Something smells

My interpretation from Eddie's comments was that teams are getting these things all the time, and just throw them out. What he was suggesting that 3 of the ones the doggies received haven't been thrown out, they are open to further discussion.

I feel sure that consortia from Tassie and Canberra (at least) would have sent potential relocation support plans to all Melbourne clubs.

Anyway, whichever way it's come about, the whole thing stinks.

it is an interesting side issue that I suppose must be considered - the SORT of supporter a hypothetically relocated team would attempt to attract.

Is it fair to say that, of all the AFL clubs, the Bulldogs are the most LOCKED into a certain demographic of supporter. I don't wish to generalise too much but I would say that the Doggies support base is mostly blue collar which is something they've prided themselves on and used as a spur and selling point for many years. Have they, inadvertantly, painted themselves into a corner with this ploy?

If they were to (and I hope this never happens) relocate, would they chase the same type of footy fan?

Could any old Swannies tell me whether the "typical" South Melbourne supporter is different to the Sydney fan base?

I would guess that quite a few clubs had the same or quite similar offers. I would assume that the others have also considered them. It may well be that some still have not been completely discarded but the clubs concerned have not gone public for obvious reasons..

It looks like the Bulldogs have "gone public" because they either want to scare their supporters into backing them further or they genuinly believe their chances of independant survival in their current form is not good.

I can't see anything sinister in what the Doggies have done or how they have handled it. If they are trying to scare supporters then it may be a little cynical but presumable something extra is needed abouve what they currently have. Alternatively, if the situation is as grim as painted, they have no option but to go public and let the supporters and sponsors make some decisions.

Originally posted by MarkT

I can't see anything sinister in what the Doggies have done or how they have handled it. If they are trying to scare supporters then it may be a little cynical but presumable something extra is needed abouve what they currently have. Alternatively, if the situation is as grim as painted, they have no option but to go public and let the supporters and sponsors make some decisions.

If this has been a scare tactic, Smorgon has got to realise that while he is scaring non members into buying memberships he is also scaring the living crap out of the members, who have got the Bulldogs through to today.

Moomba

The way Eddie presented it last nite, one might be forgiven for having the impression it is a foregone conclusion. However, I have it on good authority that the whole saga last nite was a ploy to (a) entice more people into buying memberships & (b) to help promote the fundraiser breakfast next week. However, I should have more news later in the day.

Originally posted by TheSheik
The way Eddie presented it last nite, one might be forgiven for having the impression it is a foregone conclusion. However, I have it on good authority that the whole saga last nite was a ploy to (a) entice more people into buying memberships & (b) to help promote the fundraiser breakfast next week. However, I should have more news later in the day.
Thanks mate I meant to ask you whether this whole thing was serious or not.;)

If it does turn out that this was a ploy (and further to what I posted above)

- If I was a Footscray member I would be extremely p!ssed off with Smorgon. They have gone through enough to have to see that on the TV. Welcome opinions from Doggies on this.

- If I was Eddie McGuire, and I didn't know the whole truth I would be extremely p!ssed off with Smorgon. Using his TV show to promote the club without telling him exactly what was happening is out of order.

- If Eddie did know and I was a regular viewer I would be extremely p!ssed of with him for lying on a TV show. If true it lessens the credibility of anything that is ever said on that show.

Moomba

From what I understand, it was Eddie who has blown it completely out of proportion, you know he always wants to have those exclusive news items to maintain his position as the person with his finger on the pulse of everything in the AFL.

I probably should not have used the term 'ploy' as that does conjur up the wrong impression. However, with this being beaten up by Eddie into something a lot bigger than what is, you could be mistaken for seeing it as a kneejerk strategy to get some
'bums on seats' for the Bulldogs.

I think the whole picture will be a lot clearer in the next 24 hours, so stay tuned !!

Sheik,

You are nothing short of disgracefu!!:mad:

In an unrelated post, you told me that you 'worked' at/for the Bulldogs.

Why are you releasing snippets?

Allow the proper people to do, and in this case that is David Smorgon.

Michele

I think there is a lot of rumours and innuendo going around the place so if I can get some concrete info to squash some of this scuttlebutt I will.

By the way Michelle, I am not going to post anything that is going to be detrimental to the Dogs, but if it helps clear up some of the issues I'll certainly do that. For the record, I don't work for the Bullies, I do some work for them which is a big difference. Whilst I am not privvy to all of the goings on in the inner sanctum, I am able to get some info on the administrative side of the club. I do not want to compromise my position with them so I have to maintain a level of professionalism which in turn has also prevented me from fully answering some of the other discussions on this forum.

Originally posted by Dry Rot
Re Bulldogs relocation story, did anyone else think it was a bit strange that three offers appeared simultaneously out of the blue?
You're right about the smell!!!

I know somebody who is involved with the bulldogs and he was in the meeting on Thursday and Friday. He told me that the team will not survive in Victoria and the players, officials and coaching staff all want to move interstate.

I don't know if it is true or not about the offers. However, I do believe what Eddie said on the Footy Show is correct.

Re: Re: Something smells

Originally posted by suzi_olsen

I know somebody who is involved with the bulldogs and he was in the meeting on Thursday and Friday. He told me that the team will not survive in Victoria and the players, officials and coaching staff all want to move interstate.

I don't know if it is true or not about the offers. However, I do believe what Eddie said on the Footy Show is correct.
Is that Adam Hueskes in your avatar?

However, I do believe what Eddie said on the Footy Show is correct.

is this the same as how you "knew" someone at glenn archer's party and stood behind what kelli and anthony stevens had to say claiming that that particular "incident" was entirely the fault of wayne carey? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Re: Re: Re: Something smells

Originally posted by Byron'sShoulder

is this the same as how you "knew" someone at glenn archer's party and stood behind what kelli and anthony stevens had to say claiming that that particular "incident" was entirely the fault of wayne carey? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
No Comment

Is this the same somebody who told you all about the Scott West/Aaron Lord swap you were trumpeting last year?

You're right, 'somebody' sure smells around here :p .

Re: Re: Re: Something smells

Originally posted by Curly5

Is this the same somebody who told you all about the Scott West/Aaron Lord swap you were trumpeting last year?

You're right, 'somebody' sure smells around here :p .

Yeah well I told you not to step in the dog poo curly5!!

Urgghhh Yuck!!

The smell is on your shoes

Suzi,

You are truly a source of amazing information.

Have you thought of setting up your own web site rather than using this one?

Football Tasmania needs to get its own house in order before it tries to lure AFL clubs to relocate. It is crazy that Tassie has two separate leagues, a northern and southern one, with over 25 clubs - most of which are on the breadline. Get a profitable unified comp Tassie then worry about AFL.

"all want to move interstate" is a mighty big call and I doubt the validity of that statement. Can you really tell me that the complete playing list (44) plus officials & coaches (14) want to uproot their settled lifestyle and families to move 'somewhere' at the snap of a finger ??? I don't think that is the first and most preferred option !!

Something smells