State Sides

Adelaide Hawk said:
Noonan, Cassin and Dare all played for Fitzroy. Cassin also played for Essendon and North Melbounre. Inglis never played league football in the VFL, I thought he came from Essendon but I could be wrong. Wallace also never played league VFL. He was recruited from the VFA, not sure if he played lower grades at a VFL club.

Inglis did come from Essendon. He must have only played reserves. A mate of mine works in a shop over her and I was visiting him at work one day and in walked Dirk. He pi$$ed himself laughing when we both turned to him and said "you use to play for West Torrens". I think it was the last thing he was expecting to hear in a shop in East St Kilda. We ended up having quite a chat about SA football in the 70's. Really nice bloke.
For some reason Oakleigh rings a bell with me for Wallace. But i could be wrong. Mcalmanac will probably know.

Leaping Lindner said:
Inglis did come from Essendon. He must have only played reserves. A mate of mine works in a shop over her and I was visiting him at work one day and in walked Dirk. He pi$$ed himself laughing when we both turned to him and said "you use to play for West Torrens". I think it was the last thing he was expecting to hear in a shop in East St Kilda. We ended up having quite a chat about SA football in the 70's. Really nice bloke.
For some reason Oakleigh rings a bell with me for Wallace. But i could be wrong. Mcalmanac will probably know.

That reminds me of when I went to Melbourne with some mates in the late 80s, we bumped into a guy in a nightclub. When he found out we were from SA he told us his name was Andrew Matheson and he played footy in Adelaide. You should have seen the look on his face when I said, "Yes, I saw you play, number 22 for Woodville". He seemed amazed that anyone would remember him. Like Inglis, I guess he thought it was the last thing he expected to hear in a Melbourne nightclub. :)

Adelaide Hawk said:
That reminds me of when I went to Melbourne with some mates in the late 80s, we bumped into a guy in a nightclub. When he found out we were from SA he told us his name was Andrew Matheson and he played footy in Adelaide. You should have seen the look on his face when I said, "Yes, I saw you play, number 22 for Woodville". He seemed amazed that anyone would remember him. Like Inglis, I guess he thought it was the last thing he expected to hear in a Melbourne nightclub. :)
"Metho". A great player for the Peckers when we were at our lowest ebb. Ex-StKilda Reserves ball magnet who got a LOT of kicks. Fell out of favour under Blight. A personal favourite from the early 80's.

1969 AFC Carnivasl in Adelaide

SA Squad:
Coach: Foster Williams
1- CAHILL, John (Captain) PA
2- DARLEY, Peter (Vice Captain) SA
3- BIRT, John WT
4- ADCOCK, Brenton St
5- DAY, Robert WA
6- HICKS, Daryl St
7- NYGAARD, Damien Nwd
8- PANNENBURG, Jack WA
9- PATTINSON, Keith G
10- ROBRAN, Barrie NA
11- SCHOFF, Rick St
12- FORSYTH, Jim WT
13- EUSTICE, Ken G
14- CHESSELL, Keith St
15- COLBEY, Brian G
16- KERNAHAN, Harry G
17- McKELLAR, Craig Wd
18- MARKER, Peter G
19- MOLLOY, Graham Nwd
20- NELSON, Phil "Sandy" St
21- OATEY, Robert Nwd
22- PHILLIPS, John NA
23- POPE, Rod WA
24- PHILLIS, Dennis "Fred" G
25- ELLEWAY, Ron PA

All-Australians: Graham Molloy, John Cahill, Peter Darley, Rick Schoff, Brian Colbey

Tassie Medallist: Graham Molloy (SA) and Peter Eakins (WA)

Being a Redleg, the pure highlight of the 1969 Carnival for me was Graham Molloy's spectacular marking. Some days you would swear Molloy had rockets in his boots.

