Stefan Martin

DeeWong6996

Extremely athletic, talented and strong. Plays the second ruck role extremely well and can hold his own up forward and down back.

Reaching his prime, and is in hot demand. Injured for the large part of this season and looks like he might be traded if the right offer is there.

Neeld isn't to fussed about picks and has hinted he wants ready made players. Midfielders and small forwards are at the top of the hit list.

Heard Pies are very keen on him I could imagine a deal could be done as Neeld would have alot of Pies players he rated as he coached them all

Why would we want him?

He is a tall backman though, with Keefe, Brown and Reid coming back next season, I don't know where he could play. I have seen him play forward a few times but not much at all.

Can he play up forward? What is he worth?

He is a tall backman though, with Keefe, Brown and Reid coming back next season, I don't know where he could play. I have seen him play forward a few times but not much at all.

Can he play up forward? What is he worth?

That was back in like 2008-09? He can play all around the ground, with ruck being his best position. Averaged 30+ hitouts when Jamar was out. Probably alternating with Jolly in the ruck and resting up forward?

It's hard to gage his worth, especially without being biased. But in short, it's common knowledge that talls are worth more (Cloke..) Certainly wouldn't be given away as there will be plenty of clubs lining up for his services...

Wellingham might not be enough, maybe an exchange of fringe players or picks I guess.

Dawes can't ruck for shit.
Figured it out for Ages Ago Mate

Dawes ruck and around the ground work is fine
problem is that he cant play forward for shit
his marking and forward play is the issue, given that he spends 80% of his game there.
If collingwood are looking to recruit martin they are barking up the wrong tree, Martin cannot play forward, his goal kicking is horrible, Martin plays his best footy as a No.1 ruck when Jamar is out injured. In my opinion he is a decent ruckman, but he is not a 60/40 70/30 80/20 forward/ruck type, the simple fact is his forward play is horrible.
Collingwood would be better off looking at Lynch from WCE, his forward play is better, and his ruck work is servicable.
Depends what collingwood want, a 1st ruck or a fwd/relief ruckman

That was back in like 2008-09? He can play all around the ground, with ruck being his best position. Averaged 30+ hitouts when Jamar was out. Probably alternating with Jolly in the ruck and resting up forward?

It's hard to gage his worth, especially without being biased. But in short, it's common knowledge that talls are worth more (Cloke..) Certainly wouldn't be given away as there will be plenty of clubs lining up for his services...

Wellingham might not be enough, maybe an exchange of fringe players or picks I guess.

Wellingham not enough, give me a break, Martin is a fringe player in one of the worst sides in the comp.
He is tall yes, but as you highlight, he is not a forward/relief ruck
Collingwood will be linked with basically every tall going around, take it with a grain of salt.

Wellingham not enough, give me a break, Martin is a fringe player in one of the worst sides in the comp.
Collingwood will be linked with basically every tall going around, take it with a grain of salt.

Mate, I respect the points you have made but I would like to contest that Martin is not "shit" at being a forward and is most definitely not a fringe player. I never said he was a bad forward, I just indicated ruck being his best position. Martin is usually good for one goal a game, which is serviceable.

Secondly, how did you get that he was a fringe player? He is a walk up start, just that he has been cruelled with injuries this year.

As for Wellingham, stagnated since 09 in my opinion.

Martin's a best 22 player who was injured for about 10 weeks of the season.

If Collingwood want him they'll have to pay overs - simply because he'll have a few other potential suitors.

Collingwood's first rounder for Martin plus our 2nd rounder might work?

Pretty decent clean out happening at the Dees it seems.

Neeld definitely putting his stamp on the team and demanding more from senior players. Good move, shows mediocrity is unacceptable. However, could another cull really hurt the team as well.

If Collingwood want him they'll have to pay overs - simply because he'll have a few other potential suitors.

Why picks.

given your 2nd round pick wont be too far after our first rounder, collingwood would only be woving down the list a few picks, kind of contradicts your point that we would have to pay overs? Your 2nd round pick might be committed to viney regardless

Why picks.

I'm not sure they have players that would be worth Martin's value to us that would be willing to leave Collingwood.

People have thrown around Wellingham but if I were Wellingham there's no way I'd leave Collingwood.

given your 2nd round pick wont be too far after our first rounder, collingwood would only be woving down the list a few picks, kind of contradicts your point that we would have to pay overs? Your 2nd round pick might be committed to viney regardless

Yeah, I forgot about the compo picks - thought it would be a pick 15 ish.

But still associated our 2nd rounder as 26.

Don't ask me why!!

I hope we go after Lynch, Wellingham had a great year in 2010 was decent last year and this year has been under par but there is no way I would do a straight swap with Wellingham to get Martin, the rest of the comp will laugh at us.

Martin is a good suit for you guys. Can pinch hit at both ends.

For Wellingham though... you have got to be kidding me..

Collingwood are after Martin or Warnock, seems like they are after a ruckman more than a forward, probably to give Jolly a chop out and replace him pretty soon when he retires. Not sure where this Wellingham trade has come from but what would the pies give up for him?

I wouldn't mind Hawthorn going after Martin considering our ruck depth isn't that flash (One or two ruck injuries and we are pretty much stuffed). Cheney has been pretty solid for the ressies but he hasn't been getting games so you wanna take him back? :p

I personally don't think we would entertain a trade involving our players though, for the first time in a while I don't see us with any real tradebait now that Clinton Young has found form and we have committed to Ellis.

Collingwood could do a lot worse than getting Stefan Martin, I reckon. By all reports he had a terrific year last year (at 24yo, the age most "ruckmen" tend to mature) and Melbourne would only be considering trading him (if they are) because Jamar has re-committed and they now have Mitch Clark for the ruck/forward role, I imgine.

He came 8th in the B&F at Melbourne last year and when he came back from injury this year had 3 games in a row where he had around 18/19 disposals, around 20 hitouts and 6-7 marks, and in two of the 3 kicked 2 goals. Those are very handy looking games of footy at AFL level.

Being at the age where he ought to be ready to play his best footy, he could really blossom in a good team.

I expect we'll be having a good look at him, especially if he's capable of playing forward for long stretches.

Yep if there was any chance we could get Wellingham for Martin Melbourne would be absolutely stupid not to jump at that. Maybe Martin and pick 13 for Wellingham?