Stop defending yesterdays heroes

• Thread starter Thread starter bluehouse

Thats a great defence for Campbell. Everything is his fault, therefore he is blameless for the things he is responsible for. Great smokescreen. I am sure this sort of rubbish is what has kept him at the club for so long. That and lots of sucking up.

Maybe you should use that defence for Chaffey as well. Forget that he cant kick, he is slow and turns the ball over constantly. He is responsible for the worlds woes and should be blameless as well.

Actually the whole team should be blameless for getting pumped on the weekend. It wasnt their fault, because they have done everything else wrong.

By that logic, Danny was a great coach and the wooden spoon last year is what we are aspiring to.

Jezza=Tool. (But dont worry its all his fault, therefore it isnt his fault).

jezza said:
Wayne Campbell is clearly responsible for the position Richmond is in right now. His poor list management has left us in a hole, his financial management has been shocking, racking up a $2m loss last year, he single handedly sacked Knights from the captaincy and now he's gone and forced Jay Schulz to drink drive. When will the club learn and get rid of this guy? Bugger the fact he's been one of our best for the last 10 years, he is a scapegoat and no matter what anyone says, he is the ONLY reason our club is at the bottom of the barrel right now.

Yep, use personal insults, because that's the way to win an argument. Calling me a tool only makes one person actually look like a tool, and it's not me.

Perhaps you should read my thoughts on Chaffey as posted in the Chaffey thread if you want my opinion.

I'm more than happy to highlight the players and coaches that have been poor and let the club down. But is Wayne Campbell in that group? Does he deserve the level of criticism he receives, especially from Richmond supporters? No.

You're just one of these people that watches a player struggle 2004, and therefore extrapolate that that is how he has played his entire career. You are unable to separate last year from the rest of his career. I'm more than happy to admit he was very poor last year and one of the major offenders when it came to short sideways chipping and poor disposal. Was he lucky to stay on? Yes, but now that he's here for the rest of the year I am willing to judge him on how he has gone so far, and that is that he was in our top 5 or 6 against the Cats, showing he still has a lot to offer the club.

I saw knights first game in the under 19's. I saw campbells first game.

I saw your above post and you got the response you deserve.

It was absolute rubbish. If you are going to write rubbish, dont cry when you dont like the response.

If you have written constructive statements elsewhere on this board, good on you. But you certainly havent in this thread.

Campbell has been woeful for a long time now. Its time you had a reality check and stopped living in the past.

jezza said:
Yep, use personal insults, because that's the way to win an argument. Calling me a tool only makes one person actually look like a tool, and it's not me.

Perhaps you should read my thoughts on Chaffey as posted in the Chaffey thread if you want my opinion.

I'm more than happy to highlight the players and coaches that have been poor and let the club down. But is Wayne Campbell in that group? Does he deserve the level of criticism he receives, especially from Richmond supporters? No.

You're just one of these people that watches a player struggle 2004, and therefore extrapolate that that is how he has played his entire career. You are unable to separate last year from the rest of his career. I'm more than happy to admit he was very poor last year and one of the major offenders when it came to short sideways chipping and poor disposal. Was he lucky to stay on? Yes, but now that he's here for the rest of the year I am willing to judge him on how he has gone so far, and that is that he was in our top 5 or 6 against the Cats, showing he still has a lot to offer the club.

tigertime said:
I dont think it is appropriate for you to be advocating a player to be hanged JohnF or making light of the Tsunami.

If this is the basis of your sense of humour, then you must be a very dry, boring individual.

lol, if you can't catch the flavour of the joke then it's you that is the very dry, boring individual.

tigertime said:
Campbell has been woeful for a long time now. Its time you had a reality check and stopped living in the past.

For how long has he been woeful?

Was he woeful in 2002 when he was our best player?

Was he woeful in 2003 when he was on the way to being our best player before he got injured?

Was he woeful in 2004 when he missed a few games and was still around the 11th best player for the club and averaged 22 disposals a game?

That might be woeful for what is expected of a captain, but after coming back from an achilles injury and playing the year out with other minor injuries, I thought he was ok.

Campbell was one of only a few tigers on Sunday who played smart footy when we were getting thrashed... He's probably one of the most hated players in the league.. I honestly can't see it, can someone fill me in on what i'm missing?

Colonel Matrix said:
Campbell was one of only a few tigers on Sunday who played smart footy when we were getting thrashed... He's probably one of the most hated players in the league.. I honestly can't see it, can someone fill me in on what i'm missing?

- He had long hair and looked like a love-me-do in his younger days.

- He never suffered fools lightly and didn't give supporters the time of day in his younger years.

- He never shows emotion and hasn't smiled once in 15 years.

- He has a reputation for being soft and a reciever.

- He has a reputation of never putting his body on the line.

- He has a reputation for going missing in big games

- He has a reputation of not being able to hurt teams with his disposal, whihc are all 15 metre chip kicks sidesways or kicks that go 20 metres up and twenty metres across the ground which he pulls off when threatened that he is going to get crunched.

- He holds up play with his disposal which allows opposition defenders to man up and thwart our attacks.

- He wanted to leave the club at the end of 1998.

- He is blamed for stabbing Knights in the back and taking the captaincy off him.

Colonel Matrix said:

- Richmond fans have spent 20 years over-rating their players and condemn anyone with a bit of talent who doesn't become a match winner

- it is easier to blame a coach or player than to admit that we have a rubbish list that is years away from being good

- Richmond fans haven't seen a good football team in 20 years and some have lost touch with changes in the game. They haven't quite twigged that most of the players in the game are receivers and maintaining possesion has become more important than kicking it to Royce.

- They are still miffed that Campbell called it correctly when he said he wanted to leave the club because he was frightened that if he stayed he would have wasted his career without ever being at a good club or playing regular finals.

