Tasmania

• Thread starter Thread starter blaze036

Ive no doubt that Tasmania could get the main sponsors, but would it get the tertiary and seconday sponsors if they were say subject to the same criteria as Gold Coast and GWS.

As GWS and Gold Coast are also showing - massive membership and crowds is not the be all and end all, and crowd averages are second to tv audiences when establishing new teams.

If Tasmania could meet the sponsorship criteria - which is more than say Mars and Tasmania - then theres no reason they couldnt get a team in the near future. If I was the Tasmanian goivernment Id be severely considering our options at the end of the current hawthorn deal.

The Government based its application on the Gemba report & with advice from its Treasury & economists such as Saul Eslake & Dr Bruce Felmingham.
The application covered the criteria that the AFL set. The AFL however were clearly set on a course of expansion into northern states & supporting chronic Victorian clubs.
Totally unfair IMO, & in many other peoples opinion as well. As I've said, much opinion of the doubters is just that. It doesnt have any knowledge of the application criteria or any other research for that matter. The Tasmanian application was accepted, NOT REJECTED by the AFL. They wouldnt do that unless the application met the AFL criteria.
Demetriou & his board just made the same quasi economic & 'political' decision to go ahead with their own strategic decision.
Them's the facts ma'am

Give it 10-15 years the calls will be so loud it'll be too hard to resist, especially if Tasmanias population grows nicely in that time. Hopefully we see the comp expanded to 20 teams by 2030, as long as the new ones do well.

North Queensland or South Sydney would probably be next of the list, if there was no room for a 3rd WA team

Give it 10-15 years the calls will be so loud it'll be too hard to resist, especially if Tasmanias population grows nicely in that time. Hopefully we see the comp expanded to 20 teams by 2030, as long as the new ones do well.

North Queensland or South Sydney would probably be next of the list, if there was no room for a 3rd WA team

Thanks.

Fat chance.

And NQ and South Sydney would be no hope.

Two points.

1. Tasmania's population dose not need to grow. There is a sufficient market there now.

2. North Queensland ???? Where in NQ ?

You have told us at infernitum on this forum why Tasmania should not have a team. Population, sponsorship etc.. And now you want to put a team in rugby league heartland, remote, hot and with significantly less population than Tasmania. Where did that come from.

Ive no doubt that Tasmania could get the main sponsors, but would it get the tertiary and seconday sponsors if they were say subject to the same criteria as Gold Coast and GWS.

Not only that, but the revenue from lower level sponsors should dwarf that of your major sponsor. A corporate box should get you between $20k and $100k a year. If you can sell 100 of them, then that's about $6 or 7 million in revenue. That's where the money is from corporates, and it's where the smaller Melbourne clubs struggle to compete. Subiaco Oval has over 200 corporate boxes, and they're full for pretty much every game.

It astounds me how many people think the major sponsor is the be all and end all of corporate support. The reality is that it's a small minority of it.

As GWS and Gold Coast are also showing - massive membership and crowds is not the be all and end all, and crowd averages are second to tv audiences when establishing new teams.

Well GC's crowds have been pretty decent given ticket prices are pretty steep there (and how shit the team was for most of the year). Match day revenue is the lifeblood of clubs, whether it be memberships, ticket sales or corporates. The problem is where clubs need to be topped up with TV money because their match day returns are poor.

This is the biggest issue for a potential Tassie team. You'd be looking for 100 companies to spend $10,000+ each

Tassie in the short term would exceed both GWS and GC for crowds and probably TV audiences as well, but what about the medium to long term?

If Tasmania could meet the sponsorship criteria - which is more than say Mars and Tasmania - then theres no reason they couldnt get a team in the near future. If I was the Tasmanian goivernment Id be severely considering our options at the end of the current hawthorn deal.

I think a Tassie team is quite possible.

If North can get 12,000+ crowds to their two matches in Hobart without causing a drop off in the Hawks crowds in Launceston, then it would be a strong indicator that a Tasmanian side could average over 20,000 to home matches.

If I was a Tasmanian hoping for a Tasmanian side then I'd take out a Tassie membership for both the Hawks and Kangas in 2012 and beyond.