Match 1, Adelaide Oval 7th June 1969
South Aust 2-4 10-9 12-11 15-17 (107)
Western Aust 6-1 7-3 12-6 14-11 (95)
Best
SA: Molloy Darley Adcock Colbey McKellar Schoff
WA: Cable Turnbull McIntosh Smith Brehaut Eakins
Goals
SA: Molloy 4 Phillis 2 Oatey 2 Chessell 2 Nygaard Marker Robran Birt Day
WA: Robertson 4 Cable 3 Walker 2 Chadwick Astone Wynne Brehaut Casserly

Match 2, Adelaide Oval 11th June 1969
South Aust 4-5 12-14 16-16 21-22 (148)
Tasmania 3-7 4-8 10-14 12-18 (90)
Best
SA: Molloy Cahill Kernahan Nelson Colbey Darley
Tas: Lees Neal Oldenhof Baldock Payne Dell
Goals
SA: Phillis 6 Molloy 4 Nygaard 2 Marker 2 Pannenburg 2 Pattinson 2 Darley Phillips Hicks
Tas: Neal 5 Payne 3 Baldock 2 Nusteling Devine

Match 3, Adelaide Oval 14th June 1969
South Aust 4-3 6-5 8-8 8-9 (57)
Victoria 3-5 6-5 12-8 15-11 (101)
Best
SA: Eustice Schoff Cahill Elleway Marker McKellar
Vic: Waters Steward Keddie Dillon Bartlett K.Murray Watt
Goals
SA: Phillis 4 Marker 2 Day Cahill
Vic: Hudson 4 Nicholls 3 Dillon 3 Hart 2 Bartlett Bedford Keddie

just realising how good the SA ruck division was in the 60's. Bluddy tough to get a gig.

Wedding, Darley, Kernahan, McKellar just to name a few. Marrett & Milde - were they 60's or a tad later.

Looking at the All Australians and the best player lists, Craig McKellar would have been pretty close to All Australian. It was obviously where he came to recruiters' attention with his powerful centre clearance punches. And he would only have been 19 at the time.

Forgot Doc Clarkson!!!!!

Who was the best of those 5? Darley, Clarkson, Wedding, McKellar, Kernhan - well thas my order - nope, can't split Clarkson & Wedding

Big Bill for mine - beat the Vic rucks consistently. Darley's injuries curtailed him so we'll never know how good he could have been.

But if I'm any sort of Pecker, I would say McKellar....

mckellar.jpg

For the life of me, I can't recall who rucked for Port during the 60's!! They made enough finals, so they must have someone doing ok - or did Cahill, Potter et al just shark opposition ruckman for a decade??

Salmon/Spiers??

FattyLumpkin said:
For the life of me, I can't recall who rucked for Port during the 60's!! They made enough finals, so they must have someone doing ok - or did Cahill, Potter et al just shark opposition ruckman for a decade??

Salmon/Spiers??

Ian Hannaford and Bob Marrett in the early 60s, but then players like Bob Philp, Steve Traynor and Keith Spencer in the mid to late 60s.

Adelaide Hawk said:
Match 1, Adelaide Oval 7th June 1969
South Aust 2-4 10-9 12-11 15-17 (107)
Western Aust 6-1 7-3 12-6 14-11 (95)
Best
SA: Molloy Darley Adcock Colbey McKellar Schoff
WA: Cable Turnbull McIntosh Smith Brehaut Eakins
Goals
SA: Molloy 4 Phillis 2 Oatey 2 Chessell 2 Nygaard Marker Robran Birt Day
WA: Robertson 4 Cable 3 Walker 2 Chadwick Astone Wynne Brehaut Casserly

A few names which made their mark in SA later on. Was that Turnbull - John Turnbull??? The Smith Phil Smith?? Both who found their way to Oval Ave briefly with Greg Brehaut.

FattyLumpkin said:
Forgot Doc Clarkson!!!!!

Who was the best of those 5? Darley, Clarkson, Wedding, McKellar, Kernhan - well thas my order - nope, can't split Clarkson & Wedding

I'm biased here of course, but Big Bill Wedding was the best I've seen in the SANFL. He had a magnificent spring that propelled him above the packs and all opponents had difficulty with him. 5 B&Fs in a row at Norwood and a 1961 All Australian gives him the nod over Clarkson I would think.

FattyLumpkin said:
A few names which made their mark in SA later on. Was that Turnbull - John Turnbull??? The Smith Phil Smith?? Both who found their way to Oval Ave briefly with Greg Brehaut.

Yes, it was John Turnbull. The Smith was a player named Bradley Smith who later played some footy at North Melbourne.

Adelaide Hawk said:
Yes, it was John Turnbull. The Smith was a player named Bradley Smith who later played some footy at North Melbourne.
John Turnbull played one game for Woodville in 1974 under Brehaut. He was fitness coach and played some Reserves.

I had no idea that he was a State player for WA.

