'Staring' at the handicapped.

This happened to me a couple of days back and has been on my mind since. Let me start by saying I've always considered myself pretty good dealing with the handicapped, I'm not a starer, I don't make jokes and I think I've always had a good balance of pity (in the nicest way..) and respect for those in a less fortunate physical or mental state than myself. I'm not pushing around wheelchairs all day but part of my job is making orthotic devices for deformed kiddies, so while I'm no Mother Teresa, I do my little bit.

Anyway, I was at the video shop a couple of days back, just browsing around and went to round the corner to another aisle and nearing walked into a wheelchair bound girl (about 16-17) who was parked at the top of the aisle, out of view until the last second. I did a bit of a double take (as you do when something is in your path unexpectedly), took a step back and walked around, thinking to myself 'I'm glad I didn't knock her over', and go on my merry way. As I'm looking at a shelf close by I become aware that someone is staring at me (you know the kind, you get the feeling at the traffic lights or on public transport), so out of impulse I look up and the girl in the wheelchair is giving me a rather firm glare, our eyes meet for a moment - not overly familiar with video shop stare down etiquette (handicapped or not), I look away thinking 'jeez she's not looking too happy..'.

Anyway, she then says rather loudly to her friend close by 'You know what I hate more than people staring at me? - People who are so disgusted by the sight of a wheelchair that they can't stand to look at me', I'm thinking 'niiiice...' Her friend adds 'What that guy?' then I feel the glare on me intensify, I look at them with a 'I'm standing right here, is there a problem?' eyebrow raised look and they turn in disgust with a 'urrghh...'. I figure getting into some kind argument with a handicapped girl and her friend would probably just make the situation worse so I walk away, only to look over at the next aisle on to find an older woman (perhaps her mother I guess) giving me a FILTHY glare (a real 'shat in ya hat' kind of look usually only reserved for drunks at dinner parties) and shaking her head at me! At this point I'd usual ask what the hell the problem was, but because it involved a handicapped person I just shook my head and walked away.

So what ya reckon?, should I have stuck up for myself and disputed my perceived lack of social grace or does this one simply go through to the keeper with everyone because it involves a wheelchair bound person, therefore not someone you argue with about such a thing. Does this girl have the right to have a go at whoever she wants? I found it both insulting and embarrassing at the time (which I assume was the desired effect) and while it's no major thing, the situation and how I dealt with it has played on my mind.

Thoughts?

Sounds like you're a pretty decent person.You had enough conscience to still be mulling this over hours/days later.

Just put it down to one of those encounters we all have from time to time and move on.

I would've just let it go through to the keeper as you did and got my video and left.

******** happens.For all you know she may have only become wheelchair bound recently, and still coming to terms with it.

Abusing/debating the situation wouldn't have helped.

BJJ said:
'You know what I hate more than people staring at me? - People who are so disgusted by the sight of a wheelchair that they can't stand to look at me',

She can't have it both ways. She is clearly trying to hang a guilt trip on BJJ.

Handicapped or not she is bullying him and has succeeded.

RIPPER_46 said:
She can't have it both ways. She is clearly trying to hang a guilt trip on BJJ.

Handicapped or not she is bullying him and has succeeded.
Not necessarily, if someone backed away from you as soon as they spotted you, you might come to the conclusion they were avoiding you, and be offended. You might then give them a grease. Not realising you had in fact started the staring contest, you might be irritated by it too, having been stared at everywhere you go.

From your vantage point inside a footy forum, you don’t really know.

I think Pazza has hit the nail on the head. If BJJ had have just treated her the same as an able person he almost bumped into, look at her, smile & say I'm sorry, all would have been sweet, but totally ignoring her & the near collision, obviously gave her the impression, that you were trying to pretend she wasn't there.

MightyFighting said:
Not necessarily, if someone backed away from you as soon as they spotted you, you might come to the conclusion they were avoiding you, and be offended. You might then give them a grease. Not realising you had in fact started the staring contest, you might be irritated by it too, having been stared at everywhere you go.

From your vantage point inside a footy forum, you don’t really know.

I would have said "You right mate?" or something similar.

This girl has deliberatly drawn attention to her plight by focusing on herself not Him.

mantis said:
I think Pazza has hit the nail on the head. If BJJ had have just treated her the same as an able person he almost bumped into, look at her, smile & say I'm sorry, all would have been sweet, but totally ignoring her & the near collision, obviously gave her the impression, that you were trying to pretend she wasn't there.

Yeah, I can see that point of view.

