malpaso

Chicago Bulls, Kansas City Royals
We had 3 players playing tagging roles which limited their *attack* on the ball. They were intently focused on their man and not the ball.

M.Carr
J.Carr
R.Crowley

Freo should have altered their approach to attack the ball and not the man and we most likely would have come up with more of the footy.

This is a coaching tactic and a submissive one. West Coast maybe had one tagger (Stenglein) and the rest played defense when they had too ie. without the ball.

Albeit, our skills were pathetic again!

The tactic I hated the most was the one of kicking the ball to the opposition, or over the forwards heads. The other tactic I hated, was getting suspended.

Damn pesky coaches.

It would be suicide letting players like Judd and Kerr run free so I've got no problem with Crowley and M. Carr minding them. They both seemed to pick up their fair share of ball when we were attacking anyway.

On tv it's seemed that, early on at least, J. Carr was playing on Stenglein. If anything it seems that Stenglein would have been minding Carr not vice versa.

If Kerr and Judd played for us I'm sure Woosha would have assigned men to them just as CC did.

Why didn't we play the same tactics we used in the Nab Cup against them, when everyone ran. Too often we were left standing flat footed and on a turnover no one running. "Brain Fade" or what?

I may be wrong but I thought Rowan Jones was tagging Haselby. correct me if I'm wrong, but thats the impression I got.

Probably they all have 'assignments' but it's clear that they know when to attack and when to mark their man.

Our mob on the otherhand can't seem to walk and chew gum at the same time.

Last season Conolly thrashed woosha in the coaching stakes, this is how he did it, it was simple.

(2006)

West Coast ALWAYS play man on man

We play 4 forwards and 8 defenders. Worsfold mans our defenders up and surrenders into playing a crowded forward line.

We lose the midfield battle comprehensivly in both derbys with the eagles having more inside 50's but they cannot score easily as the wc forward line is very congested. HOWEVER we have an open forward line and attack quickly on the counter creating better scoring opportunities from our limited entries.

First Set CC.

(2007)

We try the same tactic. 8 defenders 4 forwards.

Worsfold plays 6/7 forwards and uses his free man/men as midfielders NOT sweepers across defence.

Can we have WC running around with 2 extra midfielders? NO, so we man them up, creating man on man.

So in effect there is a midfield flood. This does not help us as,

- we rely on rebound from defence, it is hard to rebound the ball quickly through a congested midfield.

- we went into the game with too many talls and not enough running players outclassed as we were, losing browne was still crucial as the midfield rotations were limited and we did run out of gas towards the end.

What we could have done..

played 6 forwards, as it was we had no crumbers down there. As soon as the ball hit the deck they were rebounding under little pressure. My nanna could weave her way around Longmuir. A forward line or LONGMUIR, TARRANT, PAVLICH and SOLOMON is not good enough when the ball is on the ground.

There were times throughout the game when Mundy was a free man in defence playing a sweepers role. From memory this included late in the 3rd term when we made a mini fightback.

Can we have WC running around with 2 extra midfielders? NO, so we man them up, creating man on man.

Exactly right Speedwagon.

It just goes to show CC's lack of a Plan B.

Whenever we are getting beat, it just seems like he doesnt have anything to do. We either get it right at the first bounce or it's all over if the opposition have got it right.

The kicking skills were absolutely atrocious. They either bombed the ball and hoped for the best or kicked it short to a teammate who had opposition players on their tail.

I reckon it is the decision making and game plan which both contributed to the kicking skills in the game. Hopefully over the next few weeks the players and coaching staff address this issue

The kicking skills were absolutely atrocious. They either bombed the ball and hoped for the best or kicked it short to a teammate who had opposition players on their tail.

I reckon it is the decision making and game plan which both contributed to the kicking skills in the game. Hopefully over the next few weeks the players and coaching staff address this issue

Definately. I think the only player who kicked decently for the match was Hase. Everyone else, it was an absolutely lottery.

The midfield conjestion made the game look like an under 12 games.. abotu 20 guys around the ball the whole match :)

Probably they all have 'assignments' but it's clear that they know when to attack and when to mark their man.

Our mob on the otherhand can't seem to walk and chew gum at the same time.
Are you talking about the Farce here Mal?

CC is a useless coach. I have always said this for years and once again he has no idea. All the hype as a premiership favourite - my *ss.

Last years success was because Mark Harvey ran the team in the second half of the year. It has gone back to CC and we are 0-3 and struggling.

The club needs to wake up and get rid of this bloke

CC is a useless coach. I have always said this for years and once again he has no idea. All the hype as a premiership favourite - my *ss.

Last years success was because Mark Harvey ran the team in the second half of the year. It has gone back to CC and we are 0-3 and struggling.

This club needs to waks up and get rid of this bloke

Sorry you know this how??

Probably the same way you know the players "back Connolly behind closed doors".

No I never said they backed him behind closed doors I said he was a different person when not in front of the media(ie Tough and giving them the sprays they deserved)

It's completly different to saying that all the success in the 2nd half of last year was all because of Harvey surely even you with your hatred of CC can see that :confused:

Ah I was wondering when the Harvey crew were going to raise their ugly heads.It was Harvey and Shaw who got us where we finished last year not CC.Well where is all the hardnesss that they put there last year?Where is it now?
Lets blame CC because things ain't going right but give Harvey and Shaw the accolades when it is going ok.Your lot never cease to amaze me.
For sure we are not travelling well,but the players are not playing with the same commitment that they played with in the latter half of last year.Or so far they are not.
We certainly have a long way to get back up[ and in the running but it must come from the players as well.

The club needs to wake up and get rid of this bloke

Simplistic assessment.

Actually I'm wondering what role Harvey and Shaw play in the apparent misplaced aggression the Dockers seem to be displaying.

Hardness is only useful when you're hard (and first) at the ball. if you're not you just end up giving away frees and generally looking like headless chooks.