- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Sydney
- Other Teams
- Arsenal
6:15:14 PM Tue 26 September, 2006
Paul Gough in Sydney
Sportal for afl.com.au
Adam Schneider is definitely Sydney's good luck charm this weekend as the Swans attempt to win back-to-back flags for the first time in their history.
When Sydney takes on West Coast in the 2006 premiership decider at the MCG on Saturday in a repeat of last year's epic Grand Final it will be the seventh time Schneider has played in a Grand Final at any level of football.
And, so far, the little goalsneak has won them all!
So it's little wonder Schneider can hardly wait to get out onto the MCG on Saturday.
"Of course I can't wait. I am a 22-year-old. I love it. I have been like a kid at Christmas the last few weeks because this is what you play footy for - for times like these."
For Schneider, Grand Final week in the past has meant only one thing - the joy of success.
"I was lucky enough to play in five grand finals when I was younger (for Osborne in southern New South Wales) and I do like rising to the occasion," he said.
"Being a small forward you need that attribute because you've got to take your chances when there are not many chances out there."
Schneider's run of premiership success began he won two premierships in the under 14's at Osborne before playing in three successive senior premierships - the first at just 15 and the last at 17 where he was also named best afield.
And of course he was a member of the team which ended a 72-year premiership drought for the Swans in last year's four-point Grand Final win over West Coast.
Schneider said playing in a premiership decider in front of 100,000 fans at the MCG was no different to playing back home at Osborne which, according to Schneider, is "in the middle of nowhere between Wagga and Albury".
"It was just a footy oval surrounded by two sheds where you got changed and we didn't even have a wall between the sheds so you could hear the opposition talking."
"But the main advice I always get from my family and friends back home is just pretend you are back at home at Osborne playing footy."
"It (playing at the MCG) might be a bigger stage, but you have got to stick with the things that got you there in the first place and not go into your shell."
But while he has been blessed in past Grand Finals, the Swans' goalsneak - who was strangely off target in last week's preliminary final win over Fremantle when he kicked four behinds - is taking nothing for granted this week.
"I have had a pretty lucky run in Grand Finals but the past means nothing if we can't win another one this weekend," he said.
its always good to be able to play grand finals, i can only recall playing in 1, and was having an absolute ripper in defense till the ff went down so i had to take his spot
(kicked a goal but
). its always handy to have players with such experience on the field, regardless what level, its footy and its always high pressure.
cannot wait for this weekend, and hopefully he snags himself a bag
Paul Gough in Sydney
Sportal for afl.com.au
Adam Schneider is definitely Sydney's good luck charm this weekend as the Swans attempt to win back-to-back flags for the first time in their history.
When Sydney takes on West Coast in the 2006 premiership decider at the MCG on Saturday in a repeat of last year's epic Grand Final it will be the seventh time Schneider has played in a Grand Final at any level of football.
And, so far, the little goalsneak has won them all!
So it's little wonder Schneider can hardly wait to get out onto the MCG on Saturday.
"Of course I can't wait. I am a 22-year-old. I love it. I have been like a kid at Christmas the last few weeks because this is what you play footy for - for times like these."
For Schneider, Grand Final week in the past has meant only one thing - the joy of success.
"I was lucky enough to play in five grand finals when I was younger (for Osborne in southern New South Wales) and I do like rising to the occasion," he said.
"Being a small forward you need that attribute because you've got to take your chances when there are not many chances out there."
Schneider's run of premiership success began he won two premierships in the under 14's at Osborne before playing in three successive senior premierships - the first at just 15 and the last at 17 where he was also named best afield.
And of course he was a member of the team which ended a 72-year premiership drought for the Swans in last year's four-point Grand Final win over West Coast.
Schneider said playing in a premiership decider in front of 100,000 fans at the MCG was no different to playing back home at Osborne which, according to Schneider, is "in the middle of nowhere between Wagga and Albury".
"It was just a footy oval surrounded by two sheds where you got changed and we didn't even have a wall between the sheds so you could hear the opposition talking."
"But the main advice I always get from my family and friends back home is just pretend you are back at home at Osborne playing footy."
"It (playing at the MCG) might be a bigger stage, but you have got to stick with the things that got you there in the first place and not go into your shell."
But while he has been blessed in past Grand Finals, the Swans' goalsneak - who was strangely off target in last week's preliminary final win over Fremantle when he kicked four behinds - is taking nothing for granted this week.
"I have had a pretty lucky run in Grand Finals but the past means nothing if we can't win another one this weekend," he said.
its always good to be able to play grand finals, i can only recall playing in 1, and was having an absolute ripper in defense till the ff went down so i had to take his spot
(kicked a goal but
). its always handy to have players with such experience on the field, regardless what level, its footy and its always high pressure.cannot wait for this weekend, and hopefully he snags himself a bag