Sumich gone, replacement needed

Re: Confirmed: Sumich to Fremantle

I have always been concerned that Woosha had too many "yes" men and friends around him who did not stand up to him when changes were required. Though its sad that Sumich has gone to the purple mob down the road I am glad that we have been given to opportunity to add new blood to the coaching group. I wonder how Sumich will feel walking past an empty trophy cabinet on his way to his new office. Time to move on to our next premiership.

Obviously wants to work under a different head coach and didn't want to leave WA. Bit of a hit that he is going to freo but good luck to him. Has showed great loyalty sticking with Woosha through the good and bad.

Time to bring some fresh ideas in, hopefully we pick up a good one. Who would be out there to look after the forwards, any recent retirees or a current assistant we can poach. I can't think of any offhand. Have geelong and collingwood got any assistant coaches left we can take, every one else has.

Obviously wants to work under a different head coach and didn't want to leave WA. Bit of a hit that he is going to freo but good luck to him. Has showed great loyalty sticking with Woosha through the good and bad.

Time to bring some fresh ideas in, hopefully we pick up a good one. Who would be out there to look after the forwards, any recent retirees or a current assistant we can poach. I can't think of any offhand. Have geelong and collingwood got any assistant coaches left we can take, every one else has.
Scott Watters (Collingwood) :thumbsu:

Interesting that Suma decided to go. He has basically been guaranteed a job at the Eagles while Woosha was there. He was on pretty good money as well, I wonder if the Dockers have matched it. I think that the only way that he would drag his family over East would be for a senior job. By moving to the Dockers he gets to work with a real good coach in Ross Lyon without having to leave the West.

Trying to look at it from Suma's view:

Pros
- Removes the stigma as being perceived as Woosha's man.
- Maybe he's fallen behind Walsh and Burns as assistants.
- Gets the opportunity to help build another team, and further his credentials

Cons
- Money???
- Job Security

Woosha and Lyon have different coaching styles. My understanding is that Woosha allows his assistants quite a deal of autonomy while dealing with their allocated areas, while Lyon is somewhat of a control freak. It will be interesting to see how he handles that.

Despite the perception that some "experts" here have, Suma must have something going for him. He coached South to a flag, was highly sought after by Woosha and Connolly when they arrived at their respective clubs, and by all reports came close to the Essendon role when Knights.

I can't help but wish him well.

You're the one having a major sook. I'm suggesting you're being a moron about it.

It was a joke princess. Why would I really care that Sumich left. That role have been stale for years.

Before anyone jumps down my throat, I know this is highly unlikely but i'm just saying it for entertainment purposes...

I heard MM is in perth today aswell, i believe for a convention of sorts.. but wouldn't it be great if we somehow snatched him up.. again.

He said no job was offered to him at CFC, but he would of gladly accepted a assistant role (then again this is all sketchy).. and i believe he mentioned a few times he loves perth, we'd have the money to offer too.

In saying that i very highly doubt it, but it will be interesting to see who we place suma with..

All the best suma, hope you eventually get the top job your looking for. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

tumblr_l0mqvhAKdj1qzmowao1_500.jpg

Anyone else resent MM for dropping Woosh in his last game still? For a man who had a fair idea he was leaving to effectively retire the captain..... Never really accepted it.

My all time favorite WCE player. But probably destined never to get a senior gig in his own right. Would have preferred he moved to Melbourne but I get the feeling they don't really rate him over here.

Sumich has been great for the EAGLES and Rob Wiley said on radio that his football brain was outstanding when working with him.

So its quite a shock for him to move over the road.

I guess staleness is staleness, but gees.

St Kilda should have got him because he is very calm in crisis I feel.

Still guys like Watters would be cool to get.

Wonder if Craig would be a good fit.

If Neeld was around he would have been the perfect fit, I reckon.

Any good WAFL coaches around.

Bring back Wiley, hey hey.

Also Dean Kemp would be a get if he was interested. so logical in his approach.

Anyone else resent MM for dropping Woosh in his last game still? For a man who had a fair idea he was leaving to effectively retire the captain..... Never really accepted it.

This. I was hoping this was going to be MM's biggest regret but it was not playing White in the GF.

Suma wont be attending Eagles B&F tonight ( Understandable ) , Harvey will most likely be named an assistant tonight ? ( Interviewed today evidently )

I would rather Brad Smith or Longmuir as Kim Hagdorn suggested

Suma wont be attending Eagles B&F tonight ( Understandable ) , Harvey will most likely be named an assistant tonight ? ( Interviewed today evidently )

I would rather Brad Smith or Longmuir as Kim Hagdorn suggested

Where are you getting your info? Not questioning it, I would like to read/view it.

Evidently on Fox News and B Zempalis has been saying it and a Freo Fan saying that Harvey is being interviewed today . Suma not attending has on radio news .

I'm not keen on Harvey , may be damaged goods better to employ Smith or Longmuir as an assistant ...... moving forward in a better direction !

i would love to have harvey.

it would mean woosh, teague burns and harvey

now that is toughness times 4

woosh and harvey would be able to crack jokes about the time harvey shirt fronted him

There are a lot of rumours going around about Mark Harvey. I hope West Coast do some proper due diligence before offering him a job.

I am devastated that Suma has left to go to the ferals down the road. He was my favourite player and I don't know how I will be able to stomach the sight of him in a pansy purple shirt.

The only two things that would make me even more upset would be the sight of either Harvey or Watters in Eagles colours. :thumbsdown: I think I would puke.

Brad Smith! What could have been with him fully fit in our team. Brings me to tears..

A few mates of mine went out on Wednesday to a local night spot in Perth. One of them said he had a big chat with a WCE forward who said the best coach he ever had was Peter Sumich. I also heard a couple of weeks ago that Suma got ducks of his school.

With this in mind I think he will definitely be a big loss.

I am devastated that Suma has left to go to the ferals down the road. He was my favourite player and I don't know how I will be able to stomach the sight of him in a pansy purple shirt.

The only two things that would make me even more upset would be the sight of either Harvey or Watters in Eagles colours. :thumbsdown: I think I would puke.

realy? that's surprising.

The west .com are saying that its believed WCE wont be searching for an assistant till next week plus they wont be replacing with a senior Assistant that Suma was

I can nearly safely say that the Harvey rumour might be a lot of crock , who ever we employ will be a position lower then senior Assistant maybe just a forward coach .

No Senior Assistant will be employed !

Re: Harvey to Eagles ?

Was waiting for this to come about..

I don't think it will but I guess it's on the cards.

My Uncle is Freo diehard and he's fairly in the know I guess you could say and he seems dead set certain we'll pick him up.

Personally I don't think so. Unless he cheers up and stops rabbling on about nothing.

Re: Harvey to Eagles ?

Can see it happening. What an off season already. Is it just me or has this last year of footy been the weirdest in a long long time?

Sumich gone, replacement needed