spindoctor

Suspended
Adelaide Crows
I think Brisbane's record in the modern era will, sooner or later, be overhauled by this team. They have suffered the ignominies for so long to get the cattle, and now it looks they are finally ready.

The kids are SO good...it's unbelievable...they have a perfect mix in pretty much every position...

By all rights they will soon be rolling over teams...

Are we prepared to suffer the same as them for a few years to get Adelaide in the same position?

Yes if we had 3-4yrs of crap to build a team to give us success for longtime I would be all for it but what also has to be considered is that we must have a GOOD,SMART Coaching department,no good bring future stars into a side with a crap no idea's coaching deptmartment.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Yes if we had 3-4yrs of crap to build a team to give us success for longtime I would be all for it but what also has to be considered is that we must have a GOOD,SMART Coaching department,no good bring future stars into a side with a crap no idea's coaching deptmartment.

How can you say that Grant " Cornflakes" Thomas is a crap and is not a very smart coach. Players win games a coach will always get the c r ap for a loss

Originally posted by spindoctor
I think Brisbane's record in the modern era will, sooner or later, be overhauled by this team. They have suffered the ignominies for so long to get the cattle, and now it looks they are finally ready.

Just to recap, the Saints have won one Premiership in their 108 season history - and that was by a point. They also have developed a happy habit of sacking coaches who actually make them competitive/have a genuine shot at doing so - Sheldon, Alves, Blight.

There's no way the Saints will win 3 or 4 in a row if that's what you're implying with your Brisbane reference. They'll lose a few of those kids to the salary cap/daft trades soon enough.

St. Kilda blowing a good thing is a fait accompli.

Originally posted by crows98
How can you say that Grant " Cornflakes" Thomas is a crap and is not a very smart coach. Players win games a coach will always get the c r ap for a loss

I think you missed what I was saying I was referring to the AFC's coaching department not Grant Thomas, I used to think GT was a dumb coach but have changed my opinion on that, he has done well with the young brigade at the Saints.

sorry macca ........but a group of good players will do well any way.

plus gary ayres must go.

Originally posted by crows98
sorry macca ........but a group of good players will do well any way.

plus gary ayres must go.

Yes I agree good player's will do well, but they need to play under a good positive inivative coach also they must have drive and passion and a good relationship with the coaching department which has never happened under Gary Ayres

Correction: it DID happen for the first two or three years, but it's been downhill since the loss to Collingwood. Despite our good form last season, the signs of Ayres' coaching hitting a wall were already there, and they've just framed themselves in neon lights this season.

They have beaten a depleted Geelong team.
A ridiculously depleted Essendon team, and now a chronically depressed (again) Richmond side.
Bit early to label them world beaters.

Would have they beaten Freo in Perth? Not sure.
Crows to win this weekend..

I love watching St Kilda play this year. They are pure entertainment with the style of footy that they play.

Their star is really on the rise. Who thinks they can beat Brisbane this week - or will they get a reality check??

I certainly do. Whether they will or not is another matter.

Gehrig on Michael will be a blast.

They may have trouble finding someone to cover Lynch though, and may have to concede Gehrig to the backline to cover Lynch's strength.

But they're strong all over the ground, back themselves in and are playing with supreme confidence, much like Brisbane.

Will be a great game to watch. Both play positive football.

Originally posted by macca23
I love watching St Kilda play this year. They are pure entertainment with the style of footy that they play.

Their star is really on the rise. Who thinks they can beat Brisbane this week - or will they get a reality check??
I think Saints are a very good chance of beating Brisbane. They did it last year in one of the games of the season.

I think that will be match of the round by so far its not funny.

I too am impressed with the Saints and like the way they play and enjoy watching them - apart from last week.

I think they can present a challenge to Brisbane and will go close to beating them this week.

Some of the media predict that they might not be able to keep the mometum up for the whole season, but I'm not sure who else apart from Port will finish in the top 3 - so it will be interesting to see.

I have no stats to back me up but I'd say they are one team that doesn't chip around short kicks to gain say 10 metres after about 5 disposals - one of the worst things about our game - its not just the last 5 minutes now - it seems to happen all through the game with some teams.

and until September comes around they've still done jack ****. Judge them at year's end like eveyone else.

Just ask our ethelton friends what it means to come top after the H&A

West Coast by 101 points...the evidence continues to mount...

Didn't they win 14 or 15 in a row coming into the GF against us in 1997?

We're 9 weeks in - yes they're on fire and have some fine wins under their belts but come on, beating West Coast is mounting evidence?! The Eagles are the biggest pretenders since Vanilla Ice and MC Hammer.

Lol, the Saints won 9 in a row coming into the 97 GF I think.

No doubt the Saints have an awesome side, great to watch...ahhh, the rewards of gross incompetence.....

Originally posted by ant

No doubt the Saints have an awesome side, great to watch...ahhh, the rewards of gross incompetence.....
Yes they have excellent players - but they have a club whos culture at best is suspect, and a list they will struggle to hold together.

There's still a long way to go in this season.

Originally posted by ant

Yeah it was only 9 - I reckon I was thinking of the Kangas 11 wins before we stopped them in 98, still shy of "14 or 15" though :o

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Yes they have excellent players - but they have a club whos culture at best is suspect, and a list they will struggle to hold together.

There's still a long way to go in this season.

Well, no one's proclaiming them to premiers just yet (I'm not) but the amount of talent in that side is frightening sometimes. However many teams before have won plenty of H&A games... how they stand up over the rest of the season and of course, finals football, will be the real test.

But we, and I'm sure they, know that, so we'll just have to see.

And yeah, I had to think twice about that win streak dyertribe...FWIW, I was laughing at your description of the Eagles (in case you weren't sure).

Originally posted by dyertribe
Didn't they win 14 or 15 in a row coming into the GF against us in 1997?

We're 9 weeks in - yes they're on fire and have some fine wins under their belts but come on, beating West Coast is mounting evidence?! The Eagles are the biggest pretenders since Vanilla Ice and MC Hammer.

Bullsh*t. The Eagles beat Brisbane. No mean feat, wherever you are playing.

The are also not a 101-point loss pretender. They are just a mediocre, mid-table side.

St Kilda has really been mauling teams this year, look at their bloody percentage...its phenomenal. That shows how hungry they are mentally, they are just going for it right until the end.

As much as I didn't rate Grant Thomas, he appears to have completely changed the mindset of the squad, to win and win by as much as possible. He has them playing attractive football and has instilled a strong team ethic.

Those saying the culture at St Kilda is bad are stuck in the past, they have forged a new culture with this new squad, and its time the doubters admitted how good this team is.

They may not win the premiership this year, but they will soon. And I won't be surprised if it IS this year.

Bullsh*t. The Eagles beat Brisbane. No mean feat, wherever you are playing.

West Coast are nothing. A bunch of preening unaccountable midfielders supplemented by a top notch ruckman who is always injured and a gaggle of mediocre KPPs.

The Eagles smashed the Lions at the GABBA last year by 10 goals, I still thought they'd full away when any sort of blowtorch was applied and they did.

When hard accountable football is to be played the Eagles fall apart, don't try to make them sound like an acid test because they're not.