State Sides

Adelaide Hawk said:
For mine, 1971 was a big year in SANFL history. We saw the end of Sturt's dominance of premierships and the introduction of the "Victorian" style of football with Mike Patterson at North Adelaide getting more players into the middle of the field and opening up spaces up-field, a more ruthless approach with a greater emphasis on the more physical aspects of the game.

We saw Barrie Robran at his peak, the emergence of Russell Ebert as a genuine star of the game, and players such as Malcolm Blight and Ray Huppatz making their mark on the game.

From a personal point of view, Robert Oatey's youth policy at Norwood was beginning to take shape and promises of things to come. Oatey became Full-Time Director of the Norwood club, the first appointment of its type in SA Football.

We saw plans from the SANFL to develop a multi-million dollar sporting complex at West Lakes and an announcement that the SANFL would not renew its lease on Adelaide Oval beyond 1973.

Those were exciting times. Boy, I really loved my footy back then :)

Other players in those 1971 state teams worth a mention are:

Brenton Adcock who revolutionised the role of the back pocket player. He would back himself in, running up field and creating scoring opportunities. We had never seen that before from a back pocket player.

Peter Darley, even on one leg was as good, if not better, than any ruckman in SANFL history. A crippling knee injury early in 1965 took the spring out of his game and we probably never saw the best of what Darley could have been.

Paul Bagshaw, a mercurial player, agruably the most skilled and complete player to play the game. How he never won a Magarey Medal is a mystery. He could mark in the clouds, was beautifully balanced on both sides of the body, could kick 60 metre drop kicks to position, brilliant exponent of the handball, always seemed to have as much time as he wanted, and yet he was a very physical player, often laying crushing tackles to turn a game.

Jack Oatey is reported to have said that Bagshaw could stab pass a pea up a fowl's bum and not ruffle a feather.

Tony Burgan, probably the pioneer of the 6 foot-plus wingmen in the SANFL.

John "two-eight" Wynne. Tough and rugged exponent of the application of physical force in football, and yet possessed sublime skills. Shocking ankles slowed him down a little but his 100% winning attitude made him a great player.

And how about Sandy Nelson, 7 premierships, incredible perfomance.

An absolutely fantastic write up there Hawk......WELL DONE..

Saw 8 sturt lads in the 1st side mentioned and can't help but think that the legend that was Rick Schoff is a little under done these days....

HE WAS A LEGEND.

smithy said:
Saw 8 sturt lads in the 1st side mentioned and can't help but think that the legend that was Rick Schoff is a little under done these days....

HE WAS A LEGEND.

Ah yes, the Hun, Rick Schoff. A footballer who was totally unique in every sense of the word. He was the best example of a big game player is all about. The bigger the game, the better Schoff played. He was All-Austrailan at CHB, and yet he was equally at home at CHF, or even in the centre.

There's a great write up on Rick Schoff in Knuckles II that is worth a read. It highlights that in an era of sublimely gifted Sturt players such as Bagsjaw, Shearman, Tilbrook, etc, there was Schoff, a player who lumbered around the field, had a very ordinar kick, and yet he could exert erormous influence on a game.

The other side to Rick was his marvellous sense of humour. I have a video tape of an event held by the Salvation Army that invited Sturt and Port Adelaide players from the 1965 and 1966 Grand Finals to attend.

The interview with Schoff was hilarious. When asked about a state game against Victoria, he said he wasn't sure if it was Victoria because he only saw the backs of their jumpers. The funniest story related to his non-selection in the 1966 Grand Final team.

The was doubt over his fitness so Oatey elected not to play him. Schoff was at home the morning of the game when he heard a knock on the door. It was telegram that read, "We are desparately sorry to see you are still injured, we were praying that you would be playing today" ..... and it was signed by the Port Adelaide Cheer Squad!!!!

That's what made footy in the 60s and 70s fantastic. The characters of the game made it great. A player like Schoff probably wouldn't be considered in the draft these days, and yet he was a match winner.

"Jack Oatey is reported to have said that Bagshaw could stab pass a pea up a fowl's bum and not ruffle a feather."

I laughed so hard when i read that....i so wish i could have seen him play on a reg basis..i have the 76 one, but it dont do him justice enough....i need to see mroe!!!!!!

Jimmy said:
"Jack Oatey is reported to have said that Bagshaw could stab pass a pea up a fowl's bum and not ruffle a feather."

I laughed so hard when i read that....i so wish i could have seen him play on a reg basis..i have the 76 one, but it dont do him justice enough....i need to see mroe!!!!!!

