STRIKE WEAPONS- Tracking Freo's Forward's

• Thread starter Thread starter Freo95

I hate these putfile links.

Yes I thought the article was interesting, but I wish it had included the other tall forwards. Sandilands kicked a couple and is a moster up there. And I'd love to get a clearer picture of what Murphy's role is going to be. Will he simply hang around in the square to keep someone away from Pav and Tarrant?

With Tarrant and Pavlich on opposite sides of the forward 50m -with a ruckman or Ryan Murphy always plonked in the goal square - the pair would almost always head in seperate directions or for vacant space.
So diciplined were Pavlich and Tarrant that they clashed at the same marking contest only twice in nearly 50 forward entries.
So i believe Murphy's role will be to hang around in the square. :thumbsu:

The triangle formation sounds promising, with Tarrantula and Pav starting about 40 metres from goal. There will still be opportunities for Murphy, as atleast one of them will lead up the ground to present an option freeing up space inside 50.

...........Murphy
...........Farmer
Pavlich............Tarrant
------50 metre line------
...........Solomon
...........Headland

There are heaps better options for free image hosting...e.g Google photos. Just get a gmail account and it is all there for you. putfile is bad for images.

Appreciate the effort though

I like the sound of that Dom. Keeps some distance between Pav and Taz so their defenders can't zone off and create a third man at the contest. After all that's why we recruited Taz.

Encouraging to hear that they rarely went at the same contest against Ade - sounds like they've been well drilled by the coaching staff. There's potential for a great partnership there. I'm getting excited...

The triangle formation sounds promising, with Tarrantula and Pav starting about 40 metres from goal. There will still be opportunities for Murphy, as atleast one of them will lead up the ground to present an option freeing up space inside 50.

...........Murphy
...........Farmer
...........Solomon
...........Headland

I was wondering how Solomon played, we don't get anything over here. Whats the best Fremantle paper to look at in regards to the footy. Thanks

...........Murphy
...........Farmer
...........Solomon
...........Headland
I agree with the only difference being Freo will play a 5 man forward line, IMO Solly will play as the spare down back, he reads the play so well and has pretty good disposal skills.

Gee Undertaker, that is a strange call. Goes against what the coaches have said as well as the way they have played during the pre-season. CC seems to like the idea of a big body doing some crash and bash in the forward line. I like it too.

I have also read a few comments by Bomber supporters who reckon one of Solomon's biggest problems was his penchant for giving away free kicks, which killed them in the back line. I'd rather have Mundy bing the free man down back.

yeah solly will probably just float between half forward and half back collecting possesions at will. How good is the dockers forward line. Everyone will be lining up on pavlich and tarrant, this leaves murphy and our resting ruckman down their. We all no longmuir can play at full forward, he won the leading goalkicker award 4 yrs ago.

Solomon will play the forward enforcer just as Cook did toward the end of last season. He will be asked to run into the square at the bounce and crash n bash just like Cooky did last year. The coaches have said this all pre season.

That's what I am expecting too. Plus in those nifty little forward line duets that have been choreographed for Pav and Tarrant, I reckon Solomon is going to be in the business of making backmen a little nervous.