Lions89

Brisbane Lions
Hey guys, thought I would ask you this cause it seems a lot of you see the underage footy.

We all know last year Swallow was touted the best midfielder and next best thing and we have heard that with Coniglio this year and with GC already taking O'Meara and the reviews on him clearly he is something special too.

Just wondering who you guys thought was better obviously at junior level and just for fun if you had to choose who would it be? Just interested cause I'll be watching these 3 with interest in their careers.

Note: this is based just on what you've seen of them as under agers obviously. :)

I unfortunately haven't seen enough of O'Meara to make a confident judgment, but I'd still take David Swallow over Coniglio.

Coniglio won the Larke medal this year, in the year he was drafted. Swallow won it 2 years ago, when he was a year younger than everyone else including the top draftees Martin, Trengove and Scully. His performances in the VFL were even better than Coniglio's in the WAFL, and yes I watched him in the 2010 grand final for Swan Districts. His level of production has been extremely high, even at AFL level this year which for some reason seems to be overlooked in the flurry of excitement over Dyson Heppell. He averaged 20 disposals, 4 tackles and kicked 14 goals playing in the engine room for the Suns. His production this year was level with Joel Selwood's in 2007, and he was playing in a somewhat weaker midfield.

Stephen Coniglio is a very, very good player, that shouldn't be overlooked.

I unfortunately haven't seen enough of O'Meara to make a confident judgment, but I'd still take David Swallow over Coniglio.

Coniglio won the Larke medal this year, in the year he was drafted. Swallow won it 2 years ago, when he was a year younger than everyone else including the top draftees Martin, Trengove and Scully. His performances in the VFL were even better than Coniglio's in the WAFL, and yes I watched him in the 2010 grand final for Swan Districts. His level of production has been extremely high, even at AFL level this year which for some reason seems to be overlooked in the flurry of excitement over Dyson Heppell. He averaged 20 disposals, 4 tackles and kicked 14 goals playing in the engine room for the Suns. His production this year was level with Joel Selwood's in 2007, and he was playing in a somewhat weaker midfield.

Stephen Coniglio is a very, very good player, that shouldn't be overlooked.

Dont agree I watched more than just the 2010 GF in which Coniglio played that year and he is a better player than Swallow. He has more hurt factor than Swallow , does more things better, has more scope.

Conigilo has had a very controlled and measured season in 2011 as he alredy knew his fate. He concentrated on his last year of serious cricket and enjoyed it because he knew he was off to GWS in 2012. So if you are judging Conigilo on his 2011 WAFL season that would be flawed. At the same age as Swallow won the Larke Medal, Conigilo went with in a whisker of winning the Simpson Medal. One was a medal awarded for effort aginst boys the other was for effort against men.

Agree with the O'Meara bit none of us have seen enough of him at a level to be able to rate in relation to the other two.

GWS can have Coniglio. I'd be more than happy taking Swallow then O'Meara...Oh wait... we did take Swallow then O'Meara ;)

And people wonder why the greater Football community hate the 2 franchise teams already ............ Given HUGE concessions by the AFL and then further manipulated them to take more kids instead of any senior players .............

GWS can have Coniglio. I'd be more than happy taking Swallow then O'Meara...Oh wait... we did take Swallow then O'Meara ;)

And if you don't win a flag within 5 years you'll probably get $2million extra (paid for of course) in the salary cap to make sure you can poach some more talent.

You must be very proud.

So when are you planning on getting off the bottom of the ladder?

Next year by default due to the GWS fielding an U18's side that would struggle in the VFL, let alone AFL.

But don't worry, the GCS will still earn a PP, stealing the #1 selection off the GWS in the 2012 "super draft" before the the GWS get first rd PP's in 2013 and 2014 .............

I suppose that ive been lucky enough to see all three boys play at Junior rep level.

Swallow had the ability to quickly move thru passages of play like Judd, he can win the football from his own accord and has got very good disposal skills. His speed is fantastic as is his motor.
Coniglio works to the neth degree. Knows where to be to win the football. He works hard to be a great link player and will run all day. Leg issues are still not resolved.
O'Meara has good size, hits contests hard and jhas shown an ability to play all over the ground.

All three have had very good junior rep careers. Coniglio and Swallow have already shown that they can move to the next level. O'meara has played against men in his home town as a 15 yr old and played very well.

For me personally i am yet to see a better junior footballer than Swallow. However i would be happy to have Coniglio or O'Meara as well and the other i would mention would be Tom Mitchell who is going to the Swans.

And people wonder why the greater Football community hate the 2 franchise teams already ............ Given HUGE concessions by the AFL and then further manipulated them to take more kids instead of any senior players .............

Don't worry. There'll never be a team more hated or despised than Carlton.

And if you don't win a flag within 5 years you'll probably get $2million extra (paid for of course) in the salary cap to make sure you can poach some more talent.

You must be very proud.

Why do North supporters always bring the conversation back to the topic of money?

So when are you planning on getting off the bottom of the ladder?

Maybe after next year. I'd like to see us add Whitfield to our roster.

Haha when will a really crap team get a no1 pick. Won't be till 2015. What a joke.

EFA.

Esp after players such as Rich, Yarran, Garlett and Clarke returned to WA at the end of this season. Oh wait, no they didn't .................

was more of a tongue in cheek remark about if we had a SoO side rather than trying to get players to come home from vic.

imagine that midfield if SoO was brought back in a couple of years though: swallow(x2), coniglio, o'meara, bennell, fyfe, hill, rich, yarran + whoever else i forgot

I would take swallow. Thats based on absolutely nothing

just love watching him play. reckon hel be the best player in the comp by the time hes 24

Gee, stiff not to mention Whitfield in this debate..
I think he's looking at the 3 WA youngsters. Others like Shiel could also be argued to be in the top bracket

Gee, stiff not to mention Whitfield in this debate..

Yeah sorry mate was just the 3 WA boys I have heard most about. I am sure there are probably better than these 3 but I was just interested to see how comparable they were around that 16-17 age bracket cause we've heard so much about them.

If GC can find one or two really good key forwards the league is in big trouble. Some teams have both O'Meara and Swallow (Judd and Murphy) but none have the class of Bennell and Caddy as lesser lights - if those two stay and fulfill their potential.

I think he's looking at the 3 WA youngsters. Others like Shiel could also be argued to be in the top bracket

You are spot on. From this years draft if it wasnt for the 17's being already taken early then it would be hard to choose between

Coniglio
Mitchell
Treloar
Shiels
Wingards up there as well

But once again at that age of 16 and 17 none of these players were as good as Swallow(in my opinion)

Coniglio for mine. Swallow is probably the most well rounded, but Coniglio is a match winner and will turn out to be a champion.

O'Meara's still too young and untested to judge just yet.