PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
People who take there own lives disgust me.I can understand why people say its selfish because it IS!My sister has a terminal illness and doesnt get the choice of whether to live or not and theres tossers going around doing it to themselves.Originally posted by 35eye
I can empathise with people who have suicidal thoughts. Frightening stuff. One thing I can never understand is people who rant and rave about how selfish others are that choose to take their own lives.

Originally posted by 35eye
I can empathise with people who have suicidal thoughts. Frightening stuff. One thing I can never understand is people who rant and rave about how selfish others are that choose to take their own lives.

Originally posted by you_idiot
"Suicide is a permanant solution to temporary problems".
Originally posted by Sydneyfan
Just goes to show how one small action can dramatically change someone's life. Also goes to show that if you see someone looking down, maybe just a word of G'Day could be enough to change that person's day or even their life!
Originally posted by mantis
Sometimes though the person doesn't want to acknowledge they have a problem & in doing so refuse help, even though someone close to them knows they are in pain & wants to help them, but they don't want to admit to the world that they have a problem & aren't in control of their life.

Originally posted by Squeak
Get back to me after the footy.
C'mon mate, that is harsh. In fact, ironically, it is a fairly selfish view!Originally posted by dogboy23
People who take there own lives disgust me.I can understand why people say its selfish because it IS!My sister has a terminal illness and doesnt get the choice of whether to live or not and theres tossers going around doing it to themselves.![]()
Mate I am not hear sooking but myself and my family have not exactly had an easy or enjoyable life(especially the rest of my family mine is very easy in comparison) so I cannot see how anyone can justify taking there own life.I have seen some ****ed up **** and still cant see how anyone could do it.Just my opinion but I feel I have seen enough despite my young age to form a fairly strong case on this matter.Originally posted by FIGJAM
C'mon mate, that is harsh. In fact, ironically, it is a fairly selfish view!
The quality comment in the thread of "a permanent solution to temporary problems" is a good one. It highlights perception!
Life is perception. You should count yourself lucky that you have never encountered a situation that you consider that vast, that you will never, ever be able to be "normal" again. And you should count yourself lucky that you have never had a chemical imbalacnce in your brain.
I work on the principle if things were that bad that I ever got suicidal , I would just pack up and p*ss off overseas (like a hobo or something!)! But that doesn't mean I can't understand that there are people out there that that wouldn't be an option for.
I fully sympathise with your sister's situation and wish her and your family the very best of luck!