Random Sporting terms that have infiltrated common language

Dec 14, 2008
Edge
People say things all the time, little phrases, idioms, just common terms that just come to mind but where do they come from or originate?

I reckon there are loads of sporting terms that have just become part of the vernacular for whatever reason, they are now in the lexicon. People who may not have even seen the sport or game use the terms.

The more you think, the more you can come up with...

Boxing

He's on the ropes
That's a low blow
That's below the belt
Down for the count
Old mate punching above his weight

Baseball

He's gotten to second base
What's the ball park figure?
Outta your league, not in your ball park
He's been thrown a curve ball
Old mate struck out last night
Time you stepped up to the plate man

Footy?

Old mate handballed me all the work

Cricket

I'll let that one go thru to the keeper
Jeez he's on a good wicket
Such a flat track bully
Playing a straight bat
I'm stumped, got no idea

Golf

Par for the course
He's not outta the woods yet

Hes been kept in check
I'm just a pawn mate
Ive been behind the eight ball
He's snookered

Smooth sailing
He's steadied the ship

He's in pole position
Hang on, need a pit stop

Got the rails run
Heart bigger than phar lap
Don't put the cart before the horse
It's a photo finish

Hey mate don't jump the gun
Fell at the first hurdle

He's drawing a long bow

Balls in your court mate

How about being sacked from work, sacked as in NFL?

Ace up the sleeve
Dealt a cruel hand
Keeping cards close to the chest
Playing a trump card,
Can't take a trick
Laydown mazare

Game set match.

Any others come to mind?

Reckon half our language is sports based...

Last night I was at a wedding and a female barrister friend of mine who barely follows football was telling me, as someone who freshly qualified for the bar, how she keeps getting given 'hospital handpasses' - shit cases that other barristers don't want.

He's a big hitter around town

Known to play hard ball

Nahh he's a bit hit or miss

Ok, have we covered our bases?

It's a new ball game now

That's bush league...

Ok, I'm out let's pull stumps

Fwiw, I think a rain check (cheque) originated from washed out sports events, got a free ticket next game

"Gets a guernsey"

From almost any sport really, and applicable to any situation where someone gets a go. Could be their turn to stack the dishwasher at work!

"Whose turn is it to stack the bugger this week?"
"Looks like x gets a guernsey"

Random Sporting terms that have infiltrated common language