Dimma's wife
He can do some amazing things sometimes, yet so many times he gets caught looking around with the ball or he handballs to a marked man standing still.

eg. we had an awesome run and pass chain going on which resulted in bling sprinting through the middle towards the edge of the square for the big I50.

He didn't ave the confidence to kick it to our forwards by the look of it and he handballed it to a player closer to the wing in an awkward position.

I don't know, just looks like he could do so much more with the ball if he believed he could. too many times handballing where he could have an easy run or have a decent kick to one of our players to set up play.

I know he isn't a shit player. He showed so much after he went to see people about his self belief and I remember years back wen he sprinted 100 k's an hour towards the 50 and sent in a huge kick for goal and around that time everyone was praising him and saying how much potential he has.

Opinions? I'm not sure if I'm over thinking this or not I just wanna see him play well

Re: Tambling needs just a bit more confidence and belief

Honestly, I've changed from thinking that Richie will make it as a player and defying him to prove me wrong to thinking he wont make it and hoping he will prove me wrong. Whenever he contests the ball I am willing him to gain possession and clear to advantage - I am constantly disappointed.

I always thought he would find his feet when the side around him improved and he had more time. Over the last couple of weeks a number of players have stepped up a gear to give each other more space and support but I am yet to see the same improvement in him.

The only caveat is if he is carrying an injury, but if he is he should be rested until fit - these past few weeks can only be killing his confidence.

had surgery on both calves and no preseason ive been extra impressed with him getting himself into games by doing hard stuff his tackling chasing and running without the footy have been great once his fit he will be back to his great 09 form i reckon

i was actually unaware he had surgery, thanks for filling me in on that

Defintiely a confidence issue for mine, so often will be streaming towards goal then look for a silly handball option. Seem afraid to have a shot at goal.

We have to remember he has been playing in a rubbish side with a rubbish coach most of his career.

However I think now that we have the makings of a good midfield and a structured game plan that is actually being implemented I think he will come good.

So glad Cousins is playing for us to help these young players.

i was actually unaware he had surgery, thanks for filling me in on that

Had compartment sydrome. Depending on the severity can take ages to recover because you can end up with a lot of dead tissue.

Browny and Mcguire both had it very bad after their broken legs which is why they never really got back to their best. Tho McGuire looks to finally be on the right track, bit luckier then brown as he had age on his side.

As the team improves so will tambling. The treatment he's received from our own fans in comparing him to buddy has been totally unfair. Will hawthorn now receive just as much bagging for selecting thorp ahead of riewoldt?

He isn't a natural footballer. At stoppages he stands in the wrong spot, when the contested ball is one by a team mate he'll run to the wrong spot, with the ball in his hands he hesitates too long and inadvertantly makes the wrong decision. Look at the difference between him and Nason. Ben reads the play, has an understand of when to break and when to sit, where the ball will be and should be not now, but in two/three possies time. That is the difference between someone who understands the game, and someone who has natural ability, but isn't a natural footballer.

Why hasn't he been playing as a full time defender this year? He plays his best there easily and it allows Lids to go in the middle

If he is having problems the last place you want him is the backline as he might get a bag kicked on him if not right.

Tamblings best posistion is definatly at half forward. While he is not terrible as an inside midfielder he is best when free so he can exploit his pace and hes good going inside 50 (atleast as a junior)

people might be upset that hes not worth the fourth pick but im still happy to have him on the half forward line in our premiership 22

Tamblings best posistion is definatly at half forward. While he is not terrible as an inside midfielder he is best when free so he can exploit his pace and hes good going inside 50 (atleast as a junior)

people might be upset that hes not worth the fourth pick but im still happy to have him on the half forward line in our premiership 22

Trade Him and get Andrew Kracker Back:rolleyes:

He needs an uninteruptted pre seasom in the gym.

The guy needs at leat 6 - 8 kilos of extra muscle.

He has great attack on the ball but is pushed aside to easily - he needs a body like Milne or Varcoe.

I still think he is in our best 22.

He isn't a natural footballer. At stoppages he stands in the wrong spot, when the contested ball is one by a team mate he'll run to the wrong spot, with the ball in his hands he hesitates too long and inadvertantly makes the wrong decision. Look at the difference between him and Nason. Ben reads the play, has an understand of when to break and when to sit, where the ball will be and should be not now, but in two/three possies time. That is the difference between someone who understands the game, and someone who has natural ability, but isn't a natural footballer.

this ^^^^ :thumbsu:

I wouldn't mind him getting dropped to dominate in the twos for a little bit. It would improve his confidence, belief, and he can improve on things he needs to

he needed a good 10-15 week stretch in the twos in his second year to learn, but the club didnt have the balls to drop him bc that was when the buddy>tambling crap was starting up.....

He needs an uninteruptted pre seasom in the gym.

The guy needs at leat 6 - 8 kilos of extra muscle.

He has great attack on the ball but is pushed aside to easily - he needs a body like Milne or Varcoe.

I still think he is in our best 22.

He is big enough for his body shape and height. 180cm and about 80kgs. Deledio and martin are about 88kgs and 3 inches taller. Cotch is about 185cm's and 82kgs. He's strong enough, just fumbles too much, i watch him closely and he has no trouble burrowing in and getting hands on it, he has trouble picking it up cleanly and getting the take away. Crap hands..

he needed a good 10-15 week stretch in the twos in his second year to learn, but the club didnt have the balls to drop him bc that was when the buddy>tambling crap was starting up.....

havent seen his pace much this year - liked him working hard to present to kickouts last hear across half back when we struggled to kick out, would love him to play as an attacking wingman - can ease him into the guts but think he is better used for pace rather than trying to stack 10kg on him and put him on ball.