I saw plenty of Bagshaw over the years. He played plenty of good footy against Norwood Odd mixture the Oatey/Bagshaw leadership at Sturt, it was a bit like the Sheedy/Hird leadership at Essendon. You get the feeling they weren't all that close, but they had tremendous respect for one another.

I thought I'd post the South Australian squad for the 1961 AFC Championships in Brisbane. SA were unlucky not to win the whole thing, and had 8 All-Australian representatives, highlighted in bold.

Coach: Foster Williams
G: Bill Herron
NA: Barrie Barbary, Don Lindner. Theo "Hank" Lindner
N: Kingsley "Bill" Wedding
PA: John Abley, John Cahill, Ian Hannaford, Neville Hayes, Trevor Obst, Jeff Potter
SA: Rick Jackson, Des Panizza
S: John Halbert
WA: Jeff Bray, Ken Eustice, Paul Garnett, Frank Hogan, Neil Kerley (c), Don Roach
WT: John "Fred" Bills, Lindsay Head, Geoff Kingston, Bob Shearman

There's some talent in that group.

Adelaide Hawk said:
I saw plenty of Bagshaw over the years. He played plenty of good footy against Norwood Odd mixture the Oatey/Bagshaw leadership at Sturt, it was a bit like the Sheedy/Hird leadership at Essendon. You get the feeling they weren't all that close, but they had tremendous respect for one another.

I thought I'd post the South Australian squad for the 1961 AFC Championships in Brisbane. SA were unlucky not to win the whole thing, and had 8 All-Australian representatives, highlighted in bold.

Coach: Foster Williams
G: Bill Herron
NA: Barrie Barbary, Don Lindner. Theo "Hank" Lindner
N: Kingsley "Bill" Wedding
PA: John Abley, John Cahill, Ian Hannaford, Neville Hayes, Trevor Obst, Jeff Potter
SA: Rick Jackson, Des Panizza
S: John Halbert
WA: Jeff Bray, Ken Eustice, Paul Garnett, Frank Hogan, Neil Kerley (c), Don Roach
WT: John "Fred" Bills, Lindsay Head, Geoff Kingston, Bob Shearman

There's some talent in that group.

Re, Paul Garnett. I recall an interview with Jack Oatey, where he was asked who the best player he had coached. His response was Paul Garnett, which was a real surprise.

A mate of mine who played with Port told me that Garnett used to occasionally play still hungover from a big night, but still played very well.I think he retired, very young, from persistant hamstring injuries.

rooboy said:
Re, Paul Garnett. I recall an interview with Jack Oatey, where he was asked who the best player he had coached. His response was Paul Garnett, which was a real surprise.

A mate of mine who played with Port told me that Garnett used to occasionally play still hungover from a big night, but still played very well.I think he retired, very young, from persistant hamstring injuries.

I have heard similar stories about Paul Garnett, both about his on-field ability and off-field shenanigans. I never saw him play but I am told he was something to see.

Adelaide Hawk said:
Ah yes, the Hun, Rick Schoff. A footballer who was totally unique in every sense of the word. He was the best example of a big game player is all about. The bigger the game, the better Schoff played. He was All-Austrailan at CHB, and yet he was equally at home at CHF, or even in the centre.

Was it Rick who assisted in rendering one Royce Hart rather ineffectual in the '69 (?) GF ??

FattyLumpkin said:
His name keeps cropping up in state teams of this era. I must admit to having always perceived him as a good hard`trier, not a champ.

Whereas it is true Freddie Bills lacked some of the brilliance of others of his era, it must be remembered that he also had a great pair of hands and rarely double grabbed the football. He also had the strength and desire to win possession more often than not. I don't think it's possible to play over 300 games at top level without some elite skills.

Adelaide Hawk said:
It was a very well timed hit from Terry Short that felled Royce Hart. As far as being ineffectual, Hart had over 20 kicks that day and was rated high among Glenelg's best.

I think it was a joint effort from Short and Sandy Nelson. However Hart got off the canvass and picked up plenty of the ball.

Adelaide Hawk said:
Whereas it is true Freddie Bills lacked some of the brilliance of others of his era, it must be remembered that he also had a great pair of hands and rarely double grabbed the football. He also had the strength and desire to win possession more often than not. I don't think it's possible to play over 300 games at top level without some elite skills.

