Opinion Starting Positions

RobsJourney

Hey all, just interested to start a discussion (if not one available already) on what people think of starting positions.

We all know rule changes are coming. One I hope they do not bring in is the last touch out of bounds. Was woeful, horrible, disgraceful to watch in NAB 2012 (or was it 2011?) and I hated it. Big NO to that.

But yes, starting positions. I'm pretty sure I'm against this, and it's nothing to do with it being so poorly timed, given we finally became a damn good team.

Starting positions... They argue that currently, congestion is bad and that TV ratings are down.

I would argue this:

- Congestion is only the current evolution of football and it will eventually and naturally take on a new form. I felt that lowering interchanges did help with this a bit, though wasn't a fan of the number cap given it was just something else to police and keep track of in an already over-umpired and over-coached game. Also, sparkling plays look better when they come out of "congestion", given the great play needed to get through. We are a fantastic example of this at our best and, bias well and truly aside, are we not currently awesome to watch in full-flight? Also, there have still been games where both teams score 100+. But it isn't about the scores and shouldn't be.

- TV ratings... What a joke. They keep putting bad teams on Prime Time but also, very importantly, people have access to Foxtel and infinite replays now, meaning there is less urgency to watch games live. Doesn't help that the commentators these days literally talk about the same things every match, depending on who is playing. How many times have you guys heard that Houli and Grigg were great pickups? They are now Richmond through and through, no longer just "pickups"... Anyway.

-------

Pros of starting positions:

Whilst we don't know the final idea of what it will look like...

- Possibly more shots at goal on the run from long-range.
- Better full forwards kicking more bags of goals, maybe.
- More "traditional" footy, maybe.
- Ruckmen are more necessary again (though still necessary now if you have a good one).
- Better midfielders really putting on shows.

-------

Cons of starting positions:

- How do you police it? One thing that turns people away from footy or at least highly frustrates them is umpiring, poor umpiring, bad decisions, and arguably the worst - lengthier stops in play for things like score reviews or excess free kicks.
So how is it policed then? Will there be an offside umpire? Does he blow a whistle or put up a flag? And then when 100,000 fans all suddenly get confused as to why play stopped wherever the ball is, and the sudden realisation of it being due to a "positional infringement" at the other end of the ground, will it thus be hugley jarring to the flow of a game and extremely frustrating to watch? The game is already over-umpired and more policing will look bad.

- The eventual solving of this by coaches might lead to even uglier football. It could spawn some terrible looking tactics.

- If all stoppages need to have the positions in place, eg. six players per team in each of the 50 metre zones, can't those players just all line up on the 50m line and leave the 50 after the ball is bounced? Won't that just be crap to look at and borderline comical? The flipside being the extra defender waiting just outside the 50 line and going back to their preferred position as soon as the ball is bounced.

-------

I think footy is currently in a very negative state of being. It feels like there is so much more focus on penalty than reward, would you agree?

- You take a mark, you are called to play-on if you even move 1cm from your "line".
- Blocking. What even IS this? It used to be called good body work.
- You get gang tackled with no prior opportunity, if you don't "appear to be making an attempt", it's holding the ball.
- Any slight touch on a forward (this all started with the hands in the back rule, infamously crucifying Richo that time) is a free kick.
- 50 metres for the protected zone.
- Nominating ruckmen.
- Deliberate out of bounds for a defenders old (and only) weapon, the long, booming, clearing kick from defensive 50 whilst under significant pressure.

The list can continue, but these are just some examples of the negative mindset of footy.

I agree, funnily enough, with something Brendan Fevola said on 101.9 this morning (I listen to this for the Alpha Bucks segment.. my fiance likes it okay :tongueout:). He said there are too many umpires and way too many free kicks.
I add that this increases the negative mindset of footy, but it also creates more stops in play (and more fan frustration). Go back to one umpire and you might see more free-flowing footy. Players will be tired from all the extra flow and will more naturally need to gravitate back to playing closer to goals, and you might see more traditional positions come back naturally. But whatever evolves, it will be natural and not forced.

