Celtics, Tottenham, Oakland Raiders
Just wonder what people's thoughts are on who will retire after 2013, 14 and 15; as well as whether we have adequate replacements already.

Here are the most likely candidates and their ages as of March 2013:

Ben Johnson 31 years - 11 months

Darren Jolly 31 years - 04 months

Quinten Lynch 30 years - 02 month

Alan Didak 30 years - 01 month

Andrew Krakouer 30 years - 01 month

Nick Maxwell 29 years - 09 months

Dane Swan 29 years - 01 month

Luke Ball 28 years - 10 months

Swan probably has a good 3-4 years left in him by the looks of the bloke. Ball maybe 2-3 as well. I believe we're covered in the midfield. Sidebottom is only going to get better and Beams with another couple of pre seasons is a scary thought.

Jolly has maybe 1 more season left in him I think. Lynch 1-2. I'd say Witts and Grundy has the potential to not just replace, but improve, if all turns out like we hope.

Krakouer might string a couple more years out purely because he hasn't put his body through 12 straight years at the highest intensity of the game. Fasolo, Elliot and Mooney can hopefully be groomed into some gun small forwards!

Johnson will retire at the end of this season in my opinion. And Marley Williams will take his place and do it well!

Swan signed a deal late year and said it was his last. Was it 2 years?.

Bj will certainly retire at the end if 2013 and i think jolly and dids will too

Swan signed a deal late year and said it was his last. Was it 2 years?.

Bj will certainly retire at the end if 2013 and i think jolly and dids will too

Swans last deal was a 4 year one.. i think next year is his 3rd year of it. After that i think he will sign a 1 or 2 year extension then retire.

Just wonder what people's thoughts are on who will retire after 2013, 14 and 15; as well as whether we have adequate replacements already.

Here are the most likely candidates and their ages as of March 2013:

Ben Johnson 31 years - 11 months

Darren Jolly 31 years - 04 months

Quinten Lynch 30 years - 02 month

Alan Didak 30 years - 01 month

Andrew Krakouer 30 years - 01 month

Nick Maxwell 29 years - 09 months

Dane Swan 29 years - 01 month

Luke Ball 28 years - 10 months

Johnson - Ramsay/Seedsmen

Jolly - Witts

Didak - Kennedy/Fasolo

Krakeour - Kennedy/edwards

Maxwell - Goldsack

Swan - Broomhead/Fasolo/Elliot

Ball - need to get a longeran/caddy type in the 2013 draft

Johnson - Russell / Williams / Ramsay
Jolly - Witts / Grundy
Lynch - Gault / Moore
Didak - Fasolo / Kennedy
Krakouer - Elliott / Edwards
Maxwell - O'Brien (Will change roles from being a shut down defender to become a 3rd tall / loose man role that Maxy does)
Swan - Sidebottom
Ball - Blair

Ball - need to get a longeran/caddy type in the 2013 draft
Or a Ball as a free agent.
Succession planning for particular players is tail chasing IMO. Drafty the best talent and fill the holes with trades and free agents. If near the end of this year Jolly looks shot and Witts isn't ready or good enough then wed need an established ruck not a beanpole kid.

We were fortunate this year that best available co-incided with need as far as Grundy is concerned. I would really have preferred that Josh Simpson slid one more spot too, but you can't have everything.

While I'm a fan of Gault and I think Paine will make it, I think key forward is an area to address and it's a shame that Moore is 2 years away and not 1. If he was 2013 draftable you wouldn't give key forward a lot more thought, but at this stage we've traded away Dawes and Lynch has only a few years in him. Perhaps we are considering Grundy as a short term key forward which is not unreasonable. Certainly it appears Hine moved away from drafting a key forward (presumably O'Brien?) once Grundy was available at #18.

I'm not concerned about the "big bodied" inside mid; to my mind you'd take a Lonergan if someone like that is available, as they have pace and burst while coming into the AFL with a ready-made physique, but otherwise if you go chasing those types they often end up one-dimensional plodders against men. Ball and Swanny weren't trucks when they were drafted; we can develop guys like Fasolo and Marley Williams to play a more contested style over time and seek to draft someone while Ball and Swan are still around.

I think that BJ, Jols and Dids are gone at the end of next season. I Thought Benny would retire at the end of the last, Jols is running on empty and with Grundy & Witts coming up he might want to step aside and I remember saying Dids wanted to go the the 2014 World Cup so I think he'll go too.

