People say things all the time, little phrases, idioms, just common terms that just come to mind but where do they come from or originate?
I reckon there are loads of sporting terms that have just become part of the vernacular for whatever reason, they are now in the lexicon. People who may not have even seen the sport or game use the terms.
The more you think, the more you can come up with...
Boxing
He's on the ropes
That's a low blow
That's below the belt
Down for the count
Old mate punching above his weight
Baseball
He's gotten to second base
What's the ball park figure?
Outta your league, not in your ball park
He's been thrown a curve ball
Old mate struck out last night
Time you stepped up to the plate man
Footy?
Old mate handballed me all the work
Cricket
I'll let that one go thru to the keeper
Jeez he's on a good wicket
Such a flat track bully
Playing a straight bat
I'm stumped, got no idea
Golf
Par for the course
He's not outta the woods yet
Hes been kept in check
I'm just a pawn mate
Ive been behind the eight ball
He's snookered
Smooth sailing
He's steadied the ship
He's in pole position
Hang on, need a pit stop
Got the rails run
Heart bigger than phar lap
Don't put the cart before the horse
It's a photo finish
Hey mate don't jump the gun
Fell at the first hurdle
He's drawing a long bow
Balls in your court mate
How about being sacked from work, sacked as in NFL?
Ace up the sleeve
Dealt a cruel hand
Keeping cards close to the chest
Playing a trump card,
Can't take a trick
Laydown mazare
Game set match.
Any others come to mind?
Reckon half our language is sports based...
I reckon there are loads of sporting terms that have just become part of the vernacular for whatever reason, they are now in the lexicon. People who may not have even seen the sport or game use the terms.
The more you think, the more you can come up with...
Boxing
He's on the ropes
That's a low blow
That's below the belt
Down for the count
Old mate punching above his weight
Baseball
He's gotten to second base
What's the ball park figure?
Outta your league, not in your ball park
He's been thrown a curve ball
Old mate struck out last night
Time you stepped up to the plate man
Footy?
Old mate handballed me all the work
Cricket
I'll let that one go thru to the keeper
Jeez he's on a good wicket
Such a flat track bully
Playing a straight bat
I'm stumped, got no idea
Golf
Par for the course
He's not outta the woods yet
Hes been kept in check
I'm just a pawn mate
Ive been behind the eight ball
He's snookered
Smooth sailing
He's steadied the ship
He's in pole position
Hang on, need a pit stop
Got the rails run
Heart bigger than phar lap
Don't put the cart before the horse
It's a photo finish
Hey mate don't jump the gun
Fell at the first hurdle
He's drawing a long bow
Balls in your court mate
How about being sacked from work, sacked as in NFL?
Ace up the sleeve
Dealt a cruel hand
Keeping cards close to the chest
Playing a trump card,
Can't take a trick
Laydown mazare
Game set match.
Any others come to mind?
Reckon half our language is sports based...