and primitive our world is that I do not reproach my fellow supporters for their passion.

I love the banter, the passion, the one eyed mongrels, I love the bitching quarrelling, competitive argy bargy, its bloody great. Theres nothing like a wind up at the pub with mates, opposition supporters, strangers or whoever, getting the wind up with the quick quip, the dark jibe, the outrageous claim. This is what it has been about for a hundred years.

There are those who can not handle there anger, but this is a separate issue, no one tolerates the loser who can not control their aggression, but that is a far cry from what we are talking about here.

Football is not just entertainment. That is what football has become. Football was once part of the social fabric of towns, suburbs and life, it was the heart beat, it has carried peoples dreams, passions, restored hope, forged mate ship, life long friends, and so so much more than just entertainment. It is about fitness, team mates, support humility, overcoming adversity, digging deep, it is a thousand things the last of which would simply be entertainment.

Entertainment is what the modern advertising, dollar chasing, shallow execs have made it. The passion and spirit of a community is what was taken to make this entertainment.

The idea that we should all just have a bit of a laugh and not take it too seriously, who cares its just a game type of attitude is sooooooooooooooooooooooo boring.

I spend all my days reading and writing about the heartbreak of Palestinian oppression, the Balkanisation of Iraq, the grotesque charades of central Africa, the abominations occurring in the horn, yet to deal with these things one can NOT show passion, there has to be a cool head, a steady hand to deal with the plethora of details. A passionate, one eyed response driven from the heart is what made the mess, is what drives it and must be held back. That is not to say it does not break the heart.

This is why footy is so passionate, this is why people are so vocal and expressive, because it is one of the very few outlets we have. One of the only places we can let loose with our emotions and support our teams with full conviction without repercussion, where we can vocalise our heartfelt passions no matter how illogical they are.

I say let it rip, I say lets hear your granny screaming, your families inability to see reason, your absolute conviction that your club is the greatest is fine.

Its good to be able to understand the game, or appreciate good play when you see it, or understand its nuances, but lets face it, you didn't know before hand NOT because you were a carlton supporter, because most do know, you didn't know because you weren't passionate about the game.

But lets not have an epiphany and start advocating the pasteurised, sterilised, homogenised wet blanket supporters tha afl wants us all to be.

We are Carlton ***** The Rest !

Great addition to the thread btdg
This is not a criticism at all but one thing I would like to add is:
I agree that the conduct of the board was horrendous and we need to be vigilant that such things do not occur again.
One thing that disappoints me about many supporters is that they are quick to point the finger and complain when things are not good, but are happy to sit on the hands instead of pitching in.
What am I talking about..well when the club was sinking into financial trouble there were still many people who were unwilling to buy a membership.Yes financial difficulties can be a reason etc and our membership numbers did sore but you know where I am coming from.
Or those who have a go at the cheer squad and banners but are not willing to get involved and give them a hand.
They may be little minor things but I think people should try to be as active in the club as they can, even if they do not live in Melbourne. Does not mean to challenge Pratt for example but to get more involved in the club is rewarding for both parties.

Think you're preaching to the converted a bit. Doubt there would be many posters here who weren't paid up members. Hear where you're coming from but.

Absolutely and sorry if it came across as preaching. The Big Footy site has awakened me to the world of people that are interested in the club on every level. Since getting involved in BF I have enjoyed my footy (especially the off season) more than ever.

It's just a saying, mate. Didn't think you were preaching at all. :)

I started getting really shitty about the time when Parkin handed the reigns over to Britts.

There were some seriously short sighted decision made with our list.

O'Reilly, Mansfield, getting Murphy back, there were a couple others ( I've not got the patience to research )

We treated the draft with contempt.

Our middle tear players like Beaumaunt, Hulme and the like didn't cut it when the top liners retired.

The writing was on the wall and it was then we should have had some young players getting 20-30+ games under their belt but we traded away our middle picks. ( Again I haven't researched so am roughly guessing so approx )

Of course we got draft sanctions.

Houlihan god bless him is our most senior player - I'm not counting Saddington just beacuase I don't want to.

He frustrates the shit out of me but there should be another 3-4 players his same age and with the roughly the same amount of games.

From then on I was super pissed pretty much.

So I didn't cope too well.

I started getting really shitty about the time when Parkin handed the reigns over to Britts.

There were some seriousy short sighted decision made with our list.

O'Reilly, Mansfield getting Murphy back, there were a couple others ( I've not got the patience to research )

Our middle tear players like Beaumaunt, Hulme and the like didn't cut it when the top liners retired.

The writing was on the wall and it was then we should have had some young players getting 20-30+ games under their belt but we traded away our middle picks. ( Again I haven't researched so am roughly guessing so approx )

Houlihan god bless him is our most senior player - I'm not counting Saddington just beacuase I don't want to.

He frustrates the shit out of me but there should be another 3-4 players his same age and with the roughly the same amount of games.

There's the ugly truth right there.:thumbsu:

There were some seriously short sighted decision made with our list.

O'Reilly, Mansfield, getting Murphy back, there were a couple others ( I've not got the patience to research )

Ditto

The funny thing is if I had have been a supporter of any other club than Carlton I very much doubt I would have even been asked this question.
So, in a way I guess it's a sort of compliment to just how great a club Carlton has been when opposition supporters have to ask us how we've coped. They obviously think it's a situation we have not been used to.
I can't imagine any other supporter being asked the question.