Lynch signed for 2 so that would be the end of 2014 for him. Swanny, Kraks and maybe even Maxy will go at the end of 2014 as well. Swan said he wanted to retire 'young' and didn't want his career to drag on and Kraks I think will be ready to go by then. Maxy I'm not too sure about, he may want to move on but I see him maybe retiring 2015. I do think he'll have given up the captaincy by this stage. Bally I think will finish 2015.

Ben Johnson End 2013

Darren Jolly End 2014 - Looks like he's enjoying his footy, his body will be well managed to extend an extra year

Quinten Lynch End 2014 - Purely a guess he'll leave at the end of his current contract

Alan Didak End 2014 - He'll want to go around one more year and I think the club will let him

Andrew Krakouer End 2015 - he's vital for the team and he's still young in football years

Nick Maxwell End 2013 - my bold prediction - I love Maxy and think he's a great leader, but think the end will come quickly for him (his choice)

Dane Swan End 2014 - I reckon he'll be true to his word and leave at the end of his current contract.

Luke Ball End 2015 - Like Jolly, his body will be well managed to keep him around as long as possible

I have a feeling a year off for Ball will be a godsend. I think he might have a huge couple of years and still be a quality player for a couple of years after that. I will be interested to watch how he runs and kicks in the pre season games.

Smokey for the Copeland.

We are well placed fortunately now for Jolly's pending leave with Witts and Grundy coming through. Gee, what a bonus that was on draft day.

The hardest guys to replace will be Dane Swan and Luke Ball. These are once in a generation type players, particularly Swan. Champions of the modern game like Swanny are simply irreplaceable IMO. We just need to hope that someone else kicks on and has their time in the sun and steps up to become a superstar.

I have a feeling a year off for Ball will be a godsend. I think he might have a huge couple of years and still be a quality player for a couple of years after that. I will be interested to watch how he runs and kicks in the pre season games.

Smokey for the Copeland.

I don't think doing your knee is the same as having a year off... it will affect him mentally and physically next year. Hayes did show you can come back after a knee reco for a great year, but don't expect Ball to as well.

I think our succession planning is well in hand, particularly after the outstanding trade and draft period. Who would have thought, after the awful year with Dawes and Wood and lack of support for workhorse Jolly, that we would address that problem so apparently efficiently? Pendles is the successor to Maxy. We have other young guns, and on field leaders in waiting, in Sidey, Beams, Reid etc. We also have the next tier (hopefully) coming through in Fasolo, Elliott, and co. The Pies have been pretty ruthless in addressing needs, both short and long term, but they had to be. There is also a strong whiff of Bucks to all this, which is very exciting. I sense a steely resolve in our current planning, a real structure and purpose. I'm way more confident about our prospects, longer term, while still being excited about 2013.

I don't think doing your knee is the same as having a year off... it will affect him mentally and physically next year. Hayes did show you can come back after a knee reco for a great year, but don't expect Ball to as well.

It's hard to tell how anyone will come back from a knee, Ball is younger than Hayes was.
There is no reason he can't have an impact in 2013

Good point but I actually do expect (hope?) him to come back better because he is mentally as equpiied as anyone to overcome those issues and his prior physical limitation will benefit from a year off. His groins have had a year off. You can bet your left one he has trained as hard as anyone once he became able to. He has probably had the best pre season he's had for a long time.

It sounds funny but I think Swan is underrated.

:oops:

He will be most difficult to replace.

He kicks multiple goals 7/10 weeks and still gets heaps of the ball regardless of the time he spends up forward on on the pine.

Freak, and whoever said once in a generation player is correct.

TBH thank **** we have Pendlebury.

He kicks multiple goals 7/10 weeks and still gets heaps of the ball regardless of the time he spends up forward on on the pine.

You have to take into account Swan is a VERY aggressive midfielder... doesn't really do any defensive work like Ball and Blair do, so you have to take that into consideration when assessing his value to us, not just his offensive stuff. hopefully a broomhead or kennedy can replace him

I agree, can't be a team of frontrunners eg carlton.

still, his output is quite high in most big games (except grand finals perhaps)

I don't know how you all feel about Swan saying he want's to retire at the end of 2014.
For me i feel it is completely premature, especially since we will still be imo in the hunt for premierships. I get that he is good mates with BJ and Dids and they are going to be gone, but surely he could hang around for another 2 years and see what happens.
As a member and a massive fan of Swanny i think he should play on, especially as it could be the difference in us winning more flags.

Simply won't replace Swan with anyone on the current list. Brownlow medalists aren't underrated. When Swan retires that will be our decline down the ladder.