Swans game - player analysis

Heres my player by player.Was pretty intoxicated when I watched the tape so I have missed a few players.

Gilbee-Used the ball well as usual and made good decisions.Would benefit from us having a better set up around CHF.Alot of times he recieved the ball coming out of the backline and was forced to back track or go short into the corridor because we didnthave any good options leading up the ground.Having a guy like Rawlings at CHF would allow us to utilise the fantastic long kicking of guys like Gilbee.We just seemed to have to run the ball forward in waves instead of having a tall presenting.

Mcmahon-Very good again.He still has areas he could improve on but I thought he played well today and was nice and creative.

Cooney-Very good out of the middle and clever with his hands.Has a very good ability to hold onto the ball and release the handball in a way that creates time and space for his team mate.Tackling and presence was very good also.Tackling was at the level he displayed before he was drafted.

Minson-Thought he had an impact when he was on.Shows alot of presence and keeps the ball going our way with his bullocking.Matty Primus stole an AA off Darcy by doing that.Was one of the catalysts for our 3rd quarter surge IMO.

Guido-Much better today.Seemed to go longer with his kicks and was just more polished than the darwin game.

Cross-Under used in some ways I reckon.Was good when he was on and in the action IMO.

Johnson-Is going to be very dangerous up forward with Smith this year.You can just see that he is a class above the rest with the way he leads and presents to the ball.

Smith-I thought he was brilliant with his pressure in the forward line.Diving in to knock the ball on and things like that.Looked like a kid who had been given a new toy.

Power-Average for Sammy.Still trying to figure out the best spot to play him.Did some nice things today but didn't get alot of it.Alot of guys ahead of him in his favoured positions.Might need to chnage his game slightly to get a good run.

Grant-Thought his effort was good today but he just struggles to find the footy as a forward at times.Needs another good tall in the forward line just to structure up around him.Ball was coming in a little bit messy today with backward handpasses etc and we looked a little bit disjointed.

Darcy-Very good in the ruck but I reckon we can get him forward more often.

Hargrave-Up and down for him.Thought he had the better of O'Keefe who was kept scoreless and Hargrave gave a heap of run.Made some mistakes and fumbled a few times which probably cost him a spot in the best.He can play alot better than he did today I think.

Bandy-Thought he was poor.

Bowden-Needs to present more.Might aswell play him at CHB if he is not attracting the ball and get Rawlings into the forward line.Same goes for Bandy.

Skipper-Struggled to find the pace of the game.

Griffen-As good as you could expect.

Boyd-Had a dip as usual.Where is he going to play on a consistent basis?What position?

Faulkner-Made the most of his opportunities.Booked himself a spot in the side for the next couple of games IMO.

Harris-Was good but he needs get better at clearing the area when he is third man up.Sometimes gives away goals by being the third man up in the contest and crashing the pack but not getting a punch on the ball to get it towards the boundary or out of the area.His opponent and crumbers have been cashing in on that.Swans 5th goal (I think) was a good example of that.

West-Played a scaled back role.Like the way he gives the young opposition players some rough treatment.Makes our guys stand taller.He is always niggling them.Could tag at times this year IMO.

Would love to see our tackle stats.We had 29 at half time and IMO we would have passed 60 after our ferocious 3rd quarter.That is more than 25 above our average from last season.I know it was a game that was scrappy and played in close butit is still pretty encouraging.

wedesweiler said:
I think I must be judging Hargrave on the Glass Half Full / Glass Half Empty syndrome. I believe he played one of the better games that he has played for the club, and sure , he made a few fumbles, but he is not the out & all Turkey that some (ahem .. incuding me ) have made him out to be.

Maybe he is not the player that will be there when we win the Premiership, but it appears that he now wants to be a player that will try & be there for the jouney.

I thought his second efforts today were very good. Its like someone put a Rocket up him!

Cheers - Pete

If that sort of performance is of a high standard for you then you might be happy finishing 16th this year

Dog Town said:
Would love to see our tackle stats.We had 29 at half time and IMO we would have passed 60 after our ferocious 3rd quarter.That is more than 25 above our average from last season.I know it was a game that was scrappy and played in close butit is still pretty encouraging.
According The Age we had 51 to the Swans 54. Cross and Cooney with 6 each.

Dry Rot said:
Was he at CHF? If so, Lewis-Thompson gave him a bath.

I still reckon Bandy is neither a ruckman nor a CHF. Would prefer a youngster given a go there, or darcy when Minson is in the ruck.
Darcy doesn't present enough to be a viable option at CHF IMO, even as a part timer I think we'd be better going for a more long term option and playing Darcy deeper in the forward line when resting.

Did othe rpeople think the Doggies did little things that they haven't done before which shows they are thinking about the ball and what to do with it before they get it. I am talking about little kicks offthe ground to a teammate, knocking it on out of the pack etc. jordan did two little soccer off the groounds which were great, I can't remembr who tapped it to a players advantage without taking possesion. There were other examples of this.