If North are doing well enough out of the deal that they want to extend it to 3 matches a season, then that strengthens the case for a full time side in Tassie.

If I was to gaze into a crystal ball, I think that the current 5 year deal will probably be Hawthorn's last in Tassie. The AFL will "strongly encourage" Hawthorn to bring their games back to Melbourne and "strongly encourage" North to Tassie.

This is the biggest issue for a potential Tassie team. You'd be looking for 100 companies to spend $10,000+ each

Tassie in the short term would exceed both GWS and GC for crowds and probably TV audiences as well, but what about the medium to long term?

I think a Tassie team is quite possible.

If North can get 12,000+ crowds to their two matches in Hobart without causing a drop off in the Hawks crowds in Launceston, then it would be a strong indicator that a Tasmanian side could average over 20,000 to home matches.

If I was a Tasmanian hoping for a Tasmanian side then I'd take out a Tassie membership for both the Hawks and Kangas in 2012 and beyond.

If North are doing well enough out of the deal that they want to extend it to 3 matches a season, then that strengthens the case for a full time side in Tassie.

If I was to gaze into a crystal ball, I think that the current 5 year deal will probably be Hawthorn's last in Tassie. The AFL will "strongly encourage" Hawthorn to bring their games back to Melbourne and "strongly encourage" North to Tassie.

Why would North want to relocate to Hobart/Tassie? Why should they be the target of the 'kick a team out of Victoria' & destroy their history & current supporters.
We want our own team just like everone else seems to have. Why does this place have to be any bloody different?
I'm sure some who posit an opinion on this subject have'nt followed the 'discussion' very well at all.
We dont want to destroy or uproot anyone. Dont forget the horror of how Fitzroy were ripped apart.
Tassie wants its own team. EOS

Why would North want to relocate to Hobart/Tassie? Why should they be the target of the 'kick a team out of Victoria' & destroy their history & current supporters.
We want our own team just like everone else seems to have. Why does this place have to be any bloody different?
I'm sure some who posit an opinion on this subject have'nt followed the 'discussion' very well at all.
We dont want to destroy or uproot anyone. Dont forget the horror of how Fitzroy were ripped apart.

North and or Melbourne to VFL. Tassie own team. Seems about right.

Let me assure you there are many who see too many teams in Melbourne as the elephant in the room protected by an AFL Commission dominated by Victorians - when an AFL Commissioner did not adopt a pro Melbourne teams policy, he was ambushed by a Carlton/Collingwood alliance & given the flick.

This is about Tas, so if you really believe your claim, fire up a thread & see what people outside your own little world really think.

As for horror & Fitzroy, mate it was a red letter day for the national comp .... towards the end I remember a Fitzroy v Footscray game battling to draw 3000 patrons. A fair dinkum joke !!

Back to Tas, they deserve their own team. My preference is to strip the licence from any of the many poorly performing Melb clubs, give the admin & coaching staff the flick, use the playing list as the basis with a few Tas centric incentives, & go with a new entity, consign the past to round bin in the corner. WE CERTAINLY DONT NEED MORE TEAMS.

Didn't say they would want to, but North and the AFL did want a 7 game package in Tassie. If that happens then it may be a stepping stone to an eventual relocation

I have read every single post in the 21 pages of this thread.

Just because you want a home grown Tasmanian team doesn't mean I have to believe that that will happen.

I haven't shared what I want to happen, just what I think is likely to happen

I think that the AFL would prefer there to be 8 or 9 teams in Victoria than the current 10 team situation. I don't believe that they will kick North back to the VFL, so the AFL's preferred scenario would be a relocation of North to Tasmania which will retain a victorian supporter base

Really I dont know why I bother to go through this stuff. I live here & I live through all this. You Dont & obviously value your distant & comfortable opinion. So be it.

I also live here and totally disagree with your opinion ..i for one don't believe Tassie could sustain a stand alone AFL side.

Watching the Tassie Tigers play a thrilling one day contest against Victoria with around 50 people in the ground the other night just reinforces my view .