Be keen to hear thoughts, cheers!

i think only bad things can come from starting positions.

the umpires / players / fans struggle with the rules and the amount of interpretations there are as it is now, without having to add another complexity.

if they are wanting to do this 6-6-6 zone bullshit for centre bounces they are idiots because centre bounces arent the problem. all that is going to do is stop teams pushing numbers back if they are less than a goal up with 30 seconds to go, so they are ruining tactics of the game.

in terms of congestion there are 2 simple solutions to fix this:

1) throw the ball up straight away around the ground. don't wait to get nominated ruckman. let the teams work that out, and if 2 people go up from the same team its a free against. but just get on with it.

2) Incorrect disposal needs to be paid a lot quicker and paid to the letter of the wording. if you take possession, get tackled and don't kick or handball the football, bang you're gone. free kick against. by letting this drag on with the ball spilling out in the tackle rubbish it is just drawing more players to the contest causing congestion.

you make both of those changes and not only will the congestion free up but there will be less grey areas in the current rules meaning less umpire mistakes.

the umpires / players / fans struggle with the rules and the amount of interpretations there are as it is now, without having to add another complexity.

if they are wanting to do this 6-6-6 zone bullshit for centre bounces they are idiots because centre bounces arent the problem. all that is going to do is stop teams pushing numbers back if they are less than a goal up with 30 seconds to go, so they are ruining tactics of the game.

1) throw the ball up straight away around the ground. don't wait to get nominated ruckman. let the teams work that out, and if 2 people go up from the same team its a free against. but just get on with it.

2) Incorrect disposal needs to be paid a lot quicker and paid to the letter of the wording. if you take possession, get tackled and don't kick or handball the football, bang you're gone. free kick against. by letting this drag on with the ball spilling out in the tackle rubbish it is just drawing more players to the contest causing congestion.

you make both of those changes and not only will the congestion free up but there will be less grey areas in the current rules meaning less umpire mistakes.
I agree with most of this except for the last point. I think pinging players for holding the ball straight away is part of problem, exacerbating the negative mindset. Why take possession of the ball at all if I'm likely to get pinged straight away?
I think less free kicks would a) tire players out quicker given extra time spent in free-flow mode, meaning players need to get back closer to goal to be able to score and b) increase positivity, meaning there is more reward to being a ball-player and trying to get the footy.

I agree with most of this except for the last point. I think pinging players for holding the ball straight away is part of problem, exacerbating the negative mindset. Why take possession of the ball at all if I'm likely to get pinged straight away?
I think less free kicks would a) tire players out quicker given extra time spent in free-flow mode, meaning players need to get back closer to goal to be able to score and b) increase positivity, meaning there is more reward to being a ball-player and trying to get the footy.

It's not so much about pinging them straight away, all for giving them a chance to dispose of it, but if you take possession and are tackled, the onus should be on the player with the ball to get away a correct and legal disposal.

no more of this "knocked out in the tackle" rubbish.

too many times we see players get tackled and just literally drop the ball and its play on. I don't think thats right.

I always like to start off with a bit missionary, mainly because it's face to face and gets her in the mood. After that it's open slather.

It's not so much about pinging them straight away, all for giving them a chance to dispose of it, but if you take possession and are tackled, the onus should be on the player with the ball to get away a correct and legal disposal.

no more of this "knocked out in the tackle" rubbish.

too many times we see players get tackled and just literally drop the ball and its play on. I don't think thats right.
Yeah true that, though, I still have no issue with that if they just took possession. Again, there needs to be some reward or protection for being the one willing to get the ball.

Well said.

Especially the incorrect disposal. You have the situation of it not being clear if it is a free kick, and who to, for what. The rules are actually fairly straightforward. You tackle someone properly, and if they don't correctly dispose of the ball, if they have prior opportunity, it's a free. Easy. In fact to even have a negative on Dusty - he relatively often goes to ground and gets back up in a tackle then disposes. Just because he is strong and can do it doesn't mean it is right. If you get taken to the ground that's it - over. Being allowed multiple goes at the possession is wrong. So many players try this on, and because they ain't Dusty it usually doesn't lead to a good possession and you get congestion. If you were pinged for a good tackle and no proper disposal then play would flow more.

Anyway, I don't get some f the proposed changes. 666 means almost nothing. Most 50 lines are close to the square and so players can go forward or back by the time the ball reaches the ruckmen. So what?