The funny thing is if I had have been a supporter of any other club than Carlton I very much doubt I would have even been asked this question.
So, in a way I guess it's a sort of compliment to just how great a club Carlton has been when opposition supporters have to ask us how we've coped. They obviously think it's a situation we have not been used to.
I can't imagine any other supporter being asked the question.

That's so true, Bee. I guess, so many opposition supporters just hated our success and were shocked (like us) that this lull has lasted so long - some even stopped laughing and started sympathising.
Yes, we should definitely take it as a compliment and follow up this tough time with some wins, then we'll never have to worry about 'coping' again :thumbsu:

I got myself to a stage where I almost didn't care anymore. I always hoped we'd win, but as a defence mechanism I'd make myself numb to what was going on. You get hit that many times and eventually it doesn't hurt anymore, you're just numb. The next few years should be different though.

being asked the question.

Actually Bee I have often asked fans in Perth of teams like the Saints, Tigers and Dogs how they still remain so passionate when it has been such a long time between drinks? But I have a few loyal Cats fans and to see them this year have the time of their lives made me smile and cringe. Smile because I could understand their pain and joy. Cringe because I would rather it was me who was drowning in Moet!
Now I ask Eagles fans how can you follow a team of such poor moral examples?
I ask Dockers fans how can you follow a team that has promised so much and delivered nothing except purple and green on a uniform?
So I look at Carlton and I must say they have embarrassed me and angered me lately. But even a man like Jack Eliott I still find hard to dislike. He screwed us over but always to this day loves the Blues and I remember him there drinking with us at functions. Not many presidents since have come over to Perth and sat with the loyal Blues fans here, to share some drinks and have photos with the kiddies. A lot of people even hate him but I still have a soft spot for him.
BUT that is all warm and fuzzy stuff of the past, and stuff quite frankly I no longer care about.
There is such a great feeling of optimism permeating through the team, board, coaches and supporters at the moment that I am giddy at the thought of what is to come. Last year we had a similar feeling but in hindsight we all got ahead of ourselves. We shouldn't let this happen again and worry about GF's, top 8 etc but worry about improvement across the whole spectrum on and off the field.
The memebership will sore, no question. The team will rise on the ladder and should not be near spoon risk. But we still need to look at a gradual improve and build to a plan.
So now when I ask other team's fans how do they cope, to be honest I am just trolling as I could not care less. I only care about Carlton. And I can not wait to serve it up by the bucket full
Thanks again ODN. The greatest Post I have ever seen and has certainly voiced what most of us are feeling.
Even the trolls of other teams gave up on trying to debunk this thread. Every poster said it from the heart with no B.S.
Onward and upwards

Badly...

I have had to put up with shit from scum supporters from scum teams bragging about how good they are and how shit we are...

They seem to forget that in AFL/VFL it was 106 years before we won a wooden spoon and since the invention of the game as Melbourne Rules, we have some something like 22 or 23 premierships not including the night grand finals.

The Eagles have been around for 20 years? and have only won 3 grand finals.

In the first 20 years of Carlton FC, had won 7.

The eagles supporters will come out and claim that the game was a lot simpler back then and that their premierships came against quality opposition.

So when those muppets from other clubs start bagging on Carlton, I just start thinking 1864. 143 years and 3 wooden spoons in 106 of those years.

Geelong and Melbourne are the only other clubs that are as old or older in the world of a formal football league. and even they havent played in every season.
Good point.Our 3 spoons are in the same era where other clubs have "won" them over many eras.

The last few years have been tough but I have attended every match in Victoria (and my fair share of Interstate trips as well), despite knowing that there was more of a chance of us getting belted by 10 goals than us ever winning. Every week, as I scanned my membership, I thought to myself, anything is possible! I have always kept the faith, and I think that is what is important :)

My mates all said to me, "Why do you still bother? Your team is shit!" My response, "They won't be shit forever! It's called rebuilding. Every team does it! I'm not a fairweathered supporter. I will be there, every week, win, lose or draw. How many people my age can say they have seen as much success as the CFC has given to me? Not many. I love the club and the game so why would I turn my back on it, after being passionate for sooooo many years, just because we have hit a rough patch?"

They never have an answer after that :D

Throughout all of the heartache there has been some joy. Watching the kids develop, seeing Pagan's departure and simply encouraging and cheering on the boys because I know that it will pay off and guess what... it has already started to :D

Juddddddddddddddy! Do you think our club would attract one of the best players I have seen in my 19 years of watching this great game if success wasn't on the horizon? NO WAY!

Juddy coming to Carlton has confirmed what we all knew anyway... that we have a developing list full of potential and if we can get the game plan right and some experience then look out every other club over the next few years!!

What is the one thing our Club has always been good at? WINNING PREMIERSHIPS! We are not a bunch of pretenders like Collingwood and St Kilda. We actually win when it matters!!!!

I can't wait until March 20 2008, when our boys run through the banner, with their new Captain, a new belief and the feeling that the only way is up! :D

GO YOU BLUE BAGGERS!!!!!!!!

"So, how have you coped?"