Swans Thoughts

Chelsea Blue

Just wondering what all of you think of the swans game next Saturday night? Easy win, or tougher than everyone expects? Cheers

Easy win. You cant flood Subiaco and win, so there game plan goes out the window, and with Jolly likely to be rubbed out that leaves them with no one to ruck against Dean Cox, plus Sydney have the slowest midfield in the AFL and we have the fastest...

In other words Easy win :D.

40+ points i think!
The only hope the swans have is Hall kicks an even dozen. Personally though i can't see the swans game plan working, combined with there bad form.

Hansen to kick 6 and take 14 marks ;)

I'm very confident of a win. Heaps of depth in the midfield, ruck, tough defence and some talented forwards.

In terms of margin...it could go two ways:

1) The lads get some payback for the elimination final from last year, put the foot down and belt the Swans by at least as much as we beat Brisbane yesterday. (would love a 100 point margin for us :D )

2) We go back to the more conservative style of play as in the first 4 rounds (about 75%) and save ourselves for the next two rounds.
Hawthorn in York Park can be tricky - again confident of a win but the distance is not to be taken lightly.
Then St Kilda at home.....their record here is crap, but we need to be at our best to hammer them. I would love to smash them in retaliation for last year.

Can't wait until this Saturday :D :D

You guys should have a walk in the park. We have lost our top 3 ruckmen - Ball, Jolly and Doyle and Goodes will not take centre bounces. LRT, our current scapegoat will most likely play a lot in the ruck, I don't think either of Shaw or Eriksen are ready. They'll be permanently scarred playing against Cox and Seaby.

Schauble is unlikely to make a comeback this week which means our runners from halfback Barry and Kennelly will be asked to match up against your tall giants. We're missing our best midfielder in Williams and the rest of them are too defensive minded to do any damage. Our forward line is misfiring, we hardly kick more than 2 goals a quarter, we have the worst conversion rate in the league and O'Loughlin is hobbling around on one leg.

So I think anything less than a 12 goal win would be disappointing for you guys.

I expect the Eagles to hammer the Swans in the first half, much like they did the Lions then let up in the 2nd.

Will be very disappointed if we don't win comfortably- aside from the impracticability of trying to flood at subi, for a team which thrives on stoppages, they're going to have to either let us run, or try and lock the ball in for ball ups and throw ins which Cox/Seaby/Gardiner will utterly dominate.

I'm not sure we'll flog them though, unless the players are riled about the finals loss. I think a lot of home games will follow the pattern we saw against Geelong and the Dogs, of getting out in front and then cruising to a comfortable rather than huge win.

I hope the Swans get belted. Will be doing them a favour. As soon as they realise their flooding with maximum stoppage gameplan will not win them a flag and is bad for the development of their players, the better. Will be good for footy too.

I usually go to a Swans match or two every year to get my footy fix but ****ed if I'm going to waste my money on a rugby team.

We'll smash the Swans. These guys are a rabble. I've watched their last two games live and they're in a tailspin. Without Williams, Jude Bolton is their only midfielder with any "hurt factor". The rest of them tend to move the ball sideways and over-possess it.

If our defence breaks even with Hall, O'Loughlin (he always plays well against us) and Davis, we'll do it easy.

Also, this match represents a golden opportunity for Hansen, Lynch, Gardiner and Seaby to really impose themselves up forward. The Swans have a chronic lack of quality key defenders and our height will be too much for them. I can't see Leo Barry, Matthew Nicks and Craig Bolton matching our talls. This will force Adam Goodes to play across CHB, meaning they'll be on the back foot from the outset.

With Cox and Seaby likely to dominate some hapless first-gamer, Sydney will get blown away by our midfield run (look for Stinger to shut down Jude Bolton). While their forwards might keep them in the game for a little while, I would be surprised by any outcome other than a 40+ point WC win.

Cosmic Starchild said:
Also, this match represents a golden opportunity for Hansen, Lynch, Gardiner and Seaby to really impose themselves up forward.

Hopefully Lynch v the Bris is the turning point for him this year.

I'd like nothing better than to see Lynch starting to impose himself as the full-forward. Thank **** he held some marks and kicked 4 goals last weekend.

Expected to smash them like we were the Bulldogs, so watch for a similar performance as we gave against Footescray.

94_Eagles said:
Expected to smash them like we were the Bulldogs, so watch for a similar performance as we gave against Footescray.
Hardly. The Doggies have a very different side. Eade actually had a midfield that, while unable to match us for pace, was at least able to use the spaces of Subi to hurt us.

Gilbee, Cooney, Hahn, Guido and West are a decent midfield group. The Swans don't have this kind of talent, so if Roos takes a leaf out of Eade's book, we will absolutely torch the Swans.

They don't have the foot-speed or the polish through the middle to try the same stunt as the Bulldogs pulled.

I'm a little worried about this game. I mean, Robert Walls (the man with the Midas touch) has had a go at the Swannies so they must be fired up and ready to prove him wrong... ;)

Uncle Tony said:
I'm a little worried about this game. I mean, Robert Walls (the man with the Midas touch) has had a go at the Swannies so they must be fired up and ready to prove him wrong... ;)

At Subi??? I don't think so.

Unless Robert Walls incurs the Wrath of Noah and Noah opens the floodgates of his Ark for a Super Flood.