Sympathy for Hawthorn

• Thread starter Thread starter The King!

I cant stand hawthorn, seem to have a lot of flog fans on here and here in Tassie a lot of bandwagon idiots, but I feel for the club or more the fans.

Theres an element firstly that they have paid this guy well, they have been successful they have supported him and he takes all year to decide to bugger off. I feel for the kids who wear 23 on their back, he is an idol to some of these youngsters.

I know it’s the market we are in and we have lost players before but this is a unique situation.

I know plenty will say he has played his best or they are better without him, that may be true, but whatever you think of him, he is a bit a once in a generation bloke they have developed and to lose him like that I have sympathy for.

But what I have more sympathy for and again this is more hawks fans is the fact they just won the flag, there is nothing better, but this seems the quickest amount of time the afl has ever moved on from a flag in history.

I cant stand the side, but they just went 19-3 they did some massive work in restructuring the side and sharing goals and working round buddy conjecture, bounced back from a 2012 defeat and delivered a second flag in 5 seasons, feels to me like they havent had much time to enjoy it, just feel a bit bad about it.

As fans we wait for years sometimes to taste the ultimate, would like to see more chance to soak it in.

I don't have any sympathy for them - this is modern footy and players will change clubs more and more in the future. You don't see this level of loyalty in any other professional sport and whilst it's something to be proud of, it's just not realistic to think it will continue. I am personally very happy that my club seems to get it :)

Having said that, Hawthorn deserve respect for how they have handled it. Right from the start they have said if he chooses to leave they will just shake his hand, thank him for his contribution to the club and wish him well. That's what I would hope the Swans would do in the same situation ... and some other clubs could probably learn from that ;)

ahh cmon, wether we like the way COLA is reported or not, you lose a star to a club with an allowance who wether they admit or not is a flag thread, you would be annoyed.

I also think more than that let the pricks enjoy their flag for at least a week geez, game barely finished.

im talking you look around Monday arvo here in launnie, the 5-6 year olds walking round in their hawks jumper number 23 on their back.

Now they hear all this crap

I guess I just sometimes find the business part of the game a bit frustrating.

I have symapthy about the situation, and for Hawks fans in general, however, there are many BF Hawkers that can EAD!

There are no people more loyal to a club than their fans. They sit above any administration, any player and any employee for the simple fact that they emotionally and financially invest without power and without the guarantee of good return. Just think of those poor Swans supporters who lived and died seeing this club win nothing, get sent to Sydney, almost collapse a number of times and have their best players pillaged from them.

You would have to be cold to not understand the emotional response of their supporters. We're all so one eyed and passionate here on BF, but it is becasue we love our club. You can talk all you want about modern footy and big business and free agency, I get it, all footy supporters do, but at the end of the day I don't support Sydney because of some cost benefit analysis conducted that tells me it will increase my utility. My relationship with footy will always be emotional and irrational so seeing Hawks supporters act the same is hardly worth condemning.

Nevertheless while seeing their premiership win being over taken by this news isn't nice, I only know that becasue it took less than a day after our win for people to discount it with Hawks supporters leading the pack. I can empathise with them, but no, not sympathise. We all have to go through it and for once its not us on the receiving end. Nobody gave a shit about equalisation when we were sitting on the scrap-heap and big Victorian clubs took our players, tried to end our club and sat along idly while we achieved SFA in 72 years. I'm not going to say sorry becasue the Swans finally get to experience some success and get to move to the front of the pack instead of always languishing behind.

Trust me Swansrule100, if you had sat where I did @ the MCG for the Qualifying Final this year, you would not have 1% of sadness for the Hawthorn football club...
Arrogant...
Self Centered...
W@nkers !!!!

Actually agree.

Think they at least deserve a week or two to celebrate their flag before all of this Franklin stuff.

Think there should be a two week break after the Grand Final before Free Agency/ Trade Period starts.

Trust me Swansrule100, if you had sat where I did @ the MCG for the Qualifying Final this year, you would not have 1% of sadness for the Hawthorn football club...
Arrogant...
Self Centered...
W@nkers !!!!

no one hates hawthorn and their fans more than me trust me, I just feel a little sympathy for the situation.

we are all just passionate fans at the end of the day

its a sport

One of their posters said that everyone at Sydney should be shot dead. I reported it, no action was taken. Why you would have sympathy for them I have no idea.

yeah I might turn on my own argument soon.

I guess I mean the fans off big footy

the few who aren't tardos

just want to enjoy our next few flags and not have trade week kick in too quick

I texted my best mate who is a Hawk supporter when the news broke. His reply was a joke, which enabled me to get a dig in at GWS before acknowledging that they would know likely end up with Mumford. He said that as Bailey was likely to retire, it was a win-win for both clubs.

There are decent Hawks fans out there

I don't want your sympathy. I just want you're Luke Parker or JJK :)

No sympathy when we smash you next year :p Good luck for next year. Keep Buddy safe and enjoy the ride. :thumbsu:

I just remember I was upset when we lost minton Connell to hawthorn as a kid, so can imagine how kids who love buddy feel and no im not comparing the two.

We are experiencing the jubilation of this right now but this is the catalyst for free agency to explode, it's here and it's here to stay and at some point in time we will be the ones who are on the receiving end of a player we adore leaving under free agency, it's interesting that up until a week ago there were a lot of people (myself included) who were very fretting and very concerned that Mummy a "required" had not signed but that has been lost in the euphoria of getting the big prize. I say enjoy it while we can cause its probable that next time we will be the ones on the receiving end.