Stuff from School Revisited.

Exers, Gryffindor, Rich+Ess AFLW, Tassie
Some things from school forever stay with us do to interest and relevance and vice versa.

In Year 10, I was taught an acronym called MAPABIU.
Make A Point And Back It Up.

if you're making a statement, you need to understand what you're saying and you better be able to back up those statements with sources and you better be able to argue your points when being questioned about such statements and claims. (Something I have never been able to do.)

It is something you don't see from Football journalists.

My take is that, unless you have the proof that ably rides on the back of your thoughts, it will be rendered nothing more than an opinion piece or a view expressed verbally.

Saw someone with a canvas backpack the other day. Those were the ream coloured kind people wrote band names on.

Memories came flooding back. Like in Year 9 when I had Ratcat on mine an got beaten up for it.

My lesbian year seven teacher also disappeared for six weeks in what I subsequently discovered to be compassionate leave because her girlfriend left her. There was also a weird arse drama teacher who used to do cartwheels, and she didn't wear knickers under her dress. Such was life in the public education system in the early 80s.

Yeah we had a teacher who had her fiance leave her. The headmaster announced it over the PA so everyone knew and to be 'easier' on her when she got back. Of course we ****ing wouldn't.

Croatian teacher we had showed racy SBS like movies for us in English. **** and all. Everyone dared each other to proposition her as everyone was convinced she wanted to **** students. She wasn't half bad actually. No one did proposition her of course. One kid at school refused to be taught be her because his family was Serbian and it was early 90s so things in the former Yugoslavia were a bit hairy.

I remember buying lunch from the canteen in primary school was a Friday treat.

Pikelets or a cheesie at recess, something like a pie or sausage roll at lunch, and one of those 300 mL cartons of flavoured milk or orange juice. On a summer's day perhaps a Funny Face / Paddle Pop / Billabong.

Never once went to the school with note currency, though. All of the above for $2-3.

kids flinging stones onto the packed school oval via tennis racquets lol

We'd blindly throw full apples over the roof of the school buildings into the packed area where kids were waiting for their bus, then try and dash through as quickly as possible to survey the damage

Simpler times

We used to sing the national anthem and the Lord's Prayer before school assembly. I think that stopped about year 4, so 1993.
I was schooled in three states, and WA was the only place that I went to school where there was religion in state schools.

We'd blindly throw full apples over the roof of the school buildings into the packed area where kids were waiting for their bus, then try and dash through as quickly as possible to survey the damage

Simpler times

We did this into the courtyard. Also when a basketball came down from the courts it would get roosted back hoping to scone someone of course.

Fights were always good fun as well of course, they'd never last long enough to get over there though. And if there was a planned one after school the crowd would be that big it would be dead obvious.

I was schooled in three states, and WA was the only place that I went to school where there was religion in state schools.

Trying to think back I don't remember any religious indoctrination other than singing the Lord's Prayer.

I know 'Away in a Manger' and stuff like that, so I may have learned that at school. It's how they get you, by teaching you things you don't know you are learning.

I thought nothing of it as a kid, but if I was a parent now and the school wanted to teach religion I'd be forming an angry mob.

My lesbian year seven teacher also disappeared for six weeks in what I subsequently discovered to be compassionate leave because her girlfriend left her. There was also a weird arse drama teacher who used to do cartwheels, and she didn't wear knickers under her dress. Such was life in the public education system in the early 80s.

They didn't teach lesbian at my boys school.

We did this into the courtyard. Also when a basketball came down from the courts it would get roosted back hoping to scone someone of course.

Fights were always good fun as well of course, they'd never last long enough to get over there though. And if there was a planned one after school the crowd would be that big it would be dead obvious.

I reckon we had one fight in my entire time - there was however this one time a random dude off the street walked onto school property and king hit a guy.

Went to school between 1964-1975.

Getting the cane on the tips of the fingers, gee those teachers were sadists.

Chalk and dusters getting thrown at you.

Going into the cricket nets for a trial and having the PE teacher bowl thunder bolts at you and that was pre helmet times, it was one of my scariest moments and put me off playing cricket competitively for ever.

The girls and teachers (high school) wearing really short mini skirts.

Had a science teacher that was a dead ringer for Colonel Sanders.

Went to school 1999-2011

A lot of pokemon trading in primary school and there was always that one campaigner who spammed legendaries.

Then played a lot of Resident evil and tekken in year 9 and 10, I spend all class knifing a tyrant because my mate had all the good guns the twat.

I remember buying lunch from the canteen in primary school was a Friday treat.

Pikelets or a cheesie at recess, something like a pie or sausage roll at lunch, and one of those 300 mL cartons of flavoured milk or orange juice. On a summer's day perhaps a Funny Face / Paddle Pop / Billabong.

Never once went to the school with note currency, though. All of the above for $2-3.

Apparently canteens suck now. Interesting as they used to be a major revenue source for some schools but because little timmy might get fat from a cookie at the canteen (not the 435 he eats before and after school) they changed it