Dog Town said:
Heres my player by player.Was pretty intoxicated when I watched the tape so I have missed a few players.

Gilbee-Used the ball well as usual and made good decisions.Would benefit from us having a better set up around CHF.Alot of times he recieved the ball coming out of the backline and was forced to back track or go short into the corridor because we didnthave any good options leading up the ground.Having a guy like Rawlings at CHF would allow us to utilise the fantastic long kicking of guys like Gilbee.We just seemed to have to run the ball forward in waves instead of having a tall presenting.

Mcmahon-Very good again.He still has areas he could improve on but I thought he played well today and was nice and creative.

Cooney-Very good out of the middle and clever with his hands.Has a very good ability to hold onto the ball and release the handball in a way that creates time and space for his team mate.Tackling and presence was very good also.Tackling was at the level he displayed before he was drafted.

Minson-Thought he had an impact when he was on.Shows alot of presence and keeps the ball going our way with his bullocking.Matty Primus stole an AA off Darcy by doing that.Was one of the catalysts for our 3rd quarter surge IMO.

Guido-Much better today.Seemed to go longer with his kicks and was just more polished than the darwin game.

Cross-Under used in some ways I reckon.Was good when he was on and in the action IMO.

Johnson-Is going to be very dangerous up forward with Smith this year.You can just see that he is a class above the rest with the way he leads and presents to the ball.

Smith-I thought he was brilliant with his pressure in the forward line.Diving in to knock the ball on and things like that.Looked like a kid who had been given a new toy.

Power-Average for Sammy.Still trying to figure out the best spot to play him.Did some nice things today but didn't get alot of it.Alot of guys ahead of him in his favoured positions.Might need to chnage his game slightly to get a good run.

Grant-Thought his effort was good today but he just struggles to find the footy as a forward at times.Needs another good tall in the forward line just to structure up around him.Ball was coming in a little bit messy today with backward handpasses etc and we looked a little bit disjointed.

Darcy-Very good in the ruck but I reckon we can get him forward more often.

Hargrave-Up and down for him.Thought he had the better of O'Keefe who was kept scoreless and Hargrave gave a heap of run.Made some mistakes and fumbled a few times which probably cost him a spot in the best.He can play alot better than he did today I think.

Bandy-Thought he was poor.

Bowden-Needs to present more.Might aswell play him at CHB if he is not attracting the ball and get Rawlings into the forward line.Same goes for Bandy.

Skipper-Struggled to find the pace of the game.

Griffen-As good as you could expect.

Boyd-Had a dip as usual.Where is he going to play on a consistent basis?What position?

Faulkner-Made the most of his opportunities.Booked himself a spot in the side for the next couple of games IMO.

Harris-Was good but he needs get better at clearing the area when he is third man up.Sometimes gives away goals by being the third man up in the contest and crashing the pack but not getting a punch on the ball to get it towards the boundary or out of the area.His opponent and crumbers have been cashing in on that.Swans 5th goal (I think) was a good example of that.

West-Played a scaled back role.Like the way he gives the young opposition players some rough treatment.Makes our guys stand taller.He is always niggling them.Could tag at times this year IMO.

3. D. Town (WB)

Excellent summary and exactly as I would have written it if I could be bothered.

SonOfScray said:
Darcy doesn't present enough to be a viable option at CHF IMO, even as a part timer I think we'd be better going for a more long term option and playing Darcy deeper in the forward line when resting.
Agree with that.Darcy is a stay at home forward in general.Rawlings is the best option to play genuine CHF as I see it.Can also play Johnson as a second CHF which he plays pretty well.

Thanks for that Scooter.

Dry Rot said:
Was he at CHF? If so, Lewis-Thompson gave him a bath.

I still reckon Bandy is neither a ruckman nor a CHF. Would prefer a youngster given a go there, or darcy when Minson is in the ruck.
He wasn't on for very long at all and missed a shot he should have got. Plenty of work to do before his game comes together on that form.

Ching said:
According The Age we had 51 to the Swans 54. Cross and Cooney with 6 each.
Thanks for that.That is still about 15 above last years average and we had a big fade out in the last.Cross will win the tackles by an absolute mile this season I reckon.

Wasn't at all impressed with what I saw yesterday. The only decent thing was the committment shown in the forward line. Turnovers, errors, very average skills, and some players looked really slow to me.

To "struggle" against the Sydney 3rds is a worry. We will have more of an indication next week against the Saints.

From what was on display yesterday indicates to me, it's going to be a long hard year. Those who think a finish between 9 - 11 are dreaming. What I saw was bottom 4 for sure. Eade has ALOT of work to do.