Adelaide Hawk said:
Ian Hannaford and Bob Marrett in the early 60s, but then players like Bob Philp, Steve Traynor and Keith Spencer in the mid to late 60s.
Was Lloyd Zucker earlier? Or was he 60s as well. He lived on Ridley Grove and had his red Bedford truck in the front yard with L Zucker on the side. Coincidental note Ron Elleway also lived on Ridley Grove ..( his wife was a teacher at the primary school)

Elleway not Barbary Doh

PerthCrow said:
Was Lloyd Zucker earlier? Or was he 60s as well. He lived on Ridley Grove and had his red Bedford truck in the front yard with L Zucker on the side. Coincidental note Barry Barbary also lived on Ridley Grove ..( his wife was a teacher at the primary school)
Lloyd Zucker, Barrie Barbary, Ridley Grove and Bedford trucks all in the one post. Special post, that.

Zucker played in the 50's. He was Woodville Seconds coach when they joined the League.

McAlmanac said:
The umpire was the great Robin Bennet.

I believe Dave Raggatt tried to hide under the cheer squad floggers. Milan Faletic and Gerry Noonan made it down the race.

Torrens won by 3 goals. A SANFL sub-committee investigated the incident, comprising Max Basheer, Torrens chairman Wayne Jackson and West chairman Doug Thomas. I would have loved to have been in those meetings. After a two week period, the matter was dismissed.

Westies missed out on the finals by one game - with superior percentage.

The next day on the Ch 9 Footy Show, Max Hall - looking straight down the barrel of the camera - dramatically ripped up a copy of the rules of the game, saying this is what the incident meant for football. Later poor Robin Bennett appeared on the show in that atmosphere to justify why he hadn't gone ahead with the count. He came out of it sounding the most rational one of the lot.

Ford Fairlane said:
The next day on the Ch 9 Footy Show, Max Hall - looking straight down the barrel of the camera - dramatically ripped up a copy of the rules of the game, saying this is what the incident meant for football. Later poor Robin Bennett appeared on the show in that atmosphere to justify why he hadn't gone ahead with the count. He came out of it sounding the most rational one of the lot.

I didn't see Robin Bennett's interview, but according to the word of the law as it stood, Bennett was correct in not calling for the count. The rule stated that "A team shall consist of 20 named players, not more than 18 of whom can TAKE PART in a match at any time". Nowhere in the rule book did it state that no team shall have 19 players on the playing arena at one time.
Obviously Bennett considered the player being stretchered from the ground as not TAKING PART in the game, and therefore only 18 players were actively taking part.

A friend of mine interviewed all the men involved and wrote a short story "Fred Bills' Last Run", which was published in a book here in Melbourne, "Tales From the Inner Sanctum".

Norm Dare, John Cassin, Doug Thomas, Fred Bills, Noel Teasdale, Bob Loveday, John Hayes (West vice captain), Robin Bennet and Jon Spurling (West Torrens cheer squad) were all interviewed. Interestingly, they all seemed to have a different story!

McAlmanac said:
A friend of mine interviewed all the men involved and wrote a short story "Fred Bills' Last Run", which was published in a book here in Melbourne, "Tales From the Inner Sanctum".

Norm Dare, John Cassin, Doug Thomas, Fred Bills, Noel Teasdale, Bob Loveday, John Hayes (West vice captain), Robin Bennet and Jon Spurling (West Torrens cheer squad) were all interviewed. Interestingly, they all seemed to have a different story!

I'm not surprised. Not sure what Cassin would have said that would have helped, he was in the changerooms when it was all taking place. Although I have total admiration for Doug Thomas' dedication of service to the West Adelaide Football Club, he has a propensity to think that for something to be good, it must be of some benefit to the West Adelaide Football Club, so I'm not sure if anything he said about the incident would be 100% accurate :)

Adelaide Hawk said:
I didn't see Robin Bennett's interview, but according to the word of the law as it stood, Bennett was correct in not calling for the count. The rule stated that "A team shall consist of 20 named players, not more than 18 of whom can TAKE PART in a match at any time". Nowhere in the rule book did it state that no team shall have 19 players on the playing arena at one time.
Obviously Bennett considered the player being stretchered from the ground as not TAKING PART in the game, and therefore only 18 players were actively taking part.

As I recall Bennet was rather bemused by all the hot air being blown on the footy show ... but his explanation wasn't quite so technical. Again from memory, he said it just wasn't possible to hold the count. He said players were disappearing over the fence into the crowd, down the race, they were scattering everywhere. So he opted for common-sense and decided not to proceed as the whole situation had descended into farce.

State Sides