- Heaps of fans only like the highlight-reel moments and so Knights is a God despite the fact that he never ever manned up and always did his own thing. Anyone or anything that is anti-Knights is the devil and they assume Campbell must have played a part in Knights losing the captaincy.

Weaver- Heaps of fans only like the highlight-reel moments and so Knights is a God despite the fact that he never ever manned up and always did his own thing. Anyone or anything that is anti-Knights is the devil and they assume Campbell must have played a part in Knights losing the captaincy.[/QUOTE said:
Nathan Buckley ?
Robert Harvey ?

Knights was a Rolls Royce who carved sides up . He was hunted , not the hunter .

The fact is massive chunks of Knights` career belong on the highlights reel

Gee Whiz Weazer, i`m sensing a bit of your election hysteria creeping in in that paragraph.

Ridiculous criticism of Knights

In 2001 Broderick was pretty much washed up as a player. Too slow and couldn't run out a full game. But we won a lot of close games that year and much of it was due to the cool head under pressure and experience of Broderick. Last weekend wasn't a close game, but if it wasn't for the cool head and experience of Campbell, the 60 point thrashing would have been an 80 or 90 point thrashing.

While we are bringing on a lot of kids, we are going to have games when we are flogged and others where their enthusiasm brings off surprise wins. That tends to be the trademark of very young sides. But we'll need a few old heads like Campbell to steady things at times.

JohnF said:
- He had long hair and looked like a love-me-do in his younger days.

- He never suffered fools lightly and didn't give supporters the time of day in his younger years.

- He never shows emotion and hasn't smiled once in 15 years.

- He has a reputation for being soft and a reciever.

- He has a reputation of never putting his body on the line.

- He has a reputation for going missing in big games

- He has a reputation of not being able to hurt teams with his disposal, whihc are all 15 metre chip kicks sidesways or kicks that go 20 metres up and twenty metres across the ground which he pulls off when threatened that he is going to get crunched.

- He holds up play with his disposal which allows opposition defenders to man up and thwart our attacks.

- He wanted to leave the club at the end of 1998.

- He is blamed for stabbing Knights in the back and taking the captaincy off him.

ROFLMAO@JohnF able to argue it either way!!!

Legend!

Only thing you left off the list was Campbell was best mates & shared a flat with Nick Daffy

Is Wayne Campbell into your missus tigertime? I dont mean to start fires but Matty Knights(as much as i love him) was less inclined to get his hands dirty to put it nicely than Campbell. Thats not for everyone mind you as his body type and great skills were best served as an outside player. A very good one at that.But unless the number 9 I watch every week differs to yours, you are unbelievably biased on this subject.

The way our club is going with its finances and now the possible loss of a major sponsor all we may have in the future is Campbell v Knights Debates

Enjoy it while it lasts Lads !!

:mad:

You obvious missed how knights did his knee kicking a goal against carlton.

He had a choice, kick the goal and have a carlton player clean him up.

Not kick the goal and take the soft option ala wayne campbell.

History shows that knights always put his body on the line. The fact that he had great evasive skills and could read the ball ahead of everyone else does not change this fact.

You dont know what you are talking about rodney.

As to weaver, you lost the election buddy. Your wa*ker stats dont mean nothing. The election was proof of that. Campbell is retiring at the end of the year. Wallace has seen to that. At least Wallace has the decency to let Campbell finish his career in a respectable manner.

JohnF, I take my hat off to you. You do have a sense of humour after all. You just hide it well.

RodneyDangerfield said:
Is Wayne Campbell into your missus tigertime? I dont mean to start fires but Matty Knights(as much as i love him) was less inclined to get his hands dirty to put it nicely than Campbell. Thats not for everyone mind you as his body type and great skills were best served as an outside player. A very good one at that.But unless the number 9 I watch every week differs to yours, you are unbelievably biased on this subject.

I am aware of the Knights incident you refer to,and many other magnificent things he achieved,as I am Campbell. It is just that you choose to ignore the many times he too has put it on the line for the tigers.Anyway in the current climate it's probably best to appreciate what they both have given the club, unlike some others.

I reckon their is a twig where your head is.

There arent many receivers in the brisbane lions team.

Most players on that list go in and win their own football.

Port isnt much different.

Carlton under Pagan isnt much different either.

The two teams with the most receivers are Geelong & St Kilda and the reality is, as soon as they are put under pressure, their game plan falls apart.

Weaver said:
They haven't quite twigged that most of the players in the game are receivers and maintaining possesion has become more important than kicking it to Royce.

tigertime said:
You obvious missed how knights did his knee kicking a goal against carlton.

He had a choice, kick the goal and have a carlton player clean him up.

Not kick the goal and take the soft option ala wayne campbell.

History shows that knights always put his body on the line. The fact that he had great evasive skills and could read the ball ahead of everyone else does not change this fact.

So history shows Knights put his body on the line by being cleaned up in once incident?

Fuhk even Daffy put his body on the line once against Carlton where he got injured.

I can name some for Campbell as well just last year :
1. Standing in front of Barry Hall and taking a mark whilst he got crunched.
2. Getting the ball to Richo for a goal against the Bombers where he got crunched by Kepler Bradley and did his shoulder.

Doesn't mean there is a history of Campbell always putting his body on the line. Just as Daffy didn't always put his body on the line - he hardly ever did. And it doesn't mean that Knights did either. I have seen Knights squib overhead marks quite a few times in the fear that he would get crunched.

JohnF, I take my hat off to you. You do have a sense of humour after all. You just hide it well.

;)

jezza said:
Another solid game from Campbell, making a good contribution so far this year....

Did ok in the last quarter, but was quiet before that - granting Wallace had used him sparingly.

Did some deft handballs which allowed us to get a few vital clearances in the last quarter.