Wests Tigers, Everton
Hey Guys,
Is any one willing to post the potential player prices for next year (like the DT board) assuming the magic number is around 5400.
Cheers

Just do it yourself with their season average * magic number.

www.fanfooty.com.au has a complete list of player averages.

Nobody knows the real magic number yet, so nobody will do a complete list and waste 4 hours of their lives on something that might not even be correct. :thumbsu:

Super stuff Walesy, but I would like to order all players descending by their average over say the last 8 (x) weeks of the season against their price (or average for the whole season) :)

Can you just whip that up for me? ;)

That's already there mate ;)

But you gotta be an extra-premium member to get it.

(heh, or perhaps it isn't and you can shove it. :P)

Using this years magic number, I've got the new salaries up on TooSerious.

The YTD movement is the salary movement on the player in the 08 season.

Enjoy.

I believe this years magic number was around 5370, and the player prices you have used are with a magic number of like 5151. Surely the magic number would be more than this years, hence the player prices are much lower than they should be.

potato, potaato. It's all relational. :)

(Though I am a little concerned with my note-keeping... )

I wonder if anyone has a record of historical magic numbers so that we can check for a pattern.

potato, potaato. It's all relational. :)

(Though I am a little concerned with my note-keeping... )

I wonder if anyone has a record of historical magic numbers so that we can check for a pattern.

Mate, i agree that your magic number is a tad low.

I have used 5365 in my own plan, and i believe this might be close to the mark. I have pretty reasonable prices using it.

Although with it, Gary Ablett is listed as being $841,580. Thats a huge gunk of your salary cap. :thumbsu:

Mate, i agree that your magic number is a tad low.

I have used 5365 in my own plan, and i believe this might be close to the mark. I have pretty reasonable prices using it.

Although with it, Gary Ablett is listed as being $841,580. Thats a huge gunk of your salary cap. :thumbsu:

nah, he averaged 132 mate.
$708180

Sounds like you're using 6375... ;)

Though I've updated TS to 5365 cause it's better to overshoot than undershoot. :D

Makes Hodgy look like a RIP! though... :P

nah, he averaged 132 mate.
$708180

Sounds like you're using 6375... ;)

Though I've updated TS to 5365 cause it's better to overshoot than undershoot. :D

Makes Hodgy look like a RIP! though... :P

I must have calculated something shocking lol.

$708180 looks a lot better.

Alot of players look a bit overpriced with that magic number, but there are a few goodies you can get and easily fit in the cap. :thumbsu:

That is interesting... The superteam comp is using a magic number of 4975...

don't know if it will mean anything, but hey, worth keeping an eye on...

Not a chance that it could be that low unless they remodel the Salary Cap I reckon. :thumbsu:

That is interesting... The superteam comp is using a magic number of 4975...

don't know if it will mean anything, but hey, worth keeping an eye on...

Not a chance that it could be that low unless they remodel the Salary Cap I reckon. :thumbsu:

I wouldn't take too much notice of that. Superteam's got 18 players and a $6 million cap.

I reckon the magic figure will be a bit higher at around 5450 just following the rise that they've had the last two seasons. FWIW that would make Ablett a smidgen under 720k.

Since you're probably bored with nothing to do, Walesy, can you give the people that have had a zero average this year some sort of a dollar value? This year price plus whatever discount?

NO DISCOUNT FOR YOU!

You do have this years salary up there now though, but I don't like assuming a discount on players... :)

Was a bit bored so punched a few numbers into Excel to see if I could figure out the discounts. Here are the '08 discountees for the first few teams.

Code:
Player		Average	Price		Games	Discount
Gill		76.67	$329,000	6	0.20
Corrie		75.50	$283,600	2	0.30
Hartlett	45.50	$146,500	4	0.40
Stevens		87.00	$326,800	3	0.30
Cook		47.33	$152,300	3	0.40
Iles		66.33	$249,100	3	0.30
Lonie		79.75	$299,500	4	0.30
Reid		37.33	$140,200	3	0.30
Rusling		104.00	$390,600	2	0.30
Stanley		55.00	$206,600	2	0.30
Dempsey		71.00	$266,700	1	0.30
Hislop		44.00	$165,300	3	0.30
Hocking		42.00	$135,200	1	0.40
Houli		39.25	$147,400	4	0.30
Browne		47.00	$176,500	4	0.30
Foster		73.33	$275,400	3	0.30
Ibbotson	43.00	$138,400	1	0.40
O'Brien		61.00	$196,400	1	0.40
I can't say for certain, but it looks like players only get a discount when they played only a handful of games and were seriously injured. There are quite a few fringe players (refer to Mitch Clark, Joe Anderson or most of the '07 rookies) who knocked out less than five but didn't get any benefit.

So, seems safe to assume a ~30% discount on anyone who got wiped out long-term within the first few rounds, and nothing for the rest.

Also, going on Coughlan and Biglands it looks like a ~42% cut on their '06 scores for players who've missed a year, so I'm going to call it and say with a magic number of 5365 Cousins will clock in at $325,000.

I remembered Dogs posting something like this once (Though it was over in DT land)

I posted this about 31 pages ago on this thread but it may help in relation to understanding how VS calculated discounts in 2008. Could be completely different next year but it's a starting point:-

1) Players who played 1 game and average over 35 got a discount.

2) Players who played between 2 and 6 (possibly 7/8, none last year) games and averaged 65+ got a discount.

3) Players who were injured for the full season got a 42% discount.

These 3 rules covered everyone who got a discount last year except the following 7 players:-

Connors 4 games @ 48
Reid 3 @ 46
Cook 3 @ 43
Houli 4 @ 50
Hislop 3 @ 54
Oakley-Nicholls 3 @ 42

All of these played 3 or 4 games. All bar O/Nicholls (2nd year) were in their first year of playing senior footy.

If VS stayed with the same methodology for discounts the following players would / would not get discounted.

YES

Cousins
Haselby
Coughlan
McGlynn
Veszpremi
Pettifer
Hadley

NO

Headland
Swallow
Higgins
Raines
Lucas
JSmith
AThompson
Petterd
Butler
Davey
Reid
Reilly

MAYBE (Played 7/8 games @ 65+)
Gilmore
Walker
Dalziell
Waters

Rusling will not need a discount as he is already base price.