Steven Quartermain

as the journalist you are you must also be willing to cop your full share of criticism....you made it perfectly clear on tonight's One week at a time, that the top 5 (clutch) player list as categorized in descending order shows you have very limited knowledge of the Geelong footy club. Robert Walls had Joel Selwood listed as the number 4 player to lift a team when they needed it most but Quartermain along with Luke Darcy wholeheartedly disagreed. Steven Quartermain was quick to throw out Joel Selwood and Jobe Watson yet was more than satisified having two Hawthorn players in Franklin and Hodge. Jobe Watson has been sensational this year but in my view he has only started to perform at the same level that Joel has been performing consistently for the past 3 seasons, so a case for him not be included in the top 5 may be justified. If you actually took a closer look into both Hodge's stats and Selwood's then you see just how influential Joel has been performing this season yet alone the past 2010/2009 seasons. I will also argue that playing as a sweeper/utility as Hodge does on a weekly basis is not quite as demanding as the contested hard & under play of the number 1 midfield role he and Bartel get (just ask Enright & Kelly). I'd also point out the opposition in which Luke Hodge dominated on the weekend as it was depleted and running on empty in that final quarter. I think it was a bad call by Quartermain and he will most likely eat his own words on Saturday night. Joel Selwood is right now in awesome touch and one would not put it beyond him to come out against the Hawks and play BOG. He's been averaging over 28 touches a game and also adding goals to his repertoire.

Strangely enough there was not one Collingwood player on the top 5 clutch list either and considering those two have played all the "so called finalists" what else would Joel have to prove apart from winning another best & fairest, 3rd premiership? 'oh wait! He may need to get that brownlow medal too;)
Selwood is now on the same level as Luke Hodge and I will have proof to back up that claim this Saturday night.
Can't disagree with Buddy Franklin or Chris Judd though.

I'd take with a grain of salt anything Quarterbrain said.

nahh I'm not pissed mate but rather surprised. I still can't for the life of me understand why our club isn't getting as much recognition as Hawthorn and Collingwood do. Would be good to see some of James Kelly's gut running highlights at least once to sorta emphasize how good he is yet alone some of the new talent of Duncan, Menzel, Hunt and co. But as Gary Lyon said tonight....they are down the highway and go about their business week in and week out so it's probably the best scenario for us to keep quiet and under the radar.
It's not as if the Hawks have a bright future because their midfield which is what many rate as one of the best the key to the forward supply has 4 players whom turn 29 years of age in Mitchell, Burgoyne, Bateman and Osborne. So they too will need to make sure they are managed along efficiently

nahh I'm not pissed mate but rather surprised. I still can't for the life of me understand why our club isn't getting as much recognition as Hawthorn and Collingwood do. Would be good to see some of James Kelly's gut running highlights at least once to sorta emphasize how good he is yet alone some of the new talent of Duncan, Menzel, Hunt and co. But as Gary Lyon said tonight....they are down the highway and go about their business week in and week out so it's probably the best scenario for us to keep quiet and under the radar.
It's not as if the Hawks have a bright future because their midfield which is what many rate as one of the best the key to the forward supply has 4 players whom turn 29 years of age in Mitchell, Burgoyne, Bateman and Osborne. So they too will need to make sure they are managed along efficiently

A) Everyone has seen us beat their team and flog most teams incessantly over the past 5 years. They don't like it and so have stopped talking about us. Collingwood are the champion team now and will be talked up as such - they displaced us in the middle of last year. Hawthorn are that team that has been constantly talked up since 2008 but have done very little since. I don't think they warrant the hype, but they have to talk about someone other than Collingwood and if it's not the Hawks, it has to be us, which they don't want.

B) Most media 'experts' wrote us completely off. They all ravenously jumped on our supposed carcass at the end of last season and beginning of this one. Despite the fact we had been lauded by these same people as being a team full of champions with A graders across the park, the loss of Ablett and a burnt out coach was going to cripple us severely.

Now, we've started to prove them wrong, they're looking pretty silly. I still get the feeling they're waiting for us to lose, so they can stick the boots in again, telling us how old we are and the cracks we have showing. Early in the season, they prepared their long-winded articles pointing out our flaws, ready to roll out after our first loss but have had to leave them in the scrap heap. Now, they just ignore us in the hope we will go away one day so they can sit there acting as if the two teams we have beaten are the only ones in contention for the flag.

well put Biggy:thumbsu:
damn, can you just imagine what it would mean if we were able to do the near improbable and win a 3rd premiership in 5 years? We'd fair dinkum have to go down as the greatest football team in history. I just hope Bobby is watching over the boys this season and adds just a slight touch of divine intervention when truly needed:)

I'd prefer to listen to Tim Lane than Quarterbrain......

OH...no I wouldn't....

But that gives you an idea how much cred this guy has in my mind anyway.