My intention was more to avoid crowding her 'personal space' and not draw attention to myself as she was quietly talking with her friend when i passed her. I didn't really enter my mind that I was avoiding a handicapped person, other than the fact that I didn't see her due to her being a wheelchair - but yes I assumed it must have percieved as avoiding her. It struck me as over the top to do her best to draw attention to me, making others around think I'm some kind of wheelchair tipping maniac.

RIPPER_46 said:
She is trying to "Bully" you with her handicap.

You did the right thing and treated her as though she is a normal part of society.
Why have you got that picture in your avatar?

I don;t see any rules that say there can;t be the same % of handicapped ****************s as there are ****************s in general society. You just met one of them.

Just because someone has a handicap doesn't mean they're a nice person. Jus like fat people don't necesarily have good personalities to make up for their physical repulsiveness.

She sounded like a right judgemental bitch when you had the right intent. Have to agree with the bullying statement. She knew that most people aren't going to have a go back at a person in a wheelchair because no matter what the circumstance, you'll end up looking like a right bastard to everyone else.

funkyfreo said:
I don;t see any rules that say there can;t be the same % of handicapped ****************s as there are ****************s in general society. You just met one of them.

good point funky, i'm a look away person incase they think your staring - mind you I once said one of those mum jokes (you know your mums so fat cause etc etc - this is a few years back) and the kids mum was wheel chair bound (which i had forgotten ) and all his freinds started giving me greif about it - but the way i figure they dont want to be left out of things i didn't feel to bad

its also like the people who think that just because you don't speak english your stupid !

funkyfreo said:

true, there are ****************s everywhere, I think handicapped poeple are heaps more self-conscious regarding their predicament and will stare at people just to see if their staring at them :confused:

pazza said:
Just a quick "Oh ********, sorry" would have done the trick BJ
Bingo ! if it had of been a person standing there and you came around the corner and nearlly ran into them you would have said a quick "sorry" with a little smile to go with it . Handicapped people in the main just wanted to be treated as regular folk

Poor BJJ.

I'm also one of those people who never knows what to do in that situation, and I think I've come to the following conclusion.

It is natural for people to treat someone differently and feel awkward about that person if there is something noticeably different about that person. That doesn't make you a bad person, it makes you human.

If I went to really far out deepest primitive africa and managed to find a place where anglos were virtually unknown, I'd probably get plenty of stares. If there was a city where 99% of the population was wheelchair bound, ditto again.

I think one of the wierdest and most enlightening experiences of my life was a few years ago when an ex of mine was invited to a uni friend's party and brought me along as well- the party was entirely female, and with the (hopeful) exception of my ex-gf, entirely lesbian. I spent that entire night being stared at and having people suddenly break off conversations when I was around them- found it more amusing than anything to be in the minority for once, but it was no big deal. I just went away feeling like it was natural for a majority to be a bit awkward around a minority, and there's no need to have a cow about it.

Basically, I think the best way you can react is just go with what you feel- if you look at them you look at them, if you don't, you don't. If they get obviously ********ed off, just be honest about it and say 'sorry, I don't really know that many people in wheelchairs, so I always feel a little awkward.'

If they want to be hypersensitive about it, it isn't your problem its theres.

Mead said:
I think one of the wierdest and most enlightening experiences of my life was a few years ago when an ex of mine was invited to a uni friend's party and brought me along as well- the party was entirely female, and with the (hopeful) exception of my ex-gf, entirely lesbian. I spent that entire night being stared at and having people suddenly break off conversations when I was around them- found it more amusing than anything to be in the minority for once, but it was no big deal. I just went away feeling like it was natural for a majority to be a bit awkward around a minority, and there's no need to have a cow about it.

had a similar experience at a party - it was all going well except somewhere along the line some people found out me and my GF were christians (and also another couple) after that the only conversation we could get was about the weather - they would apologies when they swore and when we walked up and they were talking about drinking, sex or both subject changed !

quite a laugh for most of the night !

Capitalist said:
had a similar experience at a party - it was all going well except somewhere along the line some people found out me and my GF were christians (and also another couple) after that the only conversation we could get was about the weather - they would apologies when they swore and when we walked up and they were talking about drinking, sex or both subject changed !
christianity est a nocens

Capitalist said:

quite a laugh for most of the night !

haha classic!

Damn most of us Irish are Roman Catholic, but we love a drink and a swear with the best of em.(Actually we might do both more than anyone :))

Maybe us Mics arent godly enough to be grouped as "christians" anymore.

God invented Alcohol to stop the Irish from taking over the world.

Damn worked a treat too :D