Target, Quicksilver, Industrie, Morrissey or CK?

• Thread starter Thread starter evertonfc

Just wondering what sense of style the people of BigFooty?

Are you fashionistas or trackie-dudes?

I'm real Chapel kind of guy; mostly because of ex-girlfriends all dragged me out there, but now it has totally rubbed off on me :cool:

billabong, ripcurl etc have acquired a few mooks items lately, and a fossil watch which is apparently a brand in america or something, can anyone from there verify that?

Can pick up some good buys at Target , K-Mart etc etc... but Im a big spender when it comes to clothes and Rusty , Rip Curl , Insight , McTavish , Country Road , CK , etc etc are all worthwhile getting :) ................. The jeans on Chapel rock!

Originally posted by evade28
billabong, ripcurl etc have acquired a few mooks items lately, and a fossil watch which is apparently a brand in america or something, can anyone from there verify that?

I think they acquired Mooks and Stussy, which is extremely frustrating for me as I love Mooks...RipCurl is a brand only worn by people in Geelong and/or those stuck in 1999.

I'm just hoping that the independant Mooks designers will be influencing RC and not the other way round. I can't confirm the Fossil rumous...but I'm sure Google can :)

Explain Evertonfc? what do you mean its only worn by people who live in Geelong or stuck in 1999? Whats so good about Mooks?

Originally posted by SkARkS_69
jeans on Chapel rock!

They certainly do.

I have five pairs of jeans from five different designers...four of which come from Chapel!

And, well, when you can get Industrie slackers for $99, I don't think there's any excuse not to have ultra-comfortable and stylish denim.

I don't stick to any particular brand over another, and I buy both cheap and expensive clothes, with a label or not. Depends on how much money I have and where I am.

The surf labels are big in Warrambool, but the only one I really like is Roxy.

Explain Evertonfc? what do you mean its only worn by people who live in Geelong or stuck in 1999? Whats so good about Mooks?

Rip Curl's flirtation with funky attire ended around about then.

That was when it was really cool to be seen wearing 'The search' gear and so forth.

With summer, you can certainly wear it again around the beach. Mix up a fresh top with some RC boardies and Birkenstocks plus a trucker cap (I totally misread that one...I thought they'd be out very quickly....but they seem to be getting even more in vogue) and you'll be looking fine on the beach.

Mooks is a bit different. You can go clubbing in Mooks and look the part, but then again, you can have a drink with mates and a kick of the footy and look great without having an 'overbearing' sense of style.

yeah....... but back to the Jeans LoL i have 4 pairs of them, and pretty soon will be going back for a 5th :) Id rather spend my money on that ... instead of blowing it all at the TAB :)

What type of jeans are you into Skarks?

You pay the premium when you go for the better brands, but in the end it is usually worth it. I prefer all my expensive shirts over my cheap ones. Just the style and the cut of them is superior. I'd never go ******* and spend $485 on a pair of Christian Dior sunglasses (like my mates missus just did last week). Anything over $100 is too much money for one piece of clothing for me, except for maybe a jacket.

One brand which I reckon is big time under rated is Puma.

I have some insight jeans, and the new Rusty jeans are pretty cool, CK, Colorado, basically anything that i think will be worth it..... you?

Originally posted by ozzult

Definitely. I have a few Puma things, and they're damn comfortable and have lasted ages (I use them for sport, as well as for around the house). And their shoes as well - everyone seems to go for adidas or Nike runners, but my last five pairs of runners have been Puma and they're the best runners I've ever worn, as well as actually supporting my feet. They're not a bad price either, usually about $130, which is good compared to the other big brands.

As for the price thing, if I'm going to spend over $100, the clothing would want to last. Usually if I spend that, it'll be on a jacket, jeans or shoes. I'm OK with $90 for really good pants or a jumper, but otherwise I just don't have that money. Oh, and sunglasses I'll spend up to $200, but they last. I've had my Oakleys for nearly two years now, and they cost $160, and they're almost as good as the day I bought them.

Originally posted by ozzult
You pay the premium when you go for the better brands, but in the end it is usually worth it. I prefer all my expensive shirts over my cheap ones. Just the style and the cut of them is superior. I'd never go ******* and spend $485 on a pair of Christian Dior sunglasses (like my mates missus just did last week). Anything over $100 is too much money for one piece of clothing for me, except for maybe a jacket.

Good post.

I have a pair of Gucci's for $315, but they were a steal. And they were a once-off! It was either them or the Vogues at $500, so I was happy. The girls love them, so, to be fair, they've paid for themselves. Not in the fiduciary sense, but you know what I mean :)

Puma is an interesting one. I still reckon you can pick up some terrific 'The original' gear for about $30-40; funky and goes with anything. Wearable to the footy and around town...certainly won't break the bank.

I picked up this great Puma retro-soccer-style top for $25, three quarter sleeves, etc...in Highpoint (of all places!). The next week, I was in Chapel at MSD, and the same top is on offer for $55.

Some of their stuff is a little try-hard, but on the whole, it's great. I think someone said "simple Puma is good Puma", and that is just about right. Simple and inexpensive...certainly does the trick.

I think this is why Industrie is really popular - modern, fresh material with simple, classy designs. And, importantly, you can start at the bottom of the range - which is still pretty damn excellent - at about $40.

If you are fairly smart with your cash, you can always look good.

I have some insight jeans, and the new Rusty jeans are pretty cool, CK, Colorado, basically anything that i think will be worth it..... you?

CK is still my favourite.

Industrie super-fly's for about $150 get an almost daily work out, and Lee's new line of jeans which I picked up for about $180 are just ideal for the clubs and so on.

I think it's pretty much an individual style & comfort thing. I have a pair of Jeans Westies from 2002 which have wahed to a really sweet colour without looking too 1970's/RunDMC. Just great if I'm going to Uni or am picking some groceries - must have only cost me about $80?

They're a bit big for me now, I think I need to get them cut back to about a 30-32.

Notice: Nothing looks worse than a pair of jeans that wrinkle at the top because you're belted up so tight to stop them for falling down while walking - trust me, we fashion police notice it!

Go and get them professionally tailored back to a more figure hugging size. Idealically, you should be able to wear them without a belt. That's a good fit :)

Agreed Everton ....... you sure your not Wayne Rooney with all the cash bro ;) lol

I dunno where the cash comes from, mate!

I work out a fashion budget so I get...perhaps a $50-100 month for clothes. So, in the case of the Gucci's, that was three-four months saving!

Being a student makes it nearly impossible to keep forking out as much as I would like, but...the price you'll pay for a crap image is much greater. Save, save, save. Then spend, spend, spend!

Thats right because its all about the clothes!! If your out it doesnt matter if you aint the best lookin person around, as long as you dress to impress then youve already past the 1st stage.
Even just going up the street ...... a little touch up always helps cos you never know who your going to bump into!
What about shirts Evo? I prefer white with a good design on it..... price range : $60-120

Yay! A shopping thread!

... and I don't really have anything to add. I live in Geelong - anything I can find that fits, looks decent and won't break the bank gets bought. Liking the Mooks, Puma gear.