The knob barracks for hawthorn, this should come as no surprise. Journalistic integrity? Pah, he's just following Walls and Lane as cheerleaders. Actually all the channel 10/1 crew is sickening in that respect.

Quatermain is a joke. I honestly do not understand what he adds.

He has never played football at any level. In fact, when they mic'd up Troy Chaplin, he showed genuine bewilderment at how football players interact on a football field. It was almost as if he'd never played any sport.

He is not particularly intelligent or sophisticated in the mold of a Gerard Whately or anything - and he doesn't think philosophically about the game.

He is overwhelmingly biased towards Hawthorn... perhaps even more so than Walls with Carlton. He reacts angrily when Hawthorn is criticised whilst constantly underselling and berating clubs like Collingwood and Geelong.

I genuinely don't see how employing a bloke like Quatermain is any different to employing an run-of-the-mill football fan with faux-intelluctualism, and who poorly feigns impartiality.

On the Selwood point - you're spot on. The amount of times that he is undersold by the media amazes me. I don't particularly like him, but no doubt he is ahead of blokes like Watson.

Settle, petals! ;)

Selwood's won more premierships in the past two years than anybody else discussed in this thread, and more personal honours as well (Rookie of the Year 2007, Bravest Player of the Year 2009). So why get all het up about a journo going subjective?

It's deeds rather than opinions that count, and Joel's deeds stand out. Mind you, they'll stand out even more when we take this year's flag and he takes home a Brownlow in September (cos we do both in the odd numbered years, remember?).

No journo has ever influenced the outcome of either.

Quaterbrain is clearly a hawks supporter. Nothing wrong with that except journalists are meant to remain bias free. Detested this bloke since he wrote an article in 2008 having a go at Geelong supporters. We were enjoying the start of our era and he wrote an article bagging geelong supporters and bring up the hawks of the 80's.

I think it's not worth getting p!$$ed off about any opinion peace written or talked about in the football media, particularly if their credentials are questionable. Just take heart in the fact that the vast majority of the playing group wouldn't even be aware of comments and articles such as this let-a-lone give them any credit.

As for flogs like Tim Lane, he has a good voice for play by play commentary and is rightfully employed as a play by play commentator on ten IMO. He's good at calling the action BUT some how someone along the line gave him a job to have an opinion and to write articles. Quartermain could be put in that line I suppose. They should probably stick to what gives them a bit of credibility and leave the analysis to people who know what they are talking about.

Quatermain is a joke. I honestly do not understand what he adds.

He has never played football at any level. In fact, when they mic'd up Troy Chaplin, he showed genuine bewilderment at how football players interact on a football field. It was almost as if he'd never played any sport.

He is not particularly intelligent or sophisticated in the mold of a Gerard Whately or anything - and he doesn't think philosophically about the game.

He is overwhelmingly biased towards Hawthorn... perhaps even more so than Walls with Carlton. He reacts angrily when Hawthorn is criticised whilst constantly underselling and berating clubs like Collingwood and Geelong.

I genuinely don't see how employing a bloke like Quatermain is any different to employing an run-of-the-mill football fan with faux-intelluctualism, and who poorly feigns impartiality.

On the Selwood point - you're spot on. The amount of times that he is undersold by the media amazes me. I don't particularly like him, but no doubt he is ahead of blokes like Watson.

The one thing about Quarterbrain though is that I dont think he comes across as intelligent at all.
When you see him talk on tv its just like he isnt the full quid or something.

Its pretty pathetic that someone that is supposed to be a network "anchor" along the likes of Mcavaney can be that biased!!

Quaterbrain is clearly a hawks supporter. Nothing wrong with that except journalists are meant to remain bias free. Detested this bloke since he wrote an article in 2008 having a go at Geelong supporters. We were enjoying the start of our era and he wrote an article bagging geelong supporters and bring up the hawks of the 80's.

Clearly.

And I think there is no place in media football coverage for biased commentators whatsoever because it just ends up infuriating half of the audience and doesnt enlighten our football viewing experience, and thats what they are supposed to be there for.

Remembering back to when 9 first had the footy rights and had signed Tim Lane on from ABC to call the games with Eddie and he backed out last minute due to some agreement that Eddie wasnt supposed to call Pies games and he did.

Listening to Eddie call pies games, and knowing how he bleeds Black and White, I thought he was one of the most fair and unbiased commentators that has called in recent times - especially seeing as how deeply entrenched in the club he is!!

These half rate journos like Lane and Quartermain who have never played league footy and whos only involvement in the clubs they support extends no further than a membership pass need to learn from blokes like McGuire on how it should be done.

Just like Chappy's 'pact', Tim has one of his own.

Never, ever mention Geelong again (until they begin to fulfil something that even roughly approximates the destiny he wrote for us at the end of last season).

Funny to hear Huddo chip him every now and then about Timbo's prediction for our 2011 season. Lane's discontent at being so palpably wrong couldn't be more apparent.