The goal square thing might lead to different tactics at kick ins. Could be interesting if teams (like us) started to have 5 guys behind and alongside the kicker in and tried to run the ball out. It's how we play anyway and could lead to some interesting strategies. Not sure whether it would help a normal side that relies on kicking to marking targets.

But right now we have about as many poor sides as normal + a terrible Carlton, and about as many poor games as usual. Just they on prime time :huh::drunk::drunk:

Remember the flood. Some games back then were awful. Coaches worked out how to break the flood apart. The whole ground pressure derived from the 2016 Dogs and 2017 Tigers is the new thing. It'll get worked out. But teams that aren't suited to it are trying to bring pressure and just creating stagnant scraps. Wait 2-3 years it'll sort itself out. Maybe Carlton will fold and merge with North, that'd help.

Clubs/Coaches will manipulate what ever rules the AFL put in.

This all started because of the congestion around the ball.
IMO it has come to this because of the way the Grand Finals where played and umpired since around 2005/6
In the GF's the umpires where fare more lenient than during the year and everyone raved about how good the games where and how good the contested contest was.
The AFL then let that creep into the season proper.

All that needs to be done is have the umpires pay prior opportunity and incorrect disposal correctly and get rid of the 3rd man up rule and the game will open up.
Worst case also reduce the interchange by 10 again.

We also go from recruiting athletes to recruiting footballers and vis-versa. If the rules change we need to be careful of what we are doing.

Let the game sort its self out.

Big NO from me on more starting positions.

We already have some starting positions with 4 in the centre square. I don't mind the idea of 6-6-6 for centre bounces, but as Michaels very correctly says, centre bounces aren't the "problem" they're trying to "solve". So it's not a bad rule, but it is completely unnecessary.

It's also a slippery slope towards changing the essence of our game. Everyone can run anywhere. It's beautiful chaos.

My biggest problem is that I actually enjoy modern footy the way it is. I don't think it needs fixing. I haven't seen any objective evidence or data to suggest the game is in trouble.

Next on my list of grievances is that bringing in ANY new rules is a bad thing. How many ****ing rules do we need? IMO, we need less rules. Not more. How are we supposed to attract new supporters and grow the game when noone knows why the umpires have blown the whistle?

Titus O'Reilly pretty much captures my thoughts - https://titusoreily.com/afl/afl-football-operations-boss-steve-hocking-chats-fans

I seriously hope that whatever they do massively backfires, and we have less people attending games and watching them on TV than every before. Slap the AFL in the face as it's the only way they might learn something.

I reckon the only time it is feasible is when there is a centre bounce - and then it will make **** all difference anyway.
90% of congestion is on forward flanks and in forward pockets.

& then to consider starting posies at around the ground stoppages is nuts and will never work.
The time it will take for everyone to scoot back into position will be laborious and then if play re-starts for 5 seconds, enough time for players to sprint back out of their 'starting position' and then another stoppage occurs, we all wait whilst the whole field re-sets again.

It's a pain now when at centre bounces the umpy stuffs up the bounce and everyone re-sets again, 10 seconds or so lost - imagine that scenario 50 times a game.

Crazy talk.

666 at a centre bounce makes no sense to me.

If you want a seventh defender - like every single team in the league uses - you just line up one winger in the f50 and the LMID in the centre zone. Ball gets bounced, they spread to where they want to be. Pointless.

18m goal square I can live with but don't really see the need.

Does the umpire wait until players are in their 50 to bounce/throw in around the ground? If so, how long? If not, what's the penalty?

Seriously, if they want to reduce the number of players around the ball, just reduce the number of players on the ground and the number of interchange. 40 I/C and 15 v 15 ought to do it.

The problem with rule changes is coaches and players manipulate them to their own advantage and you don't know what it will lead to.Eg 30 sec shot clock is basically now used as a time wasting tool. Goal line technology is now turning what once were goals into points. The nominate ruck rule is used to trick players into free kicks. The head is sacrosanct 'rule ' has led to players charging with the head and the Selwood lift arm tactic. Deliberate out of bounds and deliberate rush behind has led to players pretending they have cerebral palsy and can't pick up a football. This new starting position rule if it comes in will no doubt be manipulated some way.

666 at a centre bounce makes no sense to me.