The half back line was a problem, and the forward set-up was patchy. How many contested marks were taken?? Grant looked slow, and I know it's only early, but I didn't see anything outstanding about the Grant (forward), Rawlings (back) switch....

Heres the stats for anyone who doesn't have them.Apologies for the formatting.

Player K H D M HO T FF FA G B
B.Johnson 14 10 24 5 0 2 1 2 3 0
L.Gilbee 15 8 23 4 0 2 0 0 0 0
D.Giansiracusa 12 8 20 4 0 3 1 1 0 0
R.Hargrave 7 12 19 3 0 2 0 1 0 0
J.McMahon 15 5 19 3 0 1 2 0 0 0
A.Cooney 6 11 17 5 0 6 0 1 1 0
S.West 10 7 16 2 0 4 3 1 0 0
R.Murphy 10 5 15 1 0 2 0 0 1 0
M.Boyd 6 8 14 2 0 1 0 1 1 0
B.Harris 8 7 14 4 0 2 1 0 0 0
D.Cross 10 3 13 5 3 6 1 1 0 0
R.Smith 7 6 13 2 0 4 1 0 1 4
M.Hahn 8 4 12 3 0 1 1 1 1 0
C.Faulkner 4 6 10 1 0 1 1 0 2 0
P.Bowden 8 1 9 1 0 2 1 0 1 1
J.Rawlings 8 2 9 4 0 1 1 0 0 0
W.Minson 4 3 7 2 6 1 0 1 0 0
S.Power 3 4 7 2 0 3 0 0 0 1
L.Darcy 3 4 6 3 18 3 1 1 0 0
C.Grant 4 2 6 2 0 1 0 2 0 1
F.Ray 4 1 5 1 0 0 1 1 0 0
R.Griffen 2 2 4 3 0 1 0 0 1 0
W.Skipper 3 0 3 0 1 1 0 0 0 1
D.Bandy 2 1 2 2 6 1 0 0 0 1

Minson actually ended up with more of the ball than Darcy.

Dogtown - I think you missed Murphy in your otherwise excellent review.
Not many others have mentioned him either.

I thought he was pretty good, he looks more like a Leon Cameron in terms the ease he play the game and the time he has on the ball.

He is all class but frustrating at times. He was one that was noticable tired in the last. Some lazy kicks after a nice run or two.

Ching said:
Dogtown - I think you missed Murphy in your otherwise excellent review.
Not many others have mentioned him either.

I thought he was pretty good, he looks more like a Leon Cameron in terms the ease he play the game and the time he has on the ball.

He is all class but frustrating at times. He was one that was noticable tired in the last. Some lazy kicks after a nice run or two.
Yeah I realised that.I honestly couldn't place him other than a few nice passages so I thought I wouldn't comment.I was suprised that his 9 pointer brought tears from a supporter though.

Doggiesrule1020 said:
Thanks for that dog town.Where did you get them from because ive been looking everywhere and couldnt find the stats anywhere.
To be honest I have no idea.There was a thread on the main board saying they were hidden somewhere on the AFL site.There is a link to the saints and hawks stats so I just mucked around with the link and somehow I got them.Couldn't do it again if I tried.

home at dawn said:
Originally Posted by Fossie 32

1 Johnno
2 Bubba
3 Harris
4 Guido
5 Gilbee, Hargrave [his best game in a while on one of the Swan's best], Cooney, Mitch
9 Murph, Boydy [off in 2nd quarter? - very good in first and 3rd]
11 Cam, Jordy
13 Westy [may have missed his possies but thought he was quiet in first half]
14 Cross, Rawlings, Minson
17 Granty - in the play in first quarter but little after that
18 Sam and Bowdo
20 Griffen [nice goal],
21 Ray
22 Bandy
23 Skip

Darcy??

Bout equal w Cam and Jordy

I see Jade Rawlings played CHB.....HOOOORRRAAAAYYYYY, i think you finally realised thats his best possie, he'll dominate back there mark my words...

Nightwolf_69 said:
I see Jade Rawlings played CHB.....HOOOORRRAAAAYYYYY, i think you finally realised thats his best possie, he'll dominate back there mark my words...
He played mostly FB not CHB. I still think we need him at CHF.

OldSchool said:
He played mostly FB not CHB. I still think we need him at CHF.

One or the other. Yesterday it showed we lack a good CHF.
Play Rawlings CHF and I think the backline looks suspect.

1954 its bye from Ching. Will be back soon.

Ching said:

I thought Eades aim was to find a replacement for Grant from one of the younger guys.
Harris looks pretty good there but we really need to keep exploring the list to see who else might be able to handle it.

Would/should Walsh be given a chance to line-up on one of the Saints tall forwards next weekend ?

By the way, congratulations
Hope you have you already registered the new name.

Ching said:

Congrats Ching!

Guess we will see what Rocket has in mind for CHB soon if he sticks by his line of grooming someone new.........

Swans game - player analysis