maccas_no1

Suspended
Glenelg, MUFC, Triple 8
Touch wood the AFC have had very little of these this year, but what is it due too??? Are the players better conditioned?? Are they being managed better????Is our post game recovery better than in the past????

Player's such as Welsh, Goodwin and even the management of Hart's calcified Hammy have been very good this year as these were player sthat regulary suffered soft tissue injuries.

Thoughts????

maccas_no1 said:
Touch wood the AFC have had very little of these this year, but what is it due too??? Are the players better conditioned?? Are they being managed better????Is our post game recovery better than in the past????

Player's such as Welsh, Goodwin and even the management of Hart's calcified Hammy have been very good this year as these were player sthat regulary suffered soft tissue injuries.

Thoughts????

One of the key things that Craig has is the understanding of what bodies will and won't respond to and how far is too far to push. Given his standing in sports science, he would also have access to some of the best technology and advice going. It doesn't surprise me to see that our medical problems have been so well managed.

To some degree this is luck, as conditioning and fitness won't mean anything when your knee gets wrenched in a tackle, but it is amazing how well we have fared considering that we have been harder at the ball than ever.

I'm banking on the fitness aspect being a major bonus at the end of the year, which puts us in a fantastic position in the lead up to finals. Just hope we don't end up with 2 trips to Subi. in 2 weeks, that would be a hard ask.

afc9798 said:
One of the key things that Craig has is the understanding of what bodies will and won't respond to and how far is too far to push. Given his standing in sports science, he would also have access to some of the best technology and advice going. It doesn't surprise me to see that our medical problems have been so well managed.

To some degree this is luck, as conditioning and fitness won't mean anything when your knee gets wrenched in a tackle, but it is amazing how well we have fared considering that we have been harder at the ball than ever.

I'm banking on the fitness aspect being a major bonus at the end of the year, which puts us in a fantastic position in the lead up to finals. Just hope we don't end up with 2 trips to Subi. in 2 weeks, that would be a hard ask.

Yeah I thought Neil Craig and Charlie Walsh had a bit to do with it, maybe our pre-season was approached differently this year.

I dont have alot of knowledge in the area of body conditioning and such and thought I would find out a bit more about it, especially when it comes to a footy player.

i'd say its luck boys. If NC had some valuable information then i would think he would have use it during the shameful ayres era. The program has a bit to do with it though, it is funny how port gets injuries at the start of every yr, this is poor management. We have been playing lots of guys sore too, it just hasnt backfired. The only one we lost on was the birdmans hamstring, which was very poor imo, to expect it to be right after one week.

outback jack said:
i'd say its luck boys. If NC had some valuable information then i would think he would have use it during the shameful ayres era. The program has a bit to do with it though, it is funny how port gets injuries at the start of every yr, this is poor management. We have been playing lots of guys sore too, it just hasnt backfired. The only one we lost on was the birdmans hamstring, which was very poor imo, to expect it to be right after one week.
To some degree I think you're right, but one of the many criticisms of Ayres was that he wouldn't listen to his assistants if their views differed from his. Craig may have made these suggestions, but they were ignored ,but now he can implement them as a coach and with more assistance from Walsh. We are very lucky to have this knowledge and perhaps the reason we can have the players "Playing sore" is due to better recovery and management techniques. If any athlete knows about pain it would have to be a cyclist, so this info. on conditioning would be very valuable IMHO.

Luck has and will hopefully continue to be a major part of it though.

afc9798 said:

You know the old saying. "Go in hard & you wont get hurt."

A fair bit of luck my friends. I think we were in a simliar situation in 2002? at the mid season break. We were up there on the ladder and had remarkably very little concerns with injury.

maccas_no1 said:

Thoughts????

Sorry Marty but i dislike these types of threads. :(

While I agree it is largely due to luck, its not luck that we are bigger, stronger and seemingly fitter. Craig and Co. have to be given at least some credit for the over all improvement in physical conditioning.

The question has to be asked how we were able to put on so much muscle across the squad in just one preseason. Was the Ayres led program that much different?

drakeyv2 said:
You know the old saying. "Go in hard & you wont get hurt."
I was going to put that in the post, but the plate in my cheekbone started aching in protest. Although I do agree in most cases this saying is actually true and it's those who try to avoid contact that mostly get hurt.

Crowked said:
While I agree it is largely due to luck, its not luck that we are bigger, stronger and seemingly fitter. Craig and Co. have to be given at least some credit for the over all improvement in physical conditioning.

The question has to be asked how we were able to put on so much muscle across the squad in just one preseason. Was the Ayres led program that much different?
Crowked we didn't ;) - mate another Media hype - one person makes an observation someone picks up on the comment and suddenly it's big news???

I cannot see very much difference at all quite frankly