If we win the 2011 GF, the first voice-over after the siren should be the replayed audio of Lane's golden moment from late 2010 v. the Dogs...'the days of domination are over' (yes, this was early in the game we wound up winning by 102 points).

Quartermain is no great shakes, but for pure myopic bias Lane has him well and truly covered.

Long may their barely-concealed rage at the continued excellence of the hoops continue...

The one upside of the footy leaving 10 next year is no more Quarters. I used to like him, but is Hawks bias is just getting too much. I can't believe he actually said on air once that he is sick of Geelong games, as it's boring watching teams win by so much...

You're job is to call it so people watch it, not convince them to turn off the TV!

yeh Chappy is certainly there about's but I reckon we are really starting to see just what a superstar player Selwood is becoming and Robert Walls of all people has constantly spoken highly of him even comparing him with Chris Judd which is some accolade. Selwood's greatest strength is his will to impact a contest and put his body on the line to win the hardball. I must admit that Hodge has been doing this from day one but was just intersting to see Darcy & Quartermain scoff at Robert Walls list.

And I think there is no place in media football coverage for biased commentators whatsoever because it just ends up infuriating half of the audience and doesnt enlighten our football viewing experience, and thats what they are supposed to be there for.

These half rate journos like Lane and Quartermain who have never played league footy and whos only involvement in the clubs they support extends no further than a membership pass need to learn from blokes like McGuire on how it should be done.

How can you have an unbiased commentator who has been involved with a league club? The idea of having completely impartial commentators in this day and age (where a national competition has been around for a generation, rendering the Cometti-types extinct) is fanciful, to say the least. Maybe we should fly all the commentators in from Tasmania and the Tiwi Islands, to ensure their impartiality.

I'd go further and say, in many instances, having an intimate (and recent)understanding of the inner-sanctum of a club is often a great benefit (as in the case of people like Leigh Matthews and Tom Harley) for people who have to provide special comments during games.

It's the commentators who make no bones about where their allegiances lie and still remain professional (see: Hudson, Anthony) whom I greatly admire. I don't think Quartermain is over-the-top biased in favour of the Hawks; in fact, I've heard him tear them to absolute shreds on the air when they have given a lacklustre performance. I don't agree with him here, but I guess the last step for Selwood to take is to truly tear apart a big finals game. I wouldn't have Franklin up the top of the list either, he just cruises along, no matter what the stage is. He's not a choker, but he's not Nick Davis either.

Now, if they were dismissing Paul Chapman's credentials...

Valid points all round. I am not a fan of Quartermain and can fully understand why his bias is annoying. At the end of a Carlton game, Walls and Lane together almost make love to the Blues theme song.

Unfortunately it's just one of those things. Mcguire was terrible at it but to his credit, identified it as a weakness and got out.

I think the best I have ever heard was Clinton Grybas. Had no idea who he barracked for and was completely neutral.

On a side note, everyone who is involved in footy has a special bias to a team or player. Infact one of my best mates is a current field umpire and he is a one eyed Cats man who openly says that it is very difficult to not be biased when he adjudicates a Cats game. Just the way it is unfortunately.

Whats Franklin done in the last 2 and a bit seasons to merit the clutch tag?

who was each persons list.

Quartermaine's was Judd, Hodge, Franklin, Selwood and Watson.

All I can remember from Walls' was Judd, Franklin and J Brown - anyone else remember the other two? He didn't have any Geelong or Collingwood players.

The knob barracks for hawthorn, this should come as no surprise. Journalistic integrity? Pah, he's just following Walls and Lane as cheerleaders. Actually all the channel 10/1 crew is sickening in that respect.

Barracks for us when we're winning, first bloke to jump off when we struggle. Don't think any Hawthorn supporter has any respect for him. He is a joke

Quartermaine's was Judd, Hodge, Franklin, Selwood and Watson.

All I can remember from Walls' was Judd, Franklin and J Brown - anyone else remember the other two? He didn't have any Geelong or Collingwood players.

He had Hodge as well and Gary Ablett

Walls' picks:
1. Judd
2. Hodge
3. Franklin
4. Selwood
5. Watson

Darcy's picks:
1. Judd
2. Ablett
3. Hodge
4. Brown
5. Franklin

Can't recall if Quartermain said his, although he vehemently denied that Selwood and Watson would be in the list.

The ep video is on the website: www.one.com.au

For myself, I can't understand Franklin in both lists and I can't believe Jimmy Bartel not being on either list. ALWAYS brings it when the Cats need it.

On the topic of ****heads. Did anyone hear Walls on the weekend where Kelly ducked a tackle from Easton Wood and got a free kick (wrongly in my eyes)? They were harping on about how he was lucky (rightfully so) but then shitbreath Walls chips in and said if that one wasn't paid then Selwood would never have received a free kick in his life.

Was ready to drive there and bash.