Stevo = big loss

HeziBarecket

..I noticed on my Houla thread people comparing Stevo to Houla, nothing could be further from the truth. Until Judd came along and Murph and Gibbs matured a bit Stevo was pretty much a one-man midfield for us. During the dark year Stevo did everything and his class and panache was importing to the surviving mids we have like Carrots, Russel, Grigg and even Smurf and Gibbsy. Sure Judd gives all the other kids a masterclass in midfieldery each week, but Stevo was always the key to our minimal wins during that period and our ability to remian competitve.

Remember, Stevo was in the running to be our captain pre-Judd and it was terrible that we lost him due to his injury.

His loss has left a hole, and it really throws the gauntlet to shleppers like Houla and Grigg etc.al to tighten up their respective games, and youngsters like Yarran and Joseph to really start to step up.

The club should try to keep Stevo around in a developmental role, unless he's too busy building his landscaping business or looking into business opportunities with his mate Mick Gatto :p

But not all starchambers is spuds ;)

in reply to the OP...i seem to remember we didn't completely fall apart when Stevo was out of the side during the season. We'll be fine, i think the positives of Mclean cancel out the negatives of losing Stevo

HeziBarecket;16322928 His loss has left a hole said:
BS... Its a positive for the club. We will now field 22 committed players instead of 21. Our midfield might now be hard, accountable and not just run one way... Pre season standards will also lift... Its time to move on...

Stevens was a very overated footballer in my opinion,he never lived up to his potential really.

We did well when he wasn't playing those first few games. I have to say as in Carlton he and Whitnall have to be the most overated players to ever played for us that people thought were great players.

Guys like Aaron Hamill were underated

stevens is not that big a loss and will be covered

at his best he had exceptional disposal and could find the ball over and over again
at his worst he was lazy, unaccountable a sook

with stevens the majority of his games leaned towards the worst side of the ledger rather than the best

he played a lot of good games but for a player some regard so highly he did not have enough great games

I don't he is a massive loss.

He was unfit and playing across half back/forward. That is the same role Houla plays, we were struggling to carry two soft outside types and now we don't have to. Stevo was on way too much $$$ and although he was better than houla he wasn't worth double the money.

I agree with the above post...getting rid of Fev, Stevo and Cloke will be good for us in the long run.

With the development of guys like Murphy, Gibbs & Simpson, and with the acquisition of McLean, I don't believe Stevo retiring will hurt us that much. Sure, we will lose a heap of experience, but since he sustained his neck injury, he hasn't been the same footballer. I do admire him for continuing on after his surgery though. Very gutsy effort.

Losing a 2000-2006 version fo Stevens would be a massive loss.

2008-09 he was extremely erratic in his performance. I think we'll be a better side with McLean in and Stevens out. That said, i'd still like to have Stevens at the club.

The reality of the situation is that since his injury Steven's has really only stood up in about 2 games, of which one was against Richmond when Judd didn't play (the game where afterwards Polak got hit by a tram).

If he never got injured and with Judd coming on board his attitude and fitness regime may have changed and he may have got the best out of himself... but we can't lament on what ifs! He is gone and the best of him has been gone for about 3 years.

Now we have

Judd, Murphy, Gibbs, Mclean, Hadley, Simpson, Carazzo, Joseph, Browne, Armfield and Robinson all making a nucleus of a very diverse and talented midfield... where we can even throw in players like Betts, Russel, Scotland and Hoops who have show to be more than capable in the mid and even in time players like Yarran and Garlett will spend some time there.

Stevo's love for coming to PreSeason training over-weight wont be a big loss, neither will his love for a smoke, beer or a pizza be a big loss to young influenced kids looking to him for leadership.

Lets move forward now and thank players like Stevens and Fev for playing for our club... but seriously deep down you know that these 2 never gave 100% commitment to getting the most out of their talent, and playing with respect for the CarltonFC.... which is a downright shame on their part!

The man has retired and went through our toughest period without any support for most of his years here. Should be thanking him, rather than some of you bagging him IMO.

Read. Think. Post. Delete. Read. Think........

For an intelligent and witty poster, you can also be a smartarse. I wasnt having a crack at you - I was merely pointing out that an extension of your assessment of Stevens could easily include Simpson (hasn't yet played consistent quality footy), Carrazzo (hasn't been able to get close to his B&F form and opportunities are drying up), Houlihan (perfectly as you stated), Scotland (see Houlihan). Sorry if I caught you on a bad day.

My apologies, Alice. If you have another look at your post you may see how it could be misconstrued. However, yes I can be a smartarse although my intention in this situation was aiming more at smarty pants. Again, sorry if I offended you when it was uncalled for. :)

You can STFU, Splendini. :cool:

I'd give the VC to Eddie Betts.

Our most modest player, works his guts off and always does his role or better.

The young guys should look at his example instead of useless arrogant showponies like Stevens, Houlihan, fisher, Bannister and Fevola.

A guy that had to earn his spot in life not like those useless disgusting ticks.

Bi-polar much?

The man has retired and went through our toughest period without any support for most of his years here. Should be thanking him, rather than some of you bagging him IMO.

you could argue that stevens and the way he went about his training and some aspects of his football is part of the reason why we went through those dark days.

as one of the leaders of the club, the most experienced player on our list to turn up to pre season training looking more like strauhnie than an elite footballer.
support................... he was setting the example, unfortunatly it was a poor example.

stevens was not the only one in the boat.

lets thank him for his services to Carlton FC, but lets not make excuses for him as IMO he has brought the critisism he gets from his own doing.

..I noticed on my Houla thread people comparing Stevo to Houla, nothing could be further from the truth. Until Judd came along and Murph and Gibbs matured a bit Stevo was pretty much a one-man midfield for us. During the dark year Stevo did everything and his class and panache was importing to the surviving mids we have like Carrots, Russel, Grigg and even Smurf and Gibbsy. Sure Judd gives all the other kids a masterclass in midfieldery each week, but Stevo was always the key to our minimal wins during that period and our ability to remian competitve.

Remember, Stevo was in the running to be our captain pre-Judd and it was terrible that we lost him due to his injury.

His loss has left a hole, and it really throws the gauntlet to shleppers like Houla and Grigg etc.al to tighten up their respective games, and youngsters like Yarran and Joseph to really start to step up.

The club should try to keep Stevo around in a developmental role, unless he's too busy building his landscaping business or looking into business opportunities with his mate Mick Gatto :p
A hole that closed faster than Murph's ringpiece when drunk Fev grabbed a dildo on Mad Monday.

I think we've had enough personnel to cover that loss for some time. :rolleyes:

you could argue that stevens and the way he went about his training and some aspects of his football is part of the reason why we went through those dark days.

as one of the leaders of the club, the most experienced player on our list to turn up to pre season training looking more like strauhnie than an elite footballer.
support................... he was setting the example, unfortunatly it was a poor example.

stevens was not the only one in the boat.

lets thank him for his services to Carlton FC, but lets not make excuses for him as IMO he has brought the critisism he gets from his own doing.

Well said. Very accurate.