Stephen Coniglio

We're going to struggle to get O'Meara, so there is absolutely no chance we would be able to get Coniglio.

But I agree he will be an absolute star and is exactly the type of player we need.

Absolutely no chance.

But totally agree we need some real footballers in midfield ones that can rack up the numbers with fairly good skills.
Not outside players who can get 15-20 with great skills.

Unfortunately if i heard correctly Harvey thinks we need more speed :(
So we will be chasing more high skilled fast footballers.

We need a
Cotchin,Martin
Gibbs,Murphy
J Selwood
etc etc

Dont need more Daniel Wells,Danyle Pearce,Davey type players

Unfortunately if i heard correctly Harvey thinks we need more speed :(
So we will be chasing more high skilled fast footballers.

If that's true, then what the f*ck is wrong with him? If this is the case then I'm genuinely worried what we're going to do with the next two drafts.

The only mids we need are inside ones. Or inside mids that can also accumulate (i.e. that'll actually run to space to provide an option).

We need talls and a decent lock-down small defender a hell of a lot more than we need more outside types. But I'm preaching to the converted here. Or am I missing something that Harvs can see? Someone... please tell me what I'm missing.

Let say he is number 2 pick in the draft. Lets say we get comp 2 for Palmer. That compo is by the Giants in 2012 draft which would equal a top 4 pick in a stronger draft and maybe add our first round pick for Draft 2011 which would be pick 18/19 pick.

Not sure why a topic. He will be selected by GWS as one of the first three picks with this years draft and there is no way they would trade any of these picks. Gold Coast may of been a chance for a really good experienced player but GWS have the mini-draft so they will not give up their top 3 picks.

Sman are you talking about the interview on 6PR?

If so I think he was referring to our quick players not being available or not being cherry ripe (mentioned Mundy as quick).

If Congo picks cricket, I don't think I would waste a top 3 pick on him.

Not sure where the interview was from it was either 6pr or after the game interview.
Heard the little snippett on news so i was guessing it was after game interview.

Mentioned something like...... looks like we will be needing to get some more footspeed into the team.

Edit just watched post match interview on AFL site.
About the 3:40 in he says we need quicker players in our team.
That scares me

Collingwood arent quick just well drilled smart footballers.
Geelong are not quick just real footballers.
Carlton mids arent exactly quick just hard running skilled midfielders etc etc.

Plz dont follow the essendon route.

A team of real footballers will beat a team of fast footballers 8 out of 10 times

I hope Harvey isn't thinking that our midfield isn't quick and fast enough as opposed to not hard running and not working their asses off. Because right now we're the latter. We do have speed but we're just too lazy right now. Harvey should be telling players to get that pole out of their bums and start working hard, not yet again making implausible excuses.

Well if you think about it.

Barlow = not fast
Lower = not fast
Mundy = not fast
Broughton = not fast

I agree on the 'smart footballers' over 'fast footballers' though, however I can see the point in thinking we need speed. We look pedestrian in comparison. Got beat with speed from stoppages against the Saints.

Take Carlton for example: Judd, Murphy, Simpson, Robinson are all faster than us.

Barlow is not fast yet he is one of our best midfielders because he works hard to get to the ball. The same can't be said about a lot of our other players and it makes them look slow.

Speed is not something we lack.

In the clinches it is though.

How many times will see you a Freo player break away from a ball up or contest. Unless we have some fancy handpass out the side of the pack, we never break away from contests.

Hopefully that is what Harvey was trying to allude at, but knowing him he probably wants some more Pitt/Hill type players. We do need pace, but only if its in the mould of a Shuey (best young example)

In the clinches it is though.

How many times will see you a Freo player break away from a ball up or contest. Unless we have some fancy handpass out the side of the pack, we never break away from contests.

Hopefully that is what Harvey was trying to allude at, but knowing him he probably wants some more Pitt/Hill type players. We do need pace, but only if its in the mould of a Shuey (best young example)

We have players who could do that, if they were played in that way.

Instead we have Pavlich at the drop of the ball. Agility and break away pace are not his strengths.

Hey Harves, you complete muppet: Why don't you stop putting a slow, lumbering key forward, who can only run one way and not defend, in the middle? It's staring you right in the ****ing face and you are too ****ing stupid and stubborn to see it.

Such a weak excuse from him. He is clearly not up to it as coach.

The lack of breakaways from stoppages is because our players, since the dawn of the club's existence, have seemingly never been instructed to be on the move at stoppages. Our players also like to all swarm to the ball like Auskick kids. Quite unbelievable this has never been coached out of them.

Our mids usually all stand still for way too long, so naturally if/when they get the ball they aren't moving very fast to begin with, nor are there many options on the move or in space away from the pack.

A fella called Rhys Palmer could be good.

True. And I agree with you. But for whatever reason we've butchered the poor b*stard this year.

It may be that the coaches know he's already going elsewhere... would prefer to GWS as we'd get more out of it. But some folks have been saying he might be off elsewhere.

Dunno.

When we actually played Palmer midfield (amazing concept), he was very good in the clearances (a sight better than the Carrs, and Belly, and Crowley and whoever else we played in there) and accumulated a heap of the ball outside as well.

The issues with disposal became more apparent over time, but I still don't reckon that's enough to shaft him for. I reckon he's gone. Wish him luck though.

How good would it be if he sat out this year's draft, played cricket and nominated next year. We'd stand a much better chance of grabbing him then as it's supposed to be a great draft next year.

Would still be pushing sh*t uphill.

If I was Harvs I'd be telling the kid to fake OP through next year, eat Maccas and party for a year and we'll pick him up with our first pick next year when the heat is off him.

If he could get into a fist fight or two that'd be handy as well. Although it might make the Weagles go hell for leather for him... they rate that.

Draft tampering? For sure. Unrealistic? Undoubtedly. Awesome if it paid off? Abso-friggin'-lutely. :thumbsu::D

How good would it be if he sat out this year's draft, played cricket and nominated next year. We'd stand a much better chance of grabbing him then as it's supposed to be a great draft next year.

Would still be pushing sh*t uphill.

If I was Harvs I'd be telling the kid to fake OP through next year, eat Maccas and party for a year and we'll pick him up with our first pick next year when the heat is off him.

If he could get into a fist fight or two that'd be handy as well. Although it might make the Weagles go hell for leather for him... they rate that.

Draft tampering? For sure. Unrealistic? Undoubtedly. Awesome if it paid off? Abso-friggin'-lutely. :thumbsu::D

That article is ages old and Coniglio since has denied those claims. I am sure he will pick Footy over Cricket and will be drafted by GWS.

What can we offer GWS to get him at Freo

Palmer and this years First Rounder??

They can sign Palmer as a uncontracted players so a trade involving Palmer is not possible nor beneficial to us as the compensation pick we get for him will be ok.