If you want a seventh defender - like every single team in the league uses - you just line up one winger in the f50 and the LMID in the centre zone. Ball gets bounced, they spread to where they want to be. Pointless.

18m goal square I can live with but don't really see the need.

Does the umpire wait until players are in their 50 to bounce/throw in around the ground? If so, how long? If not, what's the penalty?

Seriously, if they want to reduce the number of players around the ball, just reduce the number of players on the ground and the number of interchange. 40 I/C and 15 v 15 ought to do it.
God, an 18m goal square will look disgusting though won't it :(

Everyone is crapping their dacks becauae once Richmond get the ball off you, which they do and press you into your defensive 50, which they do, it ain't coming back out of there anytime soon. A feature of this year is just how dominant we've been when we are full pedal to the metal. Oppos are losing their shit about our full court press and are whining about ever beating us. If your club isn't playing this style or isn't quite up to speed with it it's pretty clear that you ain't winning shit in the foreseeable future.

I truly believe this. At times this year you've just had to sit back and say during our games, this game is over, with three quarters to go!

How things have changed. Man.

Tweak or get rid of a couple of the obvious dud rules - third man up/nominating a ruckman at each stoppage has been an embarrassment. Remember that the reason someone went third up was generally to clear the ball from congestion. A glaring example of a rule change bringing an unintended result. Also, the deliberate out of bounds. Remember when a defender used skill to get the ball out of danger along the boundary line with a deft kick met with a warm round of applause. Now it's met with howls of derision for deliberate. Maybe it was seen as ungainly, defenders just hacking the ball away, rather than running the ball out, but remember the most devisive of these decisions usually involve someone with simply no other choice than to defend at all costs. Now, defending is seen as some sort of sin, unless you do it clean like a surgeon and keep the ball alive. Alive at all costs. We forget it's still a game of territory.

We all want to keep the ball moving and congestion on congestion does look less pretty but sometimes we forget that armwrestle games are often the classics...the game too'ing and fro'ing, riding the emotional rollercoaster, making use of your momentum when you've got it or the wind and finally, hopefully prevailing in the end.

Which we did.

Fix the game ? The game is fine actually. It's how the rules are interpreted that dulls us and frustrates.

Fix the game ? Interpret the rules in the way they were intended. Make umpires fully professional. How can you have a professional league with semi at best umpires ! Did anyone see that they still have their ice baths in wheelie bins !?

You can see where this administration want to take the game...zooper goals and X's on everything. That's fine but once you mess with the actual fabric of the game, you can't turn back.

More rules...means more ways to bend them and cheat to advantage!
And then more umpires to watch for rule bending/cheating...
And then it will end up like sheet house tv...poxy ads..ads...ads...ads...with a lil bit of film thrown in...90minute film becomes a 150minute extravaganza...
Or like SEN radio...ads...ads...poxy ads...with a lil bit of sport talk thrown in...40 minute ads in the hour...
The game will end up the same as above...
The game will slow down and deteriorate into an umpire riddled ajudicated/officiated rule fest with a lil bit of footy played...
Then ads...more ads...poxy ads...with a lil bit of footy played...

More rules...means more ways to bend them and cheat to advantage!
And then more umpires to watch for rule bending/cheating...
And then it will end up like sheet house tv...poxy ads..ads...ads...ads...with a lil bit of film thrown in...90minute film becomes a 150minute extravaganza...
Or like SEN radio...ads...ads...poxy ads...with a lil bit of sport talk thrown in...40 minute ads in the hour...
The game will end up the same as above...
The game will slow down and deteriorate into an umpire riddled ajudicated/officiated rule fest with a lil bit of footy played...
Then ads...more ads...poxy ads...with a lil bit of footy played...
Spot on Jacklaughing, it's all about AFL obsessed with advertising money.More goals equals more adds.Sen is a friquin joke adds wise.If I ever meet Frank Walker I will friquin strangle him.The worse part is they still play aprox 20 mins of adds per hour after midnight, it's BS.The corporate branding is out of control.Kids will be addicted to gambling and eating junkfood when they're teenagers.The part I hate most, besides all the crap on our jumper, is the LED fence adds.How the eff did that get the go ahead? You go to a game to relax and watch football and every effin fence is playing a fruckin moving video of shite!

Too right mate about the LED feaces at the footy...
Who decided that crap...