I remember Bills pretty well and he was very similar to Neil Kerley. Tough, uncompromising and some mongrel with skill as well.
I recall very well a game at Richmond where Kerley and Bills just kept at each other all day with big grins on their faces.

rooboy said:
I think it was a joint effort from Short and Sandy Nelson. However Hart got off the canvass and picked up plenty of the ball.

I think the most amount of rubbish spoken in the late 60s/early 70s was that Sturt were a skillful team but they were soft. Yes, they were skillful, but they had some of the toughest men I've seen play the game. Players such as Shearman, Schoff, Nelson, Murphy, Hill, Bagshaw, etc were extremely aggressive at the ball and the body. They had the perfect blend of brilliance and aggression, an Oatey trademark.

Adelaide Hawk said:
I think the most amount of rubbish spoken in the late 60s/early 70s was that Sturt were a skillful team but they were soft. Yes, they were skillful, but they had some of the toughest men I've seen play the game. Players such as Shearman, Schoff, Nelson, Murphy, Hill, Bagshaw, etc were extremely aggressive at the ball and the body. They had the perfect blend of brilliance and aggression, an Oatey trademark.

Rick Schoff's brother was our local chemist and a friend of my old mans. I remember meeting Rick a few times as a very young fella and he was an imposing figure. Very nice bloke by the way and would always play kick to kick with us.

Adelaide Hawk said:

Too right, Rigney, Dunn ,Adcock,Schwarz and Halbert also were great at the ball players and Short was a bit of a dirty bugger as well.
Port had tough guys all over the park ,but Sturt kept beating them with skill and toughness.

FattyLumpkin said:
His name keeps cropping up in state teams of this era. I must admit to having always perceived him as a good hard`trier, not a champ.

It's all opinion, but I am certainly in the Fatty Lumpkin camp. I guess in the last 10 years of his career the Eagles rarely beat the Roosters but I only ever thought of Freddy Bills as a very honest plodder.

By the way why is Fred in inverted commas. It was his second given name and like so many other sportsmen and other lesser lights of the era he was known by his second name. Neil Kerley isn't referred to in the1961 state team list as Donald "Neil" Kerley.

Robranisgod said:
It's all opinion, but I am certainly in the Fatty Lumpkin camp. I guess in the last 10 years of his career the Eagles rarely beat the Roosters but I only ever thought of Freddy Bills as a very honest plodder.

By the way why is Fred in inverted commas. It was his second given name and like so many other sportsmen and other lesser lights of the era he was known by his second name. Neil Kerley isn't referred to in the1961 state team list as Donald "Neil" Kerley.

A person with a penchant for the pedantic such as your good self will be very disappointed to learn that "Fred" is not his given name. His given name was in fact John Frederick Bills, the name "Fred" being a sobriquet derived from the shortening of his middle name. Hence, the name John "Fred" Bills.

A little history lesson for those who need to learn a little more about Bills. He was born on 7 April 1942, made his league debut against South Adelaide on 25 April 1959, just 17 years and 18 days old. He came from Findon High School and went straight into the league team, by-passing the U17s, 19s and Seconds.

In addition to his 313 league games, he represented South Australia 7 times. He captained West Torrens from 1965 to 1967 and was Vice Captain in 1971. He won West Torrens' Best & Fairest award no less than 5 times, 1961, 1964, 1967, 1970, 1972. He had a fearless approach to the game as well as great skills, courage, strength and dedication.

He was a great team man and ultimate club man. His magnificent performances over a career spanning 17 seasons justifies his inclusion in the SANFL Hall of Fame, as well as inclusion in the SANFL list of "All Time Greats".

He is a Life Member of the West Torrens Football Club, and a Player Life Member of the SANFL. Career records such as his can only be attained by a very elite few in the history of the game. Not too bad for an "honest plodder".

spell_check said:
His last game was that match in 1975, when he became the 19th man on the ground at Thebarton vs. West Adelaide.

That was amazing. A West Torrens player was injured (I think it was John Cassin). As they were stretchering him from the ground, Bills ran onto the ground. In true Fos Williams fashion, he sent out a runner to tell West captain Bob Loveday to call for a count.

From that moment all hell broke loose. Torrens players were running in all directions. Norm Dare jumped the fence, borrowed a rain coat and sat in the crowd. Torrens coach Noel Teasdale was directing traffic from the boundary line. The ridiculous thing was, they forgot one thing ... Cassin had already left the ground on a stretcher, so even if they took a count the number would only have been 18.

The incident did nothing for football whatsoever. All it did was detract from the moment of Bills running onto the ground for his final appearance.

