THE BEAST
Sep 14, 2006
sfc, AUCC
Hey guys and gals,
What are your tactics for Dream Team on afl.com this year?
ie have you hit the trades early? Have you got players who will spike in value? Players you are looking to offload/obtain in rounds to come? Cash Cows?
Personally I have already made 3 trades (so sue me ;)) and I have almost 240k in the bank, mostly thanks to my rucks. This gives me the freedom to get any player whenever the time is right. I am looking to make perhaps 2 or 3 more before settling down for a while then using my cash cows, ie I want to build my team over the first 10 rounds and then sit back and only trade due to long term injuries. I hope to make some money from young guns such as Gibbs, Griffen, Selwood, Alwyn Davey,... In my sights are Brad Johnson, Jonathon Brown and Big Aaron Sandilands.
Discuss:

yeah i wasnt going to use up many trades early but last week i scored 2068 so im using my trades now so i can get rid of the couple of players that arent doing that good so i can take full advantage early of my players being injury free and in form. and btw, Justin Sherman any1 rate him for dreamteam? hes prolly a 70 average right? i can trade him and get simon black..

Don't feel bad about making trades, i've had to because of long term injuries. Other DT and SC'ers will have players get injured....sh*t happens. I quite like your strategy and will probably take a similar tack. A trade or 2 to make tonight and i'll have a very consistant team on paper, heaps of cash in the bank and a placing of 424th overall in SC. My only goal is really to win my league and hope for a top 500 finish. If you haven't yet, get into the cash up and crash down thread and d/l grimlocks program....simply awesome work.

Hey guys and gals,
What are your tactics for Dream Team on afl.com this year?
ie have you hit the trades early? Have you got players who will spike in value? Players you are looking to offload/obtain in rounds to come? Cash Cows?
Personally I have already made 3 trades (so sue me ;)) and I have almost 240k in the bank, mostly thanks to my rucks. This gives me the freedom to get any player whenever the time is right. I am looking to make perhaps 2 or 3 more before settling down for a while then using my cash cows, ie I want to build my team over the first 10 rounds and then sit back and only trade due to long term injuries. I hope to make some money from young guns such as Gibbs, Griffen, Selwood, Alwyn Davey,... In my sights are Brad Johnson, Jonathon Brown and Big Aaron Sandilands.
Discuss:

yep well i have made 4 lol
i didnt research my team at all at the start of the season so i didnt have adcock or bock
last week i got Gilbee and Andrew Browne (bench player is sure to spike in price to)
this week i got bock and adcock.
All i need now is Brad Johnson next week and to get rid of Peak who will remain the same due to injury and my team is complete and no longer in need of trades.. unless more injury occurs
i also have 317K in the bank so looking to get Johnson And Cross

i also have Alwyn Davey Selwood and Gibbs.. also X.Ellis And Hawkins:D
also have been playing a man down in the ruck as cox hasnt returned
so yes im off to a pretty poor start lol
but i never really planned on Winning the DT competition.
i mean honestly.. 1 person wins :thumbsu:
i can still catch up but i know it is highly unlikely that i will

yep well i have made 4 lol
i didnt research my team at all at the start of the season so i didnt have adcock or bock
last week i got Gilbee and Andrew Browne (bench player is sure to spike in price to)
this week i got bock and adcock.
All i need now is Brad Johnson next week and to get rid of Peak who will remain the same due to injury and my team is complete and no longer in need of trades.. unless more injury occurs
i also have 317K in the bank so looking to get Johnson And Cross

i also have Alwyn Davey Selwood and Gibbs.. also X.Ellis And Hawkins:D
also have been playing a man down in the ruck as cox hasnt returned
so yes im off to a pretty poor start lol
but i never really planned on Winning the DT competition.
i mean honestly.. 1 person wins :thumbsu:
i can still catch up but i know it is highly unlikely that i will

Gilbee is a nice pick up, not sure about Browne but I've heard good things, Bock and Adcock good to get also.
I have those exact same young 'uns lol but not happy that Davey is starting on the field for my team (mainly thanks to N G Brown-shaping as traid bait when J. Brown dips in $). It sounds like you've escaped pretty well for having not done much research, sure only one person can win it and its already looking far far beyond me after an ordinary start but I'd like to get #1 ranked crows supporter one week and score a free footy (optimistic i know) and beat my mates to win my league lol.