.... towards the end I remember a Fitzroy v Footscray game battling to draw 3000 patrons. [/B]

Absolute rubbish - the last time the clubs played it was a Fitzroy home game (Round 18, 1996) and the crowd was 8757. A poor crowd indeed but by then Fitzroy were completely uncompetitive (and it was known that they were finished) whilst the Dogs were second last. There were no crowds worse than that between the teams for at least the 15 years previous I had been attending games. Crowds have grown considerably for all teams in the league since then.

Watching the Tassie Tigers play a thrilling one day contest against Victoria with around 50 people in the ground the other night just reinforces my view .
Are you seriously trying to compare crowds at domestic cricket one-dayers to potential crowds at AFL matches?

I also live here and totally disagree with your opinion ..i for one don't believe Tassie could sustain a stand alone AFL side.

Typical for any ODD game in Australia, so not exactly a strong argument.

Guess West Coast should fold then.

Absolute rubbish - the last time the clubs played it was a Fitzroy home game (Round 18, 1996) and the crowd was 8757. A poor crowd indeed but by then Fitzroy were completely uncompetitive (and it was known that they were finished) whilst the Dogs were second last. There were no crowds worse than that between the teams for at least the 15 years previous I had been attending games. Crowds have grown considerably for all teams in the league since then.

Apart from Essendon which has actually gone backwards for home crowds..

The question is, do Tasmanians actually want their own team when they already have one they are supporting and passionate about?

Been at the SCG for domestic cricket where there would have been about that many and we are getting a second team.

You had better let AD know, maybe he could stop GWS before it is to late.

I been to a bushrangers game that got maybe 100 people...

Doesnt really make a good argument

I think footy in victoria is going swell!

The question is, do Tasmanians actually want their own team when they already have one they are supporting and passionate about?

Well nobody asked the same question of WA, SA, Qld or NSW people before new teams were started.
I'm sure many people in those states had teams in the old VFL that they supported, as well as teams in their local competition. I have friends in Qld who were Carlton supporters as well as supported a club in the Qafl. They are now Brisbane members & support Brisbane when it moved from the Gold Coast to the Gabba.
To somehow think that Tasmanians wouldn't act similarly to footy people in other states given the same situation of a new local team being formed to play in the AFL, is just ridiculous IMHO.

I been to a bushrangers game that got maybe 100 people...

Doesnt really make a good argument

I think footy in victoria is going swell!
Your first post contradicts actually. As you keep doing throughout the whole thread.

I followed West Perth in the WA comp and North Melbourne in VIC. When the Eagles joined the "AFL" and pretty much took 80% of the WAFL crowds with them, I kept with North Melbourne.

Puts gaping 30 ought six holes in your argument.

Two points.

1. Tasmania's population dose not need to grow. There is a sufficient market there now.

2. North Queensland ???? Where in NQ ?

You have told us at infernitum on this forum why Tasmania should not have a team. Population, sponsorship etc.. And now you want to put a team in rugby league heartland, remote, hot and with significantly less population than Tasmania. Where did that come from.
Refuses to respond i see. Just goes off on another equally ludicrous tangent.

Well nobody asked the same question of WA, SA, Qld or NSW people before new teams were started.
I'm sure many people in those states had teams in the old VFL that they supported, as well as teams in their local competition. I have friends in Qld who were Carlton supporters as well as supported a club in the Qafl. They are now Brisbane members & support Brisbane when it moved from the Gold Coast to the Gabba.
To somehow think that Tasmanians wouldn't act similarly to footy people in other states given the same situation of a new local team being formed to play in the AFL, is just ridiculous IMHO.

It is a different situation though. In WA and SA, the VFL wasn't even close to the most followed comp, and most people that followed a VFL side didn't do it with much passion, it was more because their favourite player went to that club. Ask anyone what football team they supported and the answer would have been their WAFL or SANFL club. I doubt the VFL had much of a following in NSW and Queensland either. Victorians do get a bit delusional about the status of their comp pre-AFL.

If you asked a Tasmanian now what football team they supported how many of them wouldn't say an AFL club?