Swans vs Tigers - gameday thread

• Thread starter Thread starter tugga

Must confess I had to bite my tongue a few times re umpiring. But at the end of the day. to coin a cleche. We need to do what we can to control the controlables and forget all else.we need to go out and take games by the scruff, which will happen. Go Tiges !!

Boys are catching the bus back to Melbourne tomorrow at 8am.
That can't be good. A 12-hour bus trip?:o
We are toast next week.

Re: Umpires?

Blaming umpires is weak. We lost because we couldn't execute the things we need to execute to win the game.

I agree, we have no excuse, but when you see rubbish decisions like the free kick against Edwards for bumping off a team mate, you have to wonder at the brain dead idiots the AFL are hiring to adjudicate their sport.

That can't be good. A 12-hour bus trip?:o
We are toast next week.
If this volcanic ash keeps up it might not even matter as they won't be able to play the game if we can't fly up.

I guess Brisbane need to get back to Brisbane too.
This is a bummer. I have a footy weekend in Brisbane to look forward to.

I guess Brisbane need to get back to Brisbane too.
This is a bummer. I have a footy weekend in Brisbane to look forward to.

Don't stress mate. If we're good enough, we'll just win.

I think you'll enjoy the Storm game :D

Don't stress mate. If we're good enough, we'll just win.

I think you'll enjoy the Storm game :D
Not if I can't get up to Sydney:mad:

Re: Umpires?

Yes, we lost (and in my case convincingly) but was I the only one going insane over the umpires today? I seen so many stupid decisions going both ways that I am either out of my mind or this game is getting ridiculous?

Just to reiterate, We were definitely outplayed today, no mistake of that. If Sydney kicked straight today we would have lost by 50 points.

umpiring is making this game very difficult to watch! like tugga said earlier i keep waiting for us to get a good run one day. just never happens.

For mine, 10 point loss against Sydney in the wet at the SCG is a win. Who would have thought such a thing at the start of the season? Talk it up guys - we're on our way to greatness!!
Was a good effort to get that close to the Swans, thanks to 17 + 4 behinds from the Swans ;) In all seriousness though, young guns of the Tiges are starting to shine through :thumbsu:

Cheers buddy, you guys too good. At least we're competitive.

You've some good young talent too. All the best for the rest of the year.

I left the SCG at 4.45pm local (when Swans were 17 up) and arrived in Auckland New Zealand at 1am local courtesy of Air New Zealand. Don't understand how they were more than happy to fly across 2600km of Ocean in a twin engined plane, yet Qantas and Virgin Blue couldn't fly 900km to Melbourne with emergency diversion options at Canberra, Albury, Mangalore, East Sale, West Sale, Mildura you name it.

Something dosn't add up.

Haere Ra

I left the SCG at 4.45pm local (when Swans were 17 up) and arrived in Auckland New Zealand at 1am local courtesy of Air New Zealand. Don't understand how they were more than happy to fly across 2600km of Ocean in a twin engined plane, yet Qantas and Virgin Blue couldn't fly 900km to Melbourne with emergency diversion options at Canberra, Albury, Mangalore, East Sale, West Sale, Mildura you name it.

Something dosn't add up.

Haere Ra

no, our OH&S policies are a little more advanced than the third world kiwi, were they aware of the volcanic cloud:p

:D But I reckon you're on to something Bo. Maybe Qantas Group insurance policy is not as broad as AirNZ;)!

The sheperding and non tackle free kicks really peeved me off very hard on your boys. Whenever the Swans win a close game those type of ridiculous decisions seem to suggest the wrong team won and I'm on my own board trying to defend my own team for having a win (talking mainly about the North game). Richmond are very close to something special they are a tough pick in the tipping unless playing top four you really don't know which way to go. As another poster has highlighted the next step is for the Tigers to overcome the tagging of your playmakers or at least the boys who have been doing the damage ie Cotchin, Martin, Nahas etc
Defense was down a bit today for obvious reasons and the conditions didn't suit your usual wet sail finishes. Lot of up side to Richmond good luck for the rest of the year hope you can get on a roll after the Lions game and get in the eight. Will head to the Gabba and throw some support your way I have an old VFL tigers jumper I used to wear for training (to keep my Swans jumpers pristine :D) I will don it this weekend and make some noise with my girlfriend who converted from NRL and chose to support Richmond becuase she liked Delidio on some challenge program she watched. Good luck

The sheperding and non tackle free kicks really peeved me off very hard on your boys. Whenever the Swans win a close game those type of ridiculous decisions seem to suggest the wrong team won and I'm on my own board trying to defend my own team for having a win (talking mainly about the North game). Richmond are very close to something special they are a tough pick in the tipping unless playing top four you really don't know which way to go. As another poster has highlighted the next step is for the Tigers to overcome the tagging of your playmakers or at least the boys who have been doing the damage ie Cotchin, Martin, Nahas etc
Defense was down a bit today for obvious reasons and the conditions didn't suit your usual wet sail finishes. Lot of up side to Richmond good luck for the rest of the year hope you can get on a roll after the Lions game and get in the eight. Will head to the Gabba and throw some support your way I have an old VFL tigers jumper I used to wear for training (to keep my Swans jumpers pristine :D) I will don it this weekend and make some noise with my girlfriend who converted from NRL and chose to support Richmond becuase she liked Delidio on some challenge program she watched. Good luck

Thanks for the kind words Banyo. While I was angrier about the frees than I've been for a very long time - especially seeing Jack blatantly thrown around 10m out in the second quarter - the better team won on the day. You simply cannot expect to win if the other team has 50% more scoring shots than you.