Adelaide Hawk said:
That was amazing. A West Torrens player was injured (I think it was John Cassin). As they were stretchering him from the ground, Bills ran onto the ground. In true Fos Williams fashion, he sent out a runner to tell West captain Bob Loveday to call for a count.

From that moment all hell broke loose. Torrens players were running in all directions. Norm Dare jumped the fence, borrowed a rain coat and sat in the crowd. Torrens coach Noel Teasdale was directing traffic from the boundary line. The ridiculous thing was, they forgot one thing ... Cassin had already left the ground on a stretcher, so even if they took a count the number would only have been 18.

The incident did nothing for football whatsoever. All it did was detract from the moment of Bills running onto the ground for his final appearance.

The umpire was the great Robin Bennet.

I believe Dave Raggatt tried to hide under the cheer squad floggers. Milan Faletic and Gerry Noonan made it down the race.

Torrens won by 3 goals. A SANFL sub-committee investigated the incident, comprising Max Basheer, Torrens chairman Wayne Jackson and West chairman Doug Thomas. I would have loved to have been in those meetings. After a two week period, the matter was dismissed.

Westies missed out on the finals by one game - with superior percentage.

The win was West Torrens second in a row; the only two wins for the year.

The score at the time of that happening was 12.10 to 11.7 in Torrens' favour.

Torrens 6.1 8.6 11.9 15.10 (100)
West 5.1 7.2 8.5 12.10 (82)
Thebarton, 5422

Best: W.T: Faletic, Cassin, White, McKenzie, Pavlich.
W.A: Loveday, Stevenson, Buckley, Kennedy, Kuhlmann.

Scores: W.T: Noonan 5.0, Cassin 4.0, Raggatt 2.0, Homan, Fielke 1.1, White, Inglis 1.0, Faletic 0.3, Wallace 0.2, Dare 0.1, Rushed 0.2.
W.A: G.Hewitt 4.2, Buckley 3.2, Gurney 1.2, Kennedy, Boston, Humphrey, Papst 1.0, Kellett 0.1, Rushed 0.3.

From the Sunday Mail:
West Adelaide president, Mr. Ken Eustice, said last night there was no question that there had been 19 men on the field. "Television will show that," he said.

"The rule should be changed. But it won't be as a result of a move from West Adelaide because the league wants us out of the league. Secondly, they don't like me."

Adelaide Hawk said:
A little history lesson for those who need to learn a little more about Bills. He was born on 7 April 1942, made his league debut against South Adelaide on 25 April 1959, just 17 years and 18 days old. He came from Findon High School and went straight into the league team, by-passing the U17s, 19s and Seconds.

In addition to his 313 league games, he represented South Australia 7 times. He is a Life Member of the West Torrens Football Club, and a Player Life Member of the SANFL. Career records such as his can only be attained by a very elite few in the history of the game. Not too bad for an "honest plodder".

Obviously Fred could play a bit, particularly in his younger days. I must admit to not realising he made state in '61, and I need constant reminding of his inclusion in that '63 SA team. Making that '61 team at such tender years is a HUGE achievement, particularly given the talent in SA Footy at that time.

Like Robranisgod, I only recall Fred from the latter part of his career when Torrens were not all that flash. In fact to stir the pot a tad, I would suggest he would have been asked to retire 2 - 5 seasons earlier had he been playing in a stronger outfit. Maybe his Magarey votes will prove otherwise - but thats my perception.

spell_check said:
Scores: W.T: Noonan 5.0, Cassin 4.0, Raggatt 2.0, Homan, Fielke 1.1, White, Inglis 1.0, Faletic 0.3, Wallace 0.2, Dare 0.1, Rushed 0.2.
"

Did Noonan, Cassin & Dare & Inglis all grace the field for Fitzroy at some stage? I reckon Rushed may have contributed to the Lions score over the years too!! Pretty sure of the first 3, not sure about Inglis. "Rooster" Wallace was another Vic recruit too wasn't he?

FattyLumpkin said:
Did Noonan, Cassin & Dare & Inglis all grace the field for Fitzroy at some stage? I reckon Rushed may have contributed to the Lions score over the years too!! Pretty sure of the first 3, not sure about Inglis. "Rooster" Wallace was another Vic recruit too wasn't he?

Noonan, Cassin and Dare all played for Fitzroy. Cassin also played for Essendon and North Melbounre. Inglis never played league football in the VFL, I thought he came from Essendon but I could be wrong. Wallace also never played league VFL. He was recruited from the VFA, not sure if he played lower grades at a VFL club.

State Sides