Didak_84

Nov 24, 2003
St kilda
Why is Mckee still on our list, hes slow and cant hardly win any hitouts so why is he there thats all collingwood need is another decent ruckman who can back fraser up (that hair) maybe brent hall might be able to do it but hes to young at the moment they should of went after a ruckman who can at least win a hitout like mott or street to **** off mckee whos prob not ganna play many games next year and please tell me how ben kinear is still there.

He is on the list because he is good backup. Imagine if Fraser did a knee. Where would we be then?? We'd be using rucks with no afl experience. McKee brings that experience sure he aint Gardiner or king but he is very good at nullifying opposing rucks.

I think he is still contracted.
If we ditch him his salary is still counted in our TPP.

I think he has fallen behind Tex as far as our backup to Josh is concerned.
If Richards comes on this year he will fall even further behind.
Plus Cam Cloke will probably get a few games this year.

i think we still have him because he costs us nothing, whats the point of delisting him and getting pick 200?

well, McKee is all them things. He is slow, immobile, lazy and leap impared but he is our second best full time ruckman.
Kinnear is a fairly decent player. A tall forward that can get 15-16 possies is a valuable player. He needs to attack the goals more. He is a versitile player is getting more aggressive. He hasnt had any confidence since he 2000, and now he is a semi full time seniors player his confidence is growing immensly. Ive done my defending of Ben, im not gonna try and change any1's mind about him, but just remember he is a tall, not a midfielder, i think a lot of people forget that.

McKee will get plenty of game time if Richards doesnt stand up. The pressure on Richards is immense.

He might play a few games at key position, but he is not a ready made ruckman just yet. Some bigger players take 3 years before they are ready for senior footy.

Richards will be required to assist Fraser next year. If that doesnt work out it will be the old combination of McKee and Rocca.

Originally posted by leonmagic
C.Cloke WILL be ready in 2004, anyone who takes more than 2 years to play seniors is in trouble

He's only been on the list one year.

but if he doesnt play next year like u said, then it will be 2 years +

;)

nothing wrong with that either. He will play about 6-7 games next year, most of them off the bench, and will spend almost no time in the ruck.

C.Cloke WILL be ready in 2004, anyone who takes more than 2 years to play seniors is in trouble
Garry O'Donell, Michael Tuck and Bruce Doul played years in the 2's before becoming senior players. Plenty of players take 2+ years.

And on the topic - no idea. I understand the insurance argument but it's a weak one. If Fraser gets injurred McKee will still be a ruckman who can't win the ruck. Playing and untried player like Richards or Cloke would be a better long term decision and Rocca is there to help out and provide the muscle.

If McKee wasn't to be picked in the GF when we needed ruck backup I can't see why we'd keep him on the list. The salary cap can't be the reason. If we couldn't afford to pay out McKee we could never afford to pick up Stevens.

Talk of his hard ball gets is a furphy. He negates the opposition on a good day so the ball is at his feet. It is slow and inprecise clearance and it is hard for the forwards to read. A clean tap to a moving midfielder at the centre bounce so we can set up forwards is what we need to beat Brisbane. McKee can't do that so with McKee the odds are we can't win a premiership. Even if he were insurance it's a pointless policy. We are here to win the premiership and we have to structure a side accordingly. In 2002 we got close but when it counted we couldn't clear the centre cleanly and kick the goals we needed. McKee was very good in the QF against Port but that negating game is his high water mark. That's not good enough. He should have been traded or delisted and we should have taken a punt on someone else in the dratfe/trade and we should have backed Richards. Either way richards has to play most of the year so we can tell if he will make it.

Given that McKee effectively cost us a first round draft pick, should he not be given the #42 jumper for next season??

*Avoids rotten tomatos*

Seriously though, what Mark said. Cam would make a less inanimate emergency ruck and Richards, well, his chance is now!

I'd love us to do another "Steinfort" push (although not great for the security of players) and pick up the 'best of the rest' draftees (Surjan, Gayfer etc.) but it ain't gonna happen.

Originally posted by MarkT
Either way richards has to play most of the year so we can tell if he will make it.

Agree 1000%. He has to be selected rain hail or shine, and almost irrespective of his form he must play plenty of senior footy to be able to show what is worth.

Originally posted by Murray
I think he is still contracted.
If we ditch him his salary is still counted in our TPP.

I think he has fallen behind Tex as far as our backup to Josh is concerned.
If Richards comes on this year he will fall even further behind.
Plus Cam Cloke will probably get a few games this year.

geez youd be inn trouble if walker was in front of you....I really think he's found his level at williamstown....and cam cloke would need to lose some serious pounds to play any senior footy

Well the fact is Walker IS currently in front of McKee.
I suspect you didn't see to many Collingwood games in the second half of the season.

Just to help you out:
Tex was playing in the seniors and McKee was not. Tex also played in the GF (some say it was a mistake) but Malthouse obviously thought he was the better option.

Now call me old fashioned but in my mind that puts Walker in front of McKee or do you think Malthouse was just trying to gee up McKee for a big year in 2004.

As a footballer Tex is in front of McKee.

As a ruckman McKee is still miles ahead of Walker. The 2003 Grand Final selection of Walker was a monumental blunder (admittedly McKee was hardly going to be much better but he would have definitely been better at the bounces where Fraser needed help)

What about ****ing Richards and Shaw!!!! shaw took four years, and richards has been on the list for three??????????

Besides CLOKE will not be a ruckman!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can you see the 195CM Cloke jumping into Keating,Gardiner, Spider or bloody Primus!!!!!!! Now there is a show id pay money for. Cloke would get whored in the ruck more the Fraser does, Cloke a ruckman please wake up to your self mate. If CLoke becomes a dominant ruckman, or even a regular spot in the team as RUCKMAN, my word what will happen next BK for the brownlow, or even worse just to rub **** in all our faces Scotland for the brownlow by one vote over Burns!!!!

Steve Mckee