tess

Northern Saints/VFL Pies
on friday night i watched ON THE BOUNCE on fox dont know if anyone else watched it but listening to danny frawley who i like as a comments man i know terrible coaching record but the TIGERS is a graveyard for coaches but i find him un biased and danny and dunstall bought up about CFC sending a dvd to the afl umpires dept re JOEL SELWOOD playing for free kicks before the cats game.
http://theouter.yuku.com/topic/3304

Someone tell me this is utter BS, tripe, drivel, anything .... pleeeeeease!

Are they Crazy at LEXUS?

This is just an example of the blame game attitude at Lexus.

Has the Club lost something in the move from Victoria Park to Lexus apart from so called shoddy showers. Who was the DH that thought sending a DVD of an opposition player playing for frees was a Good Idea.... who does he or she answer to and who do they answer to?

The Umps are NOT robots, IMO they are not the brightest of individuals either but they are umpires FFS ...... they have a certain way of thinking and this would not get them on side even I know that!

It takes all types to make up the world, but only one Type to wanna be an Umpire!
The other brother on 2 and a half men is just the umpire type......

Has the Club lost something in the move from Victoria Park to Lexus apart from so called shoddy showers. Who was the DH that thought sending a DVD of an opposition player playing for frees was a Good Idea.... who does he or she answer to and who do they answer to?

The Umps are NOT robots, IMO they are not the brightest of individuals either but they are umpires FFS ...... they have a certain way of thinking and this would not get them on side even I know that!

It takes all types to make up the world, but only one Type to wanna be an Umpire!

Mmm delicious.

This is bull shit. This is what happened, Eddie explained it clearly on SEN.

- Clubs often talk to umpires (umpires actually approach the clubs before games)
- they talked to umpires to see how they could stop giving frees away in situations like Selwood who is so good at getting his head over the ball. I imagine it means situations where players go head first charging in to the footy where if you want to tackle or get the ball it's hard to not give away a free kcik
- umpires told Collingwood to show them some examples
- Collingwood thought about sending a DVD to the umpiring department BUT DIDN'T

THEY DID NOT ACCUSE SELWOOD OF PLAYING FOR FREE KICKS
THE DID NOT SEND A DVD

Who's really playing the blame game here?

Nice to hear:thumbsu: Perhaps rather than ask the umps how to avoid giving the free we could get one of our lads to put his head over the ball first?

- Clubs often talk to umpires (umpires actually approach the clubs before games)
- they talked to umpires to see how they could stop giving frees away in situations like Selwood who is so good at getting his head over the ball. I imagine it means situations where players go head first charging in to the footy where if you want to tackle or get the ball it's hard to not give away a free kcik

THE DID NOT SEND A DVD

Someone really should tell Danny Frawley that, he went us badly. Pretty sure there was an article quoted on the main board about this last week - which said we did it also.

Frawley was going off second hand information. The story's been around for a while and I think James Hird's the guy that bought it up On The Couch.

Nice to hear:thumbsu: Perhaps rather than ask the umps how to avoid giving the free we could get one of our lads to put his head over the ball first?

Perhaps but I get frustrated at when players dive for the ball quite unexpectedly, often don't get it cleanly, trip up an opponent with say a shoulder to his legs and he gets the free kick. I'm not sure if that's what they were looking at or not.

THE DID NOT SEND A DVD

Who's really playing the blame game here?

This may be true. Who knows. To be quite honest though, there are times when I don't believe a word Ed says. He is the master of twisting things imo. I also heard him on SEN trying to explain why O'Bree had told the media that he didn't know anything about the umpire contact, whereas he apparently told the coaches etc straight after the game that it had happened. Made himself sound silly imo.

Scott McLaren, one of the umpires i just cant stand (probably more because of his profile, but you just notice him!) is (or was) a pharmacist in Lilydale last i knew...takes a bit of a degree for that; moreso, most umpires (and i cringe but i'm trying to be reasonable) get into it for the love of the game, it's not like they get paid a fortune to basically get abused week in week out...i wouldn't have a crack at their intelligence is basically what i am saying, when really none of us have any clue what their day job is.

On subject, you would find that other clubs send examples to the umpiring department when they are concerned about an issue (tunneling anyone?), i would imagine a coach stating a claim like a supporter of "player x always dives for it!" probably doesn't cut it when chatting with Giesh. So regardless of if we did it or not, it really isn't that big a deal...

Scott McLaren, one of the umpires i just cant stand (probably more because of his profile, but you just notice him!) is (or was) a pharmacist in Lilydale last i knew...takes a bit of a degree for that; moreso, most umpires (and i cringe but i'm trying to be reasonable) get into it for the love of the game, it's not like they get paid a fortune to basically get abused week in week out...i wouldn't have a crack at their intelligence is basically what i am saying, when really none of us have any clue what their day job is.

On subject, you would find that other clubs send examples to the umpiring department when they are concerned about an issue (tunneling anyone?), i would imagine a coach stating a claim like a supporter of "player x always dives for it!" probably doesn't cut it when chatting with Giesh. So regardless of if we did it or not, it really isn't that big a deal...

Perhaps the umpires are too intelligent and sometimes feel a need to enforce their sense of superiority on the game. I think the attitude and mindset of umpires need to change. They all seem to go out there looking for any possible free kicks they can find. Now some may say "well that's what umpires should do" well that's wrong. They should be out there to make sure the game is played fairly. Don't pay a free kick because technically the rules state this and that. Pay a free kick because the other player(s) have been unfairly disadvantaged. Soccer referees are so far advanced of our umpires because they have a simple mindset, to officiate the game and make sure noone is treated unfairly.

Watch "two and a half men" tonight, there is no doubt Alan is the smarter brother with the better long term career and is more intelligent .....

But!!!

Maybe Mods and Umpires are similar types ;)

Like Presti di in the Brissie game. Great for our young defenders to see how it's done. :thumbsu:

The thread title makes it impossible not to read.

Viewed 900 times with 18 replies including this one.......................that's around 2%

It's interesting if we did do it but I would assume it's not a one-off Tess.

If our forward scouts had picked up the fact that Selwood gets a lot of free kicks, they might have analysed his game through video and picked up a tactic he uses to draw free kicks. Or they may have found that he just goes in hard for the ball in a certain way that gets free kicks and asked the umpires for a ruling.

I reckon it would be a perfectly normal occurrance and it's just gotten some bad press as the media got hold of it.

Please... I am about as interested in this as I am ladyboys in Thailand. That means I am not interested.

Frawley was going off second hand information. The story's been around for a while and I think James Hird's the guy that bought it up On The Couch.

It wouldn't go past him to do that sort of thing.