I have filled my team with as many gun players as possible, I then picked good players who were undervalued guys like Adcock, Bock and Hudson. Next I filled my bench with all the first year players who would be playing from round 1, this 3way I can take advantage of their price hike as soon as possible if needed. So far all my reserves have played, and done pretty well.

I only have 80k in the bank but at the moment that sisnt a big deal because all my reserves are scoring.

I have used 3 trades. Brought in Nablett, Hawkins and Jetta for 3 guys who were not playing.

Gilbee is a nice pick up, not sure about Browne but I've heard good things, Bock and Adcock good to get also.
I have those exact same young 'uns lol but not happy that Davey is starting on the field for my team (mainly thanks to N G Brown-shaping as traid bait when J. Brown dips in $). It sounds like you've escaped pretty well for having not done much research, sure only one person can win it and its already looking far far beyond me after an ordinary start but I'd like to get #1 ranked crows supporter one week and score a free footy (optimistic i know) and beat my mates to win my league lol.
yep same the footy would be awesome
There were two options at the 83 200 mark, Lindsey Thomas Or A.Browne.. so i thought Browne is in for Farmer and Farmer is out for 6.. he should play at least 6.
and brown has been around for a while also.. has just been riddled with injuries.. he should do alright.
My backline is pretty strong also have shaw and cornes
Also yeah i got Alwyn Davey there also due to Nathan Browne being injured..
I saw him on the weekend he wasnt that buys and ended up with 72.. kicked a nice goal.. jus have to see if he can keep it up!

Confident i can get top 1000 (hopefully higher) and win my league to make it 3 out of 4 :D after loosing last year in the GF by 20 odd points lol

Don't feel bad about making trades, i've had to because of long term injuries. Other DT and SC'ers will have players get injured....sh*t happens. I quite like your strategy and will probably take a similar tack. A trade or 2 to make tonight and i'll have a very consistant team on paper, heaps of cash in the bank and a placing of 424th overall in SC. My only goal is really to win my league and hope for a top 500 finish. If you haven't yet, get into the cash up and crash down thread and d/l grimlocks program....simply awesome work.
Do you use it even though you play in the SuperCoach competition?

I won a footy from the dreamteam competition this week as top Richmond supporter for the round. I suppose I was smart because I only have one Tigers player in my team.
Yeah mate Tigers a believe they can be a good team in th years to come.. but this year.. no offence
i picked them for the spoon lol
they have a good young line up.. and a very good senior list
2009 i believe they could make they 8

That is why they gave Wallace a 5 year deal
they know they are F'd for the next few years
They need to draft well IMO

i could be wrong but hey
everyone has there onpinion

Yeah mate Tigers a believe they can be a good team in th years to come.. but this year.. no offence
i picked them for the spoon lol
they have a good young line up.. and a very good senior list
2009 i believe they could make they 8

That is why they gave Wallace a 5 year deal
they know they are F'd for the next few years
They need to draft well IMO

i could be wrong but hey
everyone has there onpinion

They're not as bad as they seem. A ruckman would certainly help and a fit Nathan Brown and Mark Coughlan would make a big difference. The youngsters show promise but there is not enough depth there to be a top side for a while yet. I agree that they need to draft well...

How do you get the rankings for your team that you support for Round 2? All I can get are the overall rankings? Cos I got 1940, and I'd like to see where I placed this week amognst Richmond supporters?

I don't know how you can find out. I finished 21st for the week and only found out because I got told when they called me to let me know that I won the footy. I'm just happy I've won something for all the hard work I put in. :)

Did you get an email too? Because I didn't put my phone number in the sign-up thing.

Tactics